Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Stevie Mallan

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post
    Like someone's said about getting a freekick 25/30 yards from goal is going to be a great opportunity every time, so many times last season freekicks in great positions were wasted. Cannot wait.
    I think his could be the difference in turning those annoying away draws we fell to last year despite lots of possession and chances where we couldn’t convert, in to wins.

Knew he had a good shot on him and set pieces but he looks pretty good on the ball too , quick feet . The way he's going could easy hit 15-20 goals this season

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    no comment. ANYHOO, is it true about the Alamo? tried calling wee Chez, hame and pub.defo shut? we need a new venue!
    Yes it's Deffo shut Will drive past it weekend in case another pub has opened up there but Doubt it
    There is a more modern one on the same street will go in and ask if they would take a booking for Supporters Bus
    The Old Traditional Pubs I drink in are Choca on a Saturday The Swan The Tile Bar The Wee Howf and The Bull so Nae chance of a Busload getting in any of these

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Is that post not pessimistic?
    Naw!

His shots look Zitelli-like to me.

They certainly squiggle about in the air a bit.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    I heard someone say we didn't score a single direct FK last season... couldn't believe that was true but racked by brains and cant think of any? Delighted with Mallan though, massive coup getting him on a 4 year deal too

so, come on you song writers, we need a for stevie mallan

even better if we get scott allan, Mallan & Allan has a ring to it

Cracking ability and a real goal threat get the impression defensive side could be better so important to get midfield balance right especially if Scott Allan joining.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean1875 View Post
    I heard someone say we didn't score a single direct FK last season... couldn't believe that was true but racked by brains and cant think of any? Delighted with Mallan though, massive coup getting him on a 4 year deal too
    Yeah I really can’t think of any...

@hibs.net private member tamsonsbairn's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    He is def not the Dillon type. Never was and not sure why anyone would think that. We still need to sign a holding midfielder.

Who's this dillon guy, the only one i remember was the cowboy of the same name. we did have a guy, i am sure his first name was Dylan,(McGeouch).

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamsonsbairn View Post
    Who's this dillon guy, the only one i remember was the cowboy of the same name. we did have a guy, i am sure his first name was Dylan,(McGeouch).
    People on here had real trouble with his name, I think Ozy's reference is tongue in cheek to that.

Wonder if we would have got out of the Championship sooner if we had someone that could score from freekicks?

Too many draws so little time!

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Wonder if we would have got out of the Championship sooner if we had someone that could score from freekicks?

Too many draws so little time!

We're in such a good place now, football, manager and player wise that I really am not bothered by how long we spent in the championship, or the fact we were there.

At the time it hurt and each season down was frustrating even with the cup win but it was all part of getting us to here and I've never enjoyed being a Hibs fan more than I am right now.

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    We're in such a good place now, football, manager and player wise that I really am not bothered by how long we spent in the championship, or the fact we were there.

At the time it hurt and each season down was frustrating even with the cup win but it was all part of getting us to here and I've never enjoyed being a Hibs fan more than I am right now.
    Yes I agree we are in a very good place just now but have it all to do again if we are to achieve fourth place or better this term. There are still a few players to be tied up as we are looking a bit thin in certain areas of the squad. The momentum caused by the Scottish Cup win and the acquisition of Neil Lennon that brought that cutting edge winning mentally definately pulled us through from the brink. Lessons was learned but I am sure you will agree that if it could have been achieved sooner i.e. say the same year as the cup win which was a profound possibility it would have been so much better financially for the club. I do agree however with your point we are in a good place we got there eventually and there has never been a better time to be a Hibby.Like all fans I am being greedy having tasted success I want it here and I want it now!

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Yes I agree we are in a very good place just now but have it all to do again if we are to achieve fourth place or better this term. There are still a few players to be tied up as we are looking a bit thin in certain areas of the squad. The momentum caused by the Scottish Cup win and the acquisition of Neil Lennon that brought that cutting edge winning mentally definately pulled us through from the brink. Lessons was learned but I am sure you will agree that if it could have been achieved sooner i.e. say the same year as the cup win which was a profound possibility it would have been so much better financially for the club. I do agree however with your point we are in a good place we got there eventually and there has never been a better time to be a Hibby.Like all fans I am being greedy having tasted success I want it here and I want it now!

We are signing quality and that makes me happy.

Trying to play good football is Scotland is not the easiest and Hibs is a rewarding but demanding club to play for.

Next step, I hope, is for more of the kids to force their way into the 1st team squad.

It will be great to have a double figure goals scorer from midfield.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Have we ever had a midfielder hit double figures since the great Pat Mcginlay ?

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    Riordan spent a fair amount of time at left mid if I recall correctly; he'll surely have had more than ten in each of his seasons here.

Not from a true midfielder that I can recall, I don't really count Riordan as a true midfielder.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 21-07-2018 at 11:04 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Mallan will achieve that quite easily as well IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Mallan will achieve that quite easily as well IMO.
    He's almost halfway there already

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    Liam Craig.
    Only scored 9 in all comps in our relegation season apparently

Ivan scored 10 in 2006/07 but of course he maybe wouldn't be considered a proper midfielder

Ian Murray scored 10 or 11 in one of his first seasons with us iirc. Back when he was a midfielder and not a defender.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 1van Sprou7e View Post
    Only scored 9 in all comps in our relegation season apparently
    I double checked that, hence the deleted post. Was convinced it was 12!