Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

ABERDEEN v BURNLEY

Would you rather have a one off big pay day against an EPL side or a European adventure like what we are hopefully about to have in the Europa League?

How do my fellow posters feel that Aberdeen will fair against Burnley in the upcoming games bearing in mind that both sides are coming out of their close season ?

Apart from our European coefficient does anyone really care?

I personally feel as a neutral I am looking forward to both games and am particularly interested in how Derek McInnes and Aberdeen cope given the changes to their squad versus a financially superior Burnley side.

Burnley will hammer them.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Burnley will hammer them.
    Hope so

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Would you rather have a one off big pay day against an EPL side or a European adventure like what we are hopefully about to have in the Europa League?

How do my fellow posters feel that Aberdeen will fair against Burnley in the upcoming games bearing in mind that both sides are coming out of their close season ?

Apart from our European coefficient does anyone really care?

I personally feel as a neutral I am looking forward to both games and am particularly interested in how Derek McInnes and Aberdeen cope given the changes to their squad versus a financially superior Burnley side.
    How will it be a big pay day? They get the same money as everyone else playing in this round. Might get a slightly higher crowd at Pittodrie but that’s it.

I think the sheep will do all right against them. Not saying they will beat them but don’t think they’ll get hammered.

Burnley are a good side all their success has been built on graft, being solid etc. Got knocked out of the FA Cup by a non league team last year or the year before so don’t think it’s impossible.

In answer to your question. If the one off game was AC Milan I’d take that. But no against Burnley.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Aberdeen will get torn a new one. The gulf between the SPL and EPL is so big. None of the Scottish clubs will make the group stages imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    How will it be a big pay day? They get the same money as everyone else playing in this round. Might get a slightly higher crowd at Pittodrie but that’s it.

40000 odd at Turf Moor plus sky/ bt package. Better than 1600 fishing village in the Faroes and Premier Sports that pack in after 60 mins

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Hope Aberdeen beat them, probably well bearen though.

Why would any Scottish football fan want Burnley to win?

40000 odd at Turf Moor plus sky/ bt package. Better than 1600 fishing village in the Faroes and Premier Sports that pack in after 60 mins
    Eh, 22,500 capacity at Turf Moor.

Aberdeen don't get anything from the away leg. Nor do they get anything from TV.

The only way they will make more money than us is because their travel costs will be much lower.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Eh, 22,500 capacity at Turf Moor.
    Do they share the away gate ? Just to help my argument Super Furry?

Turf Moof doesn't hold anywhere near 40000 so they'll have a hard job having that many at the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Aberdeen will get torn a new one. The gulf between the SPL and EPL is so big. None of the Scottish clubs will make the group stages imo.
    That’s the spirit.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Aberdeen don't get anything from the away leg. Nor do they get anything from TV.

The only way they will make more money than us is because their travel costs will be much lower.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
    Travel costs is good Sodge

I think they'll do alright at Pittodrie but will probably get found out in the away leg given they haven't strengthened yet.

I hope they do well though given the views down south of the game up here.

I despise aberdeen and for that reason hope Burnley ruin them

Do they share the away gate ? Just to help my argument Super Furry?
    No

Coefficient

Coefficient
    It is the sheep though!

Coefficient
    Aberdeen have fielded some of the greatest Scottish players I’ve ever seen. Miller, Strachan and Archibald were true giants of our game in the late 70’s -mid 80’s.

Never relegated either, not bad going really.

I think Aberdeen will beat them on Thursday it's Burnley they are playing not AC Milan or Sevilla. Folk thinking they will get hammered are deluding themselves.

Aberdeen are a football club from Scotland and therefore represent Scotland in this tournament to one extent, however they do not represent the interests of all fans of Scottish football clubs.

Fans of Scottish teams that are in direct competition with Aberdeen realise that if Aberdeen football club is successful, then that success will bring more income for them and will allow them to pay higher wages for better players, which will give them an advantage over other teams in Scotland. So when a Hibs fan sees that Aberdeen are playing Burnley, on one level they might think “would be good to see a Scottish team do well against an English Premiership side”, pragmatism usually kicks in and leads to “ I hope those mutton molesters get pumped because more for them means less for us”.

Am oot wi an eberdeen **** noo.....no bad ****z liksay

The only time I want to see Aberdeen win is against Hearts or and English Premier League side. I hope they batter Burnley silly and then in turn get battered silly by a team even more diddy than Runavik

I hope Aberdeen beat them.

Dislike Aberdeen a lot but I hope they beat Burnley, shut all this pub league nonsense up. Can't see it though, think they'll do ok at home but get thumped away.

PSN ID: Spanish_Kebab
    Aberdeen to win at home and an away draw

Aberdeen to beat them over the 2 legs please.

I hope Aberdeen skelp them. A no mark club who confuse sky money with relevance.

Burnley are like the Aberdeen of the EPL. Don't concede many goals and wins are often 1-0. Expect both matches to be tight low scoring games.