@hibs.net private member proud_and_green's Avatar

Football Stayed Away, it stayed away...

It stayed away....

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    Bring me home, please bring me home......

Southgate your the one you still turn me on. You've just sent them home again

Quote Originally Posted by proud_and_green View Post
    It stayed away....

Typical pathetic comment , England have performed brilliantly in this world cup

I didn't say they hadn't!
    Quote Originally Posted by tynehibs View Post

I didn't say they hadn't!

Why start the thread then ?

Go and get some fresh air mate, there’s always next time

You shouldn't have got your hopes up. Years of supporting hibs should have taught you that

Apologies, didn't realise we weren't allowed to engage in banter....!

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    You shouldn't have got your hopes up. Years of supporting hibs should have taught you that
    Aye too true mate !

I think that is a huge leap to be honest they have beaten teams they should have and lost to the two best teams they have p!ayed. They have done well but brilliantly

Wee lambs 😪

Bye bye 👋👋

Apologies, didn't realise we weren't allowed to engage in banter....!

Sorry just a bit pissed off , ggtth

Quote Originally Posted by SquashedFrogg View Post
    Wee lambs 😪

Bye bye 👋👋
    Bless em

I blame the silly waistcoat.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Sorry just a bit pissed off , ggtth
    Shouldn't be pee’d off mate, they did well and their country proud. It’s now all about the banter

In which games, specifically? Who were England 'brilliant' against, Panama?

Hardly brilliant they beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden...3 average teams. Squeezed thru on pens against a Colombia team without it's star man and lost to the 2 decent sides they faced. They performed well yes but only beat teams they would always expect to beat mate. But they done well I admit but nothing more and have probably just blown their best ever chance....the draw will never be that easy again imo

If "football's coming home" is the English song, does that mean "football stayed away" is the Scottish team's anthem?

Quote Originally Posted by AltheHibby View Post
    If "football's coming home" is the English song, does that mean "football stayed away" is the Scottish team's anthem?
    You make a good point!

I am definitely not anti English / English football, but please explain why you think England have “performed brilliantly” in this World Cup.?

We're Scottish, mate. We have to get our kicks somewhere and it aint gonna be from how well our own team are doing.

Quote Originally Posted by Borderhibbie76 View Post
    Hardly brilliant they beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden...3 average teams. Squeezed thru on pens against a Colombia team without it's star man and lost to the 2 decent sides they faced. They performed well yes but only beat teams they would always expect to beat mate. But they done well I admit but nothing more and have probably just blown their best ever chance....the draw will never be that easy again imo

Some good points there BH but I will say I think that the England team will continue to improve as Southgate refines his squad. Be interesting to see how things go in the up and coming Euro qualifiers for them & for Scotland for that matter.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Some good points there BH but I will say I think that the England team will continue to improve as Southgate refines his squad. Be interesting to see how things go in the up and coming Euro qualifiers for them & for Scotland for that matter.
    I'd agree with you there they are a young team that will improve but they lack creativity which is an area they will need to improve upon imo

I see the local charity shop are displaying a few natty wee waistcoats at half price this morning.

Wasnae tempted.

Shows how low the expectancy levels are down there that a last minute winner against Tunisia, pumping the tournaments worst team and beating an average Sweden is seen as brilliant.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by .KingDomofFife. View Post
    Shows how low the expectancy levels are down there that a last minute winner against Tunisia, pumping the tournaments worst team and beating an average Sweden is seen as brilliant.
    To be fair Scotland won the World Cup in 78 by losing to Peru, drawing with Iran before true classs shone with the 3-2 win against Holland in the final.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    To be fair Scotland won the World Cup in 78 by losing to Peru, drawing with Iran before true classs shone with the 3-2 win against Holland in the final.
    That's exactly what happened. No one remembers because the whole of Scotland was pissed for a month.

@hibs.net private member TrinityHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    I am definitely not anti English / English football, but please explain why you think England have “performed brilliantly” in this World Cup.?
    I think if Scotland got to the World Cup semi final we would consider it a brilliant performance regardless of who we played. I think you might be anti English

Quote Originally Posted by TrinityHibs View Post
    I think if Scotland got to the World Cup semi final we would consider it a brilliant performance regardless of who we played. I think you might be anti English
    Did you actually watch the England games.? If so, please tell me where you think they “performed brilliantly”.?

Pick any game you want - there were 6 by the way.