Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    7 - Also John McGinn or Scott Brown.
    Without having seen him I would have thought Gordon Smith would have been a shoe in for the number seven.

10 - Latapy.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    4 Franck Sauzee

Not a chance, Sauzee was fantastic but there's only one number 4 and that is the great Pat Stanton.

First Team Breakthrough Hibee_Dave's Avatar
    51 - Big Yves.

20 zitelli

28 stokes
    91 palsson

Left by mutual consent! Col_0762's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MyJo View Post
    18 - John McGinn or Scott Brown?
    18 Gary Smith

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    8 Jimmy O'Rourke
    5 John Madsen
    2 Joe Davis
    11 Eric Stevenson

and the others whose numbers I can't remember

16 Mr Dependable Wee Lewis

So tough with the likes of the famous 5.

From what I've seen Russell Latapy takes the #10 shirt. Although I think he wore #4 on his debut.

Mickie Edwards & Arthur Duncan.
    You can see which era I come from
    Oh and Alan Gordon so cultured.

Quote Originally Posted by Austinho View Post
    7 - Also John McGinn or Scott Brown.
    Or Alex Edwards {I never saw Gordon Smith].

Quote Originally Posted by Ray-in-ireland View Post
    Or Alex Edwards {I never saw Gordon Smith].
    Damm

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    8 Jimmy O'Rourke
    5 John Madsen
    2 Joe Davis
    11 Eric Stevenson

and the others whose numbers I can't remember
    1 Willie Wilson/Thomson Allan/Gordon Marshall/Roy Baines
    2 Bobby Duncan/Chris Shevlane
    3 Joe Davis/Melvyn Jones/Billy McEwan
    4 Alan Cousin/John Blackley
    5 John Madsen/Jim Black
    6 Pat Stanton
    7 Alex Scott/Peter Marinello/Kenny Davidson
    8 Alan McGraw/Jim O'Rourke/ Johnny Graham
    9 Colin Stein/Joe McBride/Joe Baker
    10 Peter Cormack/Jim Blair/John Hazel
    11 Eric Stevenson/ Arthur Duncan

And then we got TT's.
    Last edited by Ray_; 22-07-2018 at 05:04 PM.

Just reading Bobby Johnstone The Passing of an Age by John Leigh an absolutely brilliant read this guy sounds like an early Scott Allan but by all accounts 100 times better! He would be No 8 in the famous five so that rules out my all time fav Jimmy ORourke and I am sure he will agree as he asked to see Nickers statue at Man City. The people of Selkirk are currently trying to raise 50k to erect a statue to this HIBS legend. How many players on this thread can say they have had statues erected in their memory?

There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 22-07-2018 at 08:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Just reading Bobby Johnstone The Passing of an Age by John Leigh an absolutely brilliant read this guy sounds like an early Scott Allan but by all accounts 100 times better! He would be No 8 in the famous five so that rules out my all time fav Jimmy ORourke and I am sure he will agree as he asked to see Nippers statue at Man City. The people of Selkirk are currently trying to raise 50k to erect a statue to this HIBS legend. How many players on this thread can say they have had statues erected in their memory?

There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

My Dad's favourite player. He insisted on getting his pic taken beside the Hall of Fame photo on Father's Day there. It now has pride of place in his front room.

Hero-worship never dies,

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    My Dad's favourite player. He insisted on getting his pic taken beside the Hall of Fame photo on Father's Day there. It now has pride of place in his front room.

Hero-worship never dies,
    Cheers Sodje!

PSN ID: Spanish_Kebab
    9 - Lawrie Reilly

Have to add Matty Jack.

33 Liam Miller, RIP

26 Sol Bamba

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    #1 The Goaie!

Aye ah ken big fat hun but still the best since 1875.

I thought Jim Leighton was better for us he'd be my no 1 goalie

21 Marc Libbra he wasn't here long but managed 5 goals in 10 games
    Last edited by badabing67; 22-07-2018 at 09:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    10 - Latapy.
    Copley

Quote Originally Posted by Ray-in-ireland View Post
    1 Willie Wilson/Thomson Allan/Gordon Marshall/Roy Baines
    2 Bobby Duncan/Chris Shevlane
    3 Joe Davis/Melvyn Jones/Billy McEwan
    4 Alan Cousin/John Blackley
    5 John Madsen/Jim Black
    6 Pat Stanton
    7 Alex Scott/Peter Marinello/Kenny Davidson
    8 Alan McGraw/Jim O'Rourke/ Johnny Graham
    9 Colin Stein/Joe McBride/Joe Baker
    10 Peter Cormack/Jim Blair/John Hazel
    11 Eric Stevenson/ Arthur Duncan

And then we got TT's.
    8 Willie Hamilton

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post
    Aye he was good as well in fact I would say outstanding he was good for HIBS and HIBS were good for him resurrecting his international career but Gorams angles one to ones handling distribution ball retention goals for just shades it. I remember being at Love Street one cold rainy night Hibs scored early and Goram was totally outstanding to win us three points by the same token in the play offs v Airdrie Leighton outstanding both legs. Leightons game was all about confidence and as the position evolved into a sweeper role he was sometimes caught out.Goram on the other hand oozed confidence.
    Both were excellent for us football is all about opinions but my vote goes to the Goalie but would not hear a bad word against Leighton who was also great I just hope he enjoyed his time here at our great club.
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 22-07-2018 at 10:05 PM.

23 Scott Allan

And if nobody else has bagged 17, could do worse than have Ivan’s pace and passion in the squad!

And did Zitelli wear 20?
    Last edited by WeeRussell; 22-07-2018 at 10:00 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by badabing67 View Post

21 Marc Libbra he wasn't here long but managed 5 goals in 10 games
    Libra was quality cest magnifique ! I remember after his brilliant goal versus the smellies at Parkhead Celtic trying to sign him Quelle surprise !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post
    4 there can only be one and that's Pat Stanton.
    Man United have the legendary Number 7 shirt, with the likes of Best, Robson, Cantona, Beckham and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Is Number 4 the iconic Hibs shirt? With two of our greatest ever in Stanton and Sauzee, Scottish Cup winner Paul Hanlon and League Cup winner Zemmama - it certainly stakes a claim. Who else has worn it in the past?

28 - Tony Stokes - no need for an explanation

Quote Originally Posted by cmcd View Post
    8 Willie Hamilton
    Although my first game was 1965, I wasn't a regular until 68 and with the exceptions of players like Murphy, Pringle & Wilkinson, who also played bit-part roles, those were the main block of players that took us up to the TT's, although, as we know, players like Brownlie, Schadler & Cropley had already made the breakthrough before Ned's arrival in 1971.