FTA Hibs ladies management

I watched Gala Fairydean Rovers ladies team's first ever match today against Hawick ladies. The standard was as you would expect from two teams who lack competitive experience, it was the Gala ladies first ever competitive game after a year together.

But one thing that absolutely stood out was the performance of the Hawick keeper … she only had about two pretty tame shots to save, but that wasn't what caught your eye, her command of her third of the pitch would have done credit to Manuel Neuer .. the Gala girls had a number of chances to hit on the break, but every attempt was nullified by her swift intervention anywhere within 30 yards of her goal, she was sharp as hell. Her touch and passing were a cut above anybody on the pitch and her handling was sound …. not to mention that every goal kick she took landed about a third of the way into the opposition half … the lassie couldnae half leather a baw.

If she can shot stop like she commanded every other aspect of goalkeeping she is clearly capable of a higher level than she was playing at today …. To complete the picture she was tall and athletic. If I was in charge of Hibs ladies I would definitely be taking a look.

Scouting report over

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I watched Gala Fairydean Rovers ladies team's first ever match today against Hawick ladies. The standard was as you would expect from two teams who lack competitive experience, it was the Gala ladies first ever competitive game after a year together.

But one thing that absolutely stood out was the performance of the Hawick keeper … she only had about two pretty tame shots to save, but that wasn't what caught your eye, her command of her third of the pitch would have done credit to Manuel Neuer .. the Gala girls had a number of chances to hit on the break, but every attempt was nullified by her swift intervention anywhere within 30 yards of her goal, she was sharp as hell. Her touch and passing were a cut above anybody on the pitch and her handling was sound …. not to mention that every goal kick she took landed about a third of the way into the opposition half … the lassie couldnae half leather a baw.

If she can shot stop like she commanded every other aspect of goalkeeping she is clearly capable of a higher level than she was playing at today …. To complete the picture she was tall and athletic. If I was in charge of Hibs ladies I would definitely be taking a look.

Scouting report over
    Dear god

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Cool; good women goalies seem to be relatively rare so well worth a wee look.

Quote Originally Posted by .KingDomofFife. View Post
    Dear god
    If I had spotted some kid playing for a local youth team and posted my opinion that he looked like he was worth watching would you have posted that? Because for the life of me I cant see the difference … as the other guy who has replied correctly pointed out, good keepers are as rare as Hens teeth in women's football … this lassie looked like the real deal to me.

I worked with a few girl goalkeepers (13-16) a couple of years ago just after I finished my 1st step on the goalkeeping coaching pathway.

One of the things I took away was they were all technically decent in training drills but as soon as it went to shooting excercises or games it tended to unravel a bit. Part of it was clearly nerves. I think a few of them found the size of goals in comparison to themselves quite initmidating. The average size of male goalkeepers has gone steadily up in the last 3 decades yet the goals have remained the same size. I think that's part of the reason the goals scored column in most leagues is down on what it was in the 50, 60s etc. I think it will always be a struggle to get really good women goalkeepers as technically many of them are very good but it's a position in which the size and strength difference between them and men really shows up more than elsewhere.

I worked with a few girl goalkeepers (13-16) a couple of years ago just after I finished my 1st step on the goalkeeping coaching pathway.

One of the things I took away was they were all technically decent in training drills but as soon as it went to shooting excercises or games it tended to unravel a bit. Part of it was clearly nerves. I think a few of them found the size of goals in comparison to themselves quite initmidating. The average size of male goalkeepers has gone steadily up in the last 3 decades yet the goals have remained the same size. I think that's part of the reason the goals scored column in most leagues is down on what it was in the 50, 60s etc. I think it will always be a struggle to get really good women goalkeepers as technically many of them are very good but it's a position in which the size and strength difference between them and men really shows up more than elsewhere.
    I can only go by what I've seen in the few live women's games I've been at and having watched a number of games on the telly … Hibs ladies games, women's world cup, Scotland games, that sort of thing ... where its fairly obvious that goalkeeper is the most problematic position, not only when it comes to dealing with crosses but also shot stopping … as you said, the size of the goals clearly doesn't help female keepers.

Clearly what I watched this afternoon wasn't up to the standard of Hibs ladies or Scotland by any means, but both teams had proper coaches and looked organised, so from that POV the keeper I was talking about was in a proper match situation and it certainly wasn't just a kick about in the park. Her decision making, coolness in tight situations ( which was noticeable ) and general play were outstanding and all I was saying was that if she is a good shot stopper in addition to her obviously firm grasp of the technicalities she would be worth looking at for the likes of Hibs ladies …. her ability on the ball suggested she could probably have been one of, if not the, outstanding outfield player on the park, so I'm guessing her ability as a shot stopper prevents her coaches from playing her outfield. As I said, she also looked in good shape physically and was pretty tall, not something you always see in female keepers, even at the level Hibs ladies play at.

I can only go by what I've seen in the few live women's games I've been at and having watched a number of games on the telly … Hibs ladies games, women's world cup, Scotland games, that sort of thing ... where its fairly obvious that goalkeeper is the most problematic position, not only when it comes to dealing with crosses but also shot stopping … as you said, the size of the goals clearly doesn't help female keepers.

Clearly what I watched this afternoon wasn't up to the standard of Hibs ladies or Scotland by any means, but both teams had proper coaches and looked organised, so from that POV the keeper I was talking about was in a proper match situation and it certainly wasn't just a kick about in the park. Her decision making, coolness in tight situations ( which was noticeable ) and general play were outstanding and all I was saying was that if she is a good shot stopper in addition to her obviously firm grasp of the technicalities she would be worth looking at for the likes of Hibs ladies …. her ability on the ball suggested she could probably have been one of, if not the, outstanding outfield player on the park, so I'm guessing her ability as a shot stopper prevents her coaches from playing her outfield. As I said, she also looked in good shape physically and was pretty tall, not something you always see in female keepers, even at the level Hibs ladies play at.
    I'd email someone at Hibs and point them in her direction. I don't think the ladies have a huge scouting network, so they might appreciate the heads up and send someone to watch her.

Might well do that mate

Good on you & good report.

Most of the decent ladies team don’t get the keepers to kick it out. Always try to play it out from the back, technically they are very good to watch

Might well do that mate
    Please do. Some hibs fans appreaciate any hibs team winning and anyone worthy of the shirt, wearing it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Wish folk wouldnt knock keepers just because they're female...have you forgotten Ma'Kalamby?

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    Please do. Some hibs fans appreaciate any hibs team winning and anyone worthy of the shirt, wearing it.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
    Done and acknowledge within 5 minutes … pretty impressive on a Sunday

Quote Originally Posted by horseflesh View Post
    Most of the decent ladies team don’t get the keepers to kick it out. Always try to play it out from the back, technically they are very good to watch
    True … though I praised the Hawick keepers bye kicks as I said her short range distribution was very good as well, finding a team mate with every pass.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Good on you & good report.
    Here, here.

The ladies deserve respect for their efforts.

And for those who still scoff at women’s fitba...take a look at Australia’s National side, nicknamed The Matilda’s......some fine footballers there.

Well done, I am a anything Hibs is of interest to me person and follow the ladies team and results with interest.
    I know the lass that plays in goals and she is a really good sports person, plays hockey and coaches football down this way.
    I know her well enough if there are any chances of getting her in for a look even invite he up for some specialised gk coaching to help her and get a look there I can certainly arrange this at my end

Another top player leaving the women’s team today to go down south today. 3 starters lost. Basically chucking away any chance of winning the league. Shambles.

Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Another top player leaving the women’s team today to go down south today. 3 starters lost. Basically chucking away any chance of winning the league. Shambles.
    Possibly 4, Hannah Reid played as a trialist for Durham in last night’s friendly against Spartans.

How can they stop them going then as I presume they are being offered a paid contract?

Presumably they’re moving to play full time football? Do Hibs pay their players, if not should they?

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    Presumably they’re moving to play full time football? Do Hibs pay their players, if not should they?
    They don’t. Wether they should is a totally different argument. Funding model doesn’t support it at the moment. But Glasgow City seem the manage to constantly attract players and keep them longer term.

Who’s leaving?
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Hawick hibee View Post
    Well done, I am a anything Hibs is of interest to me person and follow the ladies team and results with interest.
    I know the lass that plays in goals and she is a really good sports person, plays hockey and coaches football down this way.
    I know her well enough if there are any chances of getting her in for a look even invite he up for some specialised gk coaching to help her and get a look there I can certainly arrange this at my end
    I am pretty sure Hibs are going to have a look mate. I deliberately didn't mention that on facebook or here because I didn't want the lassie to hear about it and get nervous thinking she was being watched .. on the presumption of course that playing for Hibs would be of any interest to her, she might be perfectly happy at Hawick … the only incentive for her would be that when you look at the way the ladies team is being decimated by professional teams just now they are clearly a pathway into the professional game if that's your ambition.

You can hardly blame them though, 20 years ago being paid for playing football would have been an impossible dream for Scottish female players, with as far as I know only Italy having professional players, now these girls are being given the chance by clubs all over Europe … exactly how are Hibs, a team who cant and don't, pay their players going to persuade them to stay?

And on that point …. surely then we can all help the women's team stay competitive if we tip off the club whenever we see or know of a girl who might be able to make the grade, just as we would if we saw a young male kid look the business in a youth game or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Who’s leaving?
    Lucy Graham - CM. Away to Bristol who have lost loads of players in the last couple of weeks. Hibs apparently going to announce a double signing later today.

We’ll need them given the rate of transfers out!
    This is how it feels

What kind of money do the women get paid in England ?

Quote Originally Posted by .KingDomofFife. View Post
    Dear god
    Obviously you don't consider alerting Hibs Ladies to a potential prospect worthy of mention on this forum . Do you view the numerous reports on here of possible male signings the same. Anything which betters the Hibs brand is a good thing.

BTW. Good report by the OP and worth contacting the Ladies about.

It's hardly a shambles when our players are amateurs offered the opportunity to go professional.

It could even be helpful if ambitious Scottish players recognise that playing at the highest level up here with Hibs will help them to attract attention from down south.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Scouting report over
    Is this the lassie that signed today? Well done you - do you get a cut?

See she’s only just started being a goalie through chance.
    Last edited by Danderhall Hibs; 22-01-2019 at 07:54 PM.