Page 9 of 30 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Should be great to hear some expert analysis from Steven Thompson who said in an article the other day he doesn't even like football and doesn't watch games at home. Embarrassing some of the morons and dinosaurs employed to cover Scottish football on the BBC
    I couldn't agree more. We'd be better off with just commentaries, reports and scores like in the 60s. Sod the analysis.

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Should be great to hear some expert analysis from Steven Thompson who said in an article the other day he doesn't even like football and doesn't watch games at home. Embarrassing some of the morons and dinosaurs employed to cover Scottish football on the BBC
    Strange one that - I read it as well. I like him and Stewart but surprised he doesn’t like football.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Strange one that - I read it as well. I like him and Stewart but surprised he doesn’t like football.
    Denis Law has hardly been at a game since he retired.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    And you don’t see him on MOTD attempting to be a pundit

Sauzee neither.

It makes absolute sense to want to do something else when you retire. People who talk about sport for the entirety of their lives are probably missing out on something.

Just watched the yam game on catch up,what a joke that penalty was and the ref just couldn't wait to give it.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Sauzee neither.

It makes absolute sense to want to do something else when you retire. People who talk about sport for the entirety of their lives are probably missing out on something.

The summer after he left Edinburgh (2002) Sauzee started working for Canal+ and was a regular pundit for various companies/programmes up until a year or two ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    The summer after he left Edinburgh (2002) Sauzee started working for Canal+ and was a regular pundit for various companies/programmes up until a year or two ago.
    Pretty sure he was also the French commentator on the Fifa games as well.

That's true actually, although I think it was at least 5-10 years ago, and it wasn't particularly regular. I haven't seen him on French TV for a long time.

Maybees naw but he did work as a presenter on Granada TV's The Big Match from the early 80s. Sometimes they rerun them on ITV4.

And it was proper work too as we saw the Lawman reading out results and introducing highlights. No analysis or oafish banter were involved. His colleagues were Elton Welsby and Jim Rosenthal.

Sauzee neither.

It’s Thompson’s job and he’s basically said he doesn’t like it. That’s all - just a strange thing to admit publicly like that I thought.

That's true actually, although I think it was at least 5-10 years ago, and it wasn't particularly regular. I haven't seen him on French TV for a long time.
    He's still there, working for Canal+.

http://www.culturepsg.com/news/match...ffusions/22797

Thanks for that, I'll keep my eyes open for him. Maybe they have him doing a 2am in a broom cupboard slot

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar

He's got to find something to do when he isn't tending his Vineyard or going fly-fishing !

If the Hearts penalty was a penalty then I am a jambo!

Thanks for that, I'll keep my eyes open for him. Maybe they have him doing a 2am in a broom cupboard slot
    You can hear him well enough in the background here (it's the first video, but you might have to click "voir" or "watch" to see it because of Franck's bad language).

https://twitter.com/i/status/1041641540584660992
    Last edited by Peevemor; 24-09-2018 at 11:18 AM.

You can here him well enough in the background here (it's the first video, but you might have to click "voir" or "watch" to see it because of Franck's bad language).

https://twitter.com/i/status/1041641540584660992
    Nice Thauvin goal as well, always nice to watch again. Franck says putain

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Keep meaning to watch Sportscene, but after watching the highlights on Hibs.TV I never usually bother. Think I’m with Steven Thompson in that I’m not reall that fussed about watching football.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Keep meaning to watch Sportscene, but after watching the highlights on Hibs.TV I never usually bother. Think I’m with Steven Thompson in that I’m not reall that fussed about watching football.
    I think he’s a really good pundit, as is Michael Stewart.

I’m surprised he doesn’t like football but maybe that’s just what he says to separate himself from all the Rangers dafties and all that goes along with playing for them, as he did for a while.

Also maybe having the ability to detach himself from the game might actually help him in a strange sort of way.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

I’m surprised he doesn’t like football but maybe that’s just what he says to separate himself from all the Rangers dafties and all that goes along with playing for them, as he did for a while.

Also maybe having the ability to detach himself from the game might actually help him in a strange sort of way.
    Is his passion not music? I seem to remember he was in a band and perhaps wrote a cup final song for one the teams he played for.

Marc Libbra is the same. I remember him saying when he was with us was that the reason he didn't really celebrate goals and always looked in a mood, was that he didn't like football and only played it because he was good at it. For him, football was just a job.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post

I agree and I think there's a lot of truth in the 'can't see the wood for the trees' catchphrase. Sometimes we do so much of something we don't step back and see the wider picture.

This is why walk-up supporters are far more knowledgeable than season ticket holders

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    It’s Thompson’s job and he’s basically said he doesn’t like it. That’s all - just a strange thing to admit publicly like that I thought.
    His agent has probably told him he needs to be more idiosyncratic.

I agree and I think there's a lot of truth in the 'can't see the wood for the trees' catchphrase. Sometimes we do so much of something we don't step back and see the wider picture.

This is why walk-up supporters are far more knowledgeable than season ticket holders
    Or watching on Hibs TV from South East Asia.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    LTYF

Quote Originally Posted by SouthMoroccoStu View Post
    LTYF

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Just watched the yam game on catch up,what a joke that penalty was and the ref just couldn't wait to give it.
    that cheating xxxx mclean enjoyed it.
    see the xxxxxx milking getting it .

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Mmm...agree its not a definite pen. but if that's a Hibs player we would be screaming for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish View Post
    Mmm...agree its not a definite pen. but if that's a Hibs player we would be screaming for it.
    Exactly what I said about the Hearts goal at Motherwell last week.

Thomson and Stewart said it wisnae a penalty a bit soft but Thomson disnae count as he disnae like fitba anyway
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 24-09-2018 at 02:36 PM.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar

You sayin' Uberfans divn't ken what's going' on.....?

I would have agreed with you in previous seasons, but this season I realise that I would have been wrong
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.