Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Europa League 3rd Qualifying Round

Hibs will at least be in the hat for Monday's draw. Says its 2pm CET, so should be around 1pm UK time
    Seems to be 2 draws, one for Champions path, that Celtic could be in if they lose to Rosenberg, and then the main path

UEFA haven't put the seeds up yet, but there's something on the wiki page, but includes seeded teams like Seville, Zenit, Olympiakos, Ajax, Brondy, to name a few

As an aside, noticed another Faroes Islands tea, B36 Torshaven qualified last night for the 2nd round. They knocked out a team from Montenegro, who finished 2nd in their league last season They are a point ahead of Runavik in the league, and play Besiktas in the 2nd round

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleagu...round=2000988/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018%E...ath)#Seeding_4

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Unfortunately we'll be unseeded for this one too, as Asteras' coefficient isn't great. Potential opponents include Sevilla, Zenit, Basel, Besiktas, Olympiacos, Braga, AZ, Feyenoord, Rapid Vienna, and Maribor (remember them?).

Either hope we get drawn with a potential game against one of the big teams like Sevilla, or we get the easiest possible team with a good chance of progressing.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Unfortunately we'll be unseeded for this one too, as Asteras' coefficient isn't great. Potential opponents include Sevilla, Zenit, Basel, Besiktas, Olympiacos, Braga, AZ, Feyenoord, Rapid Vienna, and Maribor (remember them?).
    Would love a trip to Alkmaar as its only a few miles north of Amsterdam.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    Would love a trip to Alkmaar as its only a few miles north of Amsterdam.
    Somewhere accessible with direct flights would be a bonus

This is maybe getting ahead of ourselves as we need to beat a decent Greek side to get this far. IF we are good enough to get past the Greeks below is a list of the teams we can get drawn against for the 3rd Round.

Our best chance of progressing would be if we get drawn against one of the seeds that still have to play their 2nd Round tie, who then go on to lose to the unseeded team in the 2nd Round.

Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)
    Olympiakos Piraeus (GRE)
    Sporting Braga (POR)
    AA Gent (BEL)
    Feyenoord (NED)
    Rapid Wien (AUT)
    Sevilla (ESP) or Újpest (HUN)
    Besiktas (TUR) or B36 Tórshavn (FRO)
    Sparta Prague (CZE) or Spartak Subotica (SRB)
    FC København (DEN) or Stjarnan (ISL)
    Steaua Bucharest (ROM) or Rudar Velenje (SVN)
    Racing Genk (BEL) or Fola Esch (LUX)
    AZ Alkmaar (NED) or Kairat Almaty (KAZ)
    NK Maribor (SVN) or Chikhura Sachkhere (GEO)
    Maccabi Tel-Aviv (ISR) or Radnički Niš (SRB)
    RB Leipzig (GER) or Häcken (SWE)
    Partizan Belgrade (SRB) or Trakai (LTU)
    Burnley FC (ENG booo) or Aberdeen (SCO)
    Atalanta (ITA) or Sarajevo (BIH)
    Molde FK (NOR) or Laç (ALB)
    Girondins Bordeaux (FRA) or Ventspils (LVA)
    FC Ufa (RUS) or Domžale (SVN)
    Apollon Limassol (CYP) or Željezničar (BIH)
    PAOK (GRE) v Basel (SUI)
    Ajax (NED) v Sturm Graz (AUT)

The last 2 ties on the list drop down from the Champions League qualifiers in to our draw, despite there also being a Champions path in the Europa League. In this scenario it's the side that lose their Champions League qualifier that drop down in to our draw obviously.

Some very tough ties there but also a lot that are winnable if we are at our best. Have to hope for a kind draw.

Some great ties there. Hope tae god we get through

@hibs.net private member hibee_nation's Avatar
    Swiss or Austrian team would be ideal for me, I'll be touring the Alps then. If we get past the Greeks first.
    45 AND RISING

I keep hearing this Greek side are decent. I confess I don’t know a huge deal about them. Had a quick look. Finished 5th in the Greek league. 30 games played. Won 12 drew 9 and lost 9. Not really prolific scorers either. Should we really be fearing them? Being a bit stereo typical. Greek teams don’t travel too well either. It’s definately doable if we turn up.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I keep hearing this Greek side are decent. I confess I don’t know a huge deal about them. Had a quick look. Finished 5th in the Greek league. 30 games played. Won 12 drew 9 and lost 9. Not really prolific scorers either. Should we really be fearing them? Being a bit stereo typical. Greek teams don’t travel too well either. It’s definately doable if we turn up.

They've just signed about 10 players we know nothing about, mostly Spanish and Argentinian. At least somebody posted that a few days ago.
    Last edited by Hermit Crab; 20-07-2018 at 04:16 PM.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Either hope we get drawn with a potential game against one of the big teams like Sevilla, or we get the easiest possible team with a good chance of progressing.
    I hope we get one of the beatable teams who are seeded in the play off round.

Avoiding Sevilla etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    They've just signed about 10 players we know nothing about, mostly Spanish and Argentinian. At least somebody posted that a few days ago.
    They have loads of Spanish and Argentinian players on their books, some of which appear to have a decent pedigree.

Hope we get Aberdeen

I was thinking the same until I saw the result last night.

PSN ID: N/A
    Let's get the worst team possible. None of this fairy tale heroic losers pish against a big name team. Let's get to the groups then we can take our David v goliath shot at glory

Have been in Greece this last week on my holyhocks and the word is that they are a wee team with a couple of wealthy backers behind them. Average attendance of c 1500 even with their success - think Gretna on steroids. I think we'll have every chance of beating them but definitely a big step up from our Faeroese chums.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    They could say the same. We came 4th, qualified through a technicality and spent the year before in a lower division (and 2 subsequent years). This year was the first time we progressed in Europe since 1990.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by LustForLeith View Post
    Hope we get Aberdeen
    I think the draws are set so that can't happen.
    Or I'd hope so anyway. Would be a bit of a shame for both clubs, to not get a wee trip away.

(obviously IF hibs and IF Aberdeen both get through)

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    They could say the same. We came 4th, qualified through a technicality and spent the year before in a lower division (and 2 subsequent years). This year was the first time we progressed in Europe since 1990.
    We beat Dinaburg about 10 years ago

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    It was the inter toto cup, if I can remember

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    It was the inter toto cup, if I can remember
    Similar stage to the Runavik game, UEFA have just restructured things a bit.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I wasn't counting intertoto. But yeah, we did.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbytam View Post
    I think the draws are set so that can't happen.
    Or I'd hope so anyway. Would be a bit of a shame for both clubs, to not get a wee trip away.

(obviously IF hibs and IF Aberdeen both get through)

I think we could get Burnley though.

Similar stage to the Runavik game, UEFA have just restructured things a bit.
    In front of a crowd of 11,731, think it was a Saturday game. Wonder why they don’t play the Europa league qualifiers at the weekend now, crowds would be bigger

Strong squad back then
    Hibernian: Simon Brown, Whittaker, Murphy, Hogg, Jones, Stewart, Scott Brown, Thomson, Killen, Dalglish, Fletcher. Subs: Malkowski, Shields, Glass, Konde, Shiels, Sproule, Konte.

So is the 3rd qualifying round the final round before group stages?

Quote Originally Posted by hibeedonald View Post
    So is the 3rd qualifying round the final round before group stages?
    No, there’s a play off round after that, then group stages

If that's the potential opponents for round 3... then it's hard to imagine how difficult the playoff round would be. I assume this is the same seeded / non seeded structure?

In front of a crowd of 11,731, think it was a Saturday game. Wonder why they don’t play the Europa league qualifiers at the weekend now, crowds would be bigger

Strong squad back then
    Hibernian: Simon Brown, Whittaker, Murphy, Hogg, Jones, Stewart, Scott Brown, Thomson, Killen, Dalglish, Fletcher. Subs: Malkowski, Shields, Glass, Konde, Shiels, Sproule, Konte.

8-0 on aggregate as well. 5-0 at home and 0-3 away. I went to Latvia for that game. Absolute hovel of a place we were staying in, it was like a ghost town, the only nightclub in the town was on the top floor of our hotel and thats where the team was staying as well.

It was actually a very good trip apart from the 4 hour bus journey from Riga.

To be honest, its very unlikely that we will make the group stages. Thats not negativity, just being realistic.