Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Callum Milne

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Did that earn him a medal though? I was at every game of that cup run. Think the first game was against Stirling Albion at McDiarmid Park. Then two midweek trips to Ayrshire before despatching the hun at Hampden.
    I was at every game except Ayr, as I had exams that week.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Loved watching Calum. Used to see him regularly in and about Mid Calder. Think he was managing West Calder Juniors. My favourite Milne moment was after the Houchen debut victory at the piggery and he lept onto the fence keeping the fans in, to celebrate and simply roared . Whole hearted full back never gave less than his best despite not being ball playing artist.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
    Was that not the Archibald 2-1 game? I was standing behind the casuals that day and will never forget him jumping on to the wall, shaking that fence.

First Team Breakthrough Hibby_Huddy's Avatar
    I remember him getting sent off at ibrox for going through Durant not long after his come back from injury. He got a standing ovation from the small band of Hibees for his troubles 🤐

I was fortunate to play amateurs with him and his reading of the game was outstanding. Very underrated and a bit nuts to boot. Great guy and top hibby

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Was that not the Archibald 2-1 game? I was standing behind the casuals that day and will never forget him jumping on to the wall, shaking that fence.
    Could have been age doesn't come on its own

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    He was a great player.

I remember playing against him at amateur level when he was in his late 30’s. He gave me a right kicking.😂

If you ever bump into the wee man just tell him how good a manager Alex Miller was..... Then run like ****.

Good guy. I used to play against him when I played for Edina Hibs v Salvie.
    Met him in Bannatynes ( Livi ) about 7 years ago. Seen him for around 2 years but then I think he moved.

Brilliant stories about Hibs and Miller.

We never won the game when Houchy scored so could have been the Archiegoal game. What a day that was.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Decent defender whose Hibs career was halted by injury, the emergence of a young Willie Miller and a manager who didn’t see eye to eye with him. He’s active in the Hibs former players association.

I used to pretend to be Callum when I played football in the street.

Remember him as being a small pocket battleship of a left back solid dependable never let us down always gave 100 % while wearing the jersey HIBS through and through hard as nails HIBS career blighted by injury and the emergence of a young Willie Miller who was equally radge but don’t think he shared the same passion as Callum Milne did for the club.

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Ingram View Post
    He was a great player.

I remember playing against him at amateur level when he was in his late 30’s. He gave me a right kicking.😂
    Is that how you lost your leg Winston ?

Never forget the day when this 10 year old turned up at the local park looking for a game with us teenagers.

As one of the teams were a man down then we let him play and never saw the ball again as no one could get the ball off him and even at that age he never shirked a tackle.

Didn't quite find the consistency of selection at Hibs but always fondly remembered.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Is that how you lost your leg Winston ?
    Probably was but he's still game.

I was at a pre season friendly at Buckie Thistle and he made a lung bursting run for a pass from Alan Sneddon. When Sneddon didn’t pass he shouted “Snodd, you’re a c***!!” right in front of us.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Must've been because we lost the game there that was Houchen's debut. And he scored at their end.
    Last edited by Stevie Reid; 18-07-2018 at 10:00 AM.

2 Callum Milne memories:

Derby at ER. Medals Mackay lunges into Callum with a studs up, 2 footed challenge. Rather than roll around in pain, Callum jumps on Mackay and punches him around the head 3 or 4 times. Incredibly the ref shows 2 yellows and the game continues.

1st game if the season, 3-3 draw at east End Park. Long diagonal forward from Dunfermline. Callum stretches out his left leg and kills the ball with his big toe. Best first touch I think I'd ever seen.

Quote Originally Posted by RIP Bestie View Post
    If you ever bump into the wee man just tell him how good a manager Alex Miller was..... Then run like ****.
    The funny thing about Miller is that all of the players who seemed to play under him hated him, but they all still seemed to stay and take it from him for ages before moving on.

I don't think I've heard a good word about him from a player.

Quote Originally Posted by ChilliEater View Post
    2 Callum Milne memories:

Derby at ER. Medals Mackay lunges into Callum with a studs up, 2 footed challenge. Rather than roll around in pain, Callum jumps on Mackay and punches him around the head 3 or 4 times. Incredibly the ref shows 2 yellows and the game continues.

1st game if the season, 3-3 draw at east End Park. Long diagonal forward from Dunfermline. Callum stretches out his left leg and kills the ball with his big toe. Best first touch I think I'd ever seen.
    i remember calum proudly holding the c.c.s flag which had been chucked on pitch after the anderlecht game.
    milne could play too

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Anyone remember cherry beer
    Aye, kriek lambic beer, like drinking alcohol infused Creamola Foam, I had a pint of rhubarb infused cider yesterday which was much the same.

As others have already said tough tackling reliable full back. Used to have a beer in his company back in the day on a Saturday night in Lord Toms on Lothian Road before everyone went their own direction for the rest of the night.

Quote Originally Posted by stevie-bee View Post
    I remember a story going about he used to go out drinking with ccs
    Story I heard was he used to “run” with the casuals when he wasn’t playing until lexo gave him an ultimatum - them or us