Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Scott Allan

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar

Scott Allan

Anyone think we are actively trying to sign him?

All we are reading about is Celtic trying for McGinn. Surely our need for Allan is greater than Celtic's need for McGinn?

It would be good to hear reports that we are instead of him apparently being used / not used as part of the McGinn deal.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Anyone think we are actively trying to sign him?

All we are reading about is Celtic trying for McGinn. Surely our need for Allan is greater than Celtic's need for McGinn?

It would be good to hear reports that we are instead of him apparently being used / not used as part of the McGinn deal.
    I don't think we are actively trying to sign him.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    If that's the case then pretty poor state of affairs.

Thats very disappointing if so. He just seems to fit perfectly into our team. Had thought he would be our number one target after Kamberi.

That is absolutely mental if true. Would be massively disappointed in this.

Quote Originally Posted by keep the faith View Post
    Really is disappointing if true...cannot understand it tbh

Any idea why not? My assumption would be that NL believes has better options?

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Maybe just waiting until Celtic offer him to us? Or does what Scoop said imply that we aren’t wanting him as part of the McGinn deal too?

The only way were getting Allan is if and when Mcginn goes to Celtic . Im sure Petrie/Leeann are smart enough to know any approach for Allan right now will be met with a swift **** off until they have SJM

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keep the faith View Post
    Likewise, I’ll be gutted if Allan isn’t back here. Absolutely wonderful football player.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Would everybody just calm down Theres plenty time to sign him, yes it would be nice to have him for the Euro games but if we get him this window before the season starts thats all that matters imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Borderhibbie76 View Post
    Really is disappointing if true...cannot understand it tbh

Think some questions may need to be asked if true.

Wow poster says 'I don't think' so as per normal on here this will turn into a 40 page thread of utter desperation.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    We've brought in Mallan and Swanson is still here, and fit now. The priority will be a Mcgeouch replacement.

Space opens up if SJM is offski though.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimboHibs View Post
    Wow poster says 'I don't think' so as per normal on here this will turn into a 40 page thread of utter desperation.
    People have said they would be disappointed if he doesn’t come back on a thread about a certain player. What’s the matter with that?

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    If true will you follow up the need and ask some questions 👍 let us know 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    People have said they would be disappointed if he doesn’t come back on a thread about a certain player. What’s the matter with that?
    Callum if the need to make a drama out of a non story and thats what it is at the moment crack on but in my opinion it just makes this place reek of utter desperate dross.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    IMO We won't be trying to sign him now as if we did, they would try and attach an unrealistic value on his head and use him as leverage in the McGinn deal. If we wait until the end of the window they will see that he is costing them money for nothing and want him off their books. Our best chance of us getting him on a permanent deal is if they cancel his contract and agree a pay off with him, at that point we would step in to take him off their hands.

We might not be actively trying right now, but who’s to say we won’t as soon as the McGinn situation is sorted? Either way we won’t know until he’s signed or window closes, just relax .

Didn't TheCat tell us he was very confident of Scott Allan joining this summer, whether it was permanent or loan?

He's the one person I (and many others) listen to when it comes to 'inside knowledge' and therefore I've been pretty relaxed about this.

If that's incorrect though I'm ready to join the queue to go radge

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Any idea why not? My assumption would be that NL believes has better options?
    I think if we put a bid in for him then I'm sure Celtic would be awkward about it and either try to inflate the price or use it as leverage to lower McGinn price.

Even if we did put a successful bid in then we would have an issue with personal terms, no way could we meet his current salary.

I think we are interested but it may take a while.

My personal take is he will either be added as a make weight in the SJM deal (with Celtic maybe having to give him a bung) or he will work hi ticket and will become a free agent on 31st August. At this point he would be free to sign for us and with a pay off from Celtic in his back pocket personal terms will be easier to sort.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    No, that isn't how this works. We can't just trust Lennon and think he's a good manager when he is signing players we want him to sign.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    We've brought in Mallan and Swanson is still here, and fit now. The priority will be a Mcgeouch replacement.

Space opens up if SJM is offski though.
    Let’s be honest though, Swanson is pish. Shouldn’t be anywhere near our first 11 next season.

Given how keen he was to cut short his loan at Dundee to join us last season, how he went on to light up our season, how he expressed his enjoyment of playing for Hibs and how Rodgers admitted the club seems to be a good fit for him it would seem to me he should be right up at the top of our shopping list. Unless we can't afford him (despite working with what Hibs claim to be our biggest ever transfer budget) I fail to see why we wouldn't try to sign him.

I know Hibs play their cards close to their chest when it comes to signings and that there's another month to go before the transfer window closes, but I am surprised we appear to be edging ever closer to our opening league game with a significantly weaker squad than the one which finished last season. I accept that the European games come too early for us to expect a full squad to be in place but a poor start to the league season could undo a lot of the positivity which has built up around the club in recent years. Scott Allan coming back would help to refuel that air of optimism so I'll be very disappointed if it transpires we really aren't even trying to sign him.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Scoopyboy, as you're one of the best sources of good info, I have no reason to doubt you. That being the case, I find our lack of interest in a quality player baffling given his previous performances in a Hibs shirt and the suggestion that he would like to come to ER.
    Reasons? Could be ....
    1) Why give Celtc ammo in the SJM jousting?
    2) He's not on Neil's wanted list
    3) His medical condition is a problem
    4) Celtc have a high price tag on him
    5) We are spending all available money on other players deemed more needed.

-----------------------------------------------
    Addendum: post #21 added as I was writing this one. Explains part of above questions. Ta.
    Last edited by snooky; 25-07-2018 at 01:57 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SRHibs View Post
    Let’s be honest though, Swanson is pish. Shouldn’t be anywhere near our first 11 next season.

Aye right. You're at it. DS is most certainly not pish. IMO of course.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Given how keen he was to cut short his loan at Dundee to join us last season, how he went on to light up our season, how he expressed his enjoyment of playing for Hibs and how Rodgers admitted the club seems to be a good fit for him it would seem to me he should be right up at the top of our shopping list. Unless we can't afford him (despite working with what Hibs claim to be our biggest ever transfer budget) I fail to see why we wouldn't try to sign him.

I know Hibs play their cards close to their chest when it comes to signings and that there's another month to go before the transfer window closes, but I am surprised we appear to be edging ever closer to our opening league game with a significantly weaker squad than the one which finished last season. I accept that the European games come too early for us to expect a full squad to be in place but a poor start to the league season could undo a lot of the positivity which has built up around the club in recent years. Scott Allan coming back would help to refuel that air of optimism so I'll be very disappointed if it transpires we really aren't even trying to sign him.
    I think we want him but aren't actively trying to sign him just now, see my reply at #21.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Scoopyboy, as you're one of the best sources of good info, I have reason to doubt you. That being the case, I find our lack of interest in a quality player baffling given his previous performances in a Hibs shirt and the suggestion that he would like to come to ER.
    Reasons? Could be ....

See my answer above @ #21.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post

You wont be a poker player then!

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Scoopyboy, as you're one of the best sources of good info, I have reason to doubt you. That being the case, I find our lack of interest in a quality player baffling given his previous performances in a Hibs shirt and the suggestion that he would like to come to ER.
    Reasons? Could be ....

NO reason Shirley?

I reckon Hibs just want to keep Scotty/SJM deals entirely separate at this stage, no more than that.