Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

European memories

Just to whet the appetite for the group stages of the Europa League...fingers crossed.

HIBS v LIVERPOOL 1975

https://youtu.be/C8TncVuf4-E
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 06-07-2018 at 08:24 PM. Reason: spelling

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    mind Robbie Fowler stating he'd never played against a harder opponent than Davie Farrell 😀

Edit.......
    If it was 1995 I'm sure I'd have been there.
    (1975 I was only 3 though)

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    mind Robbie Fowler stating he'd never played against a harder opponent than Davie Farrell 😀

Quote Originally Posted by bringbackbenny View Post
    1975 mate ! Have a word.

I was there in 75, aged 9. Vague memories of a missed penalty ultimately costing us an away goals victory.

No memory of a 1995 game though

@hibs.net private member bringbackbenny's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    1975 mate ! Have a word.

👍😀

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    Edit.......
    If it was 1995 I'm sure I'd have been there.
    (1975 I was only 3 though)
    I was there mate pissed doon for 24 hours before and during game never saw any bairns that wee at the game but a night for staying in.

Dont think Ive seen that footage before, great to watch. My memory of the missed pen and the end it was at was correct

Unusual to be shooting downhill first half

No memory of the rain but I was in the east terracing that night with my dad an uncles

Pretty sure before the game I was outside a pub with a bag of golden wonder and a bottle of pop while they had a beer and watched the 'go-go dancers'

Was on main terracing . Wettest I can remember at any match at Holy Ground . Weather obviously affected crowd but I remember folk complaining about prices too - 4 pounds for stand perhaps . Not many Liverpool fans , some in Dunbar End . In 1970 I remember Liverpool filling half of Cave with a great atmosphere . Not seen video of that game but sure it`ll be available since I seem to remember watching highlights of Malmo and Victoria Guimaraes ( my first European match ) in earlier rounds .

Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post
    I was there in 75, aged 9. Vague memories of a missed penalty ultimately costing us an away goals victory.

No memory of a 1995 game though
    Yeah ! You are correct game was defo 1975 John Brownlie missed t pen don’t know why they never let fat Joe take it King Paddy mysteriously dropped for second leg I don’t think David the taxi Farrell was even born apologies to all for any confusion The HIBS go marching on!

Brownlie was the penalty taker in those days.

From the footage Clemence was off his line and it should have been a re-take

Just to whet the appetite for the group stages of the Europa League...fingers crossed.

HIBS v LIVERPOOL 1975

It's funny - my main memory is of the world turning from dull black and white to full glorious technicolour when Hibs scored. And this proves that's actually what happened...

Yep, Pat had a fall out with Turnbull & was dropped. Roy Barry, who was a fine centre half, came in but Roy wasn't the biggest. Liverpool launched everything to Toshack who scored his 1st ever hat trick for Liverpool tgat night.

Quote Originally Posted by Cat Stanton View Post
    It's funny - my main memory is of the world turning from dull black and white to full glorious technicolour when Hibs scored. And this proves that's actually what happened...

Was too young to go to Barca or Naples games but Sporting Club due Portugal game at ER. 6-1, we were sensational'

HIBS v LIVERPOOL 1975

Was there and sixteen. Ian Callaghan now drinks in my local :)

Quote Originally Posted by Class of 72-73 View Post
    Tell him he might have made it into Turnbulls Tornadoes but only as a sub for Arthur. We were that good !

Guys, please add your own vids or memories in the build up to Thursdays return to Europe.Back where we belong.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Yep, Pat had a fall out with Turnbull & was dropped. Roy Barry, who was a fine centre half, came in but Roy wasn't the biggest. Liverpool launched everything to Toshack who scored his 1st ever hat trick for Liverpool tgat night.
    Eh, no. Roy Barry was an extremely limited, thuggish and unsophisticated centre half, as evidenced during both his spell at Hearts and in his time at Hibs.

Videoton away 0-3 1989, I have two spools of photos from that trip (understand that one youngsters), wish I could upload some to here....

“goulash goulash goulash goulash” etc etc

Wow!
    The talent on display for both sides was incredible.

Quote Originally Posted by DickieDastardly View Post
    Videoton away 0-3 1989, I have two spools of photos from that trip (understand that one youngsters), wish I could upload some to here....

“goulash goulash goulash goulash” etc etc
    Great trip.

Lager 11% proof

HIBS v LIVERPOOL 1975

I was there 12 years old

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Class of 72-73 View Post
    Ask him if he still has his World Cup Winners medal.

I was there too. Only 19000 at the game, the rain was absolutely incessant.

Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post
    I was there 12 years old

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
    Me too a special night under the floodlights

@hibs.net private member oldbutdim's Avatar
    I bought a car for £95 and drove down to Liverpool. Their fans were animals.

Girls in the nightclubs afterwards were much friendlier and mostly better looking.

Videoton away. Wasn't actually there but a group of us went round to Spike Mandela's flat and listened on the radio. Went out for a few beers in Alloa after to celebrate, all with our scarves on 😀. Went to Liege and Anderlecht away trips. Both superb. Especially Anderlecht. The Grand Place in Brussels was a suburb place to go drinking before a game. We ended up in a police social club after the game for late night drinking. So many stories to tell about that trip

IMG_0642.JPG

I was at the game, as a 12 year old, and one of my biggest memories is of all the camera flashes when Harper scored and turned away to celebrate. I still have the programmes and tickets from both the home and away games, seems a lifetime ago now.

We had a great team and more than matched an excellent Liverpool team at the time, we were really unlucky not to go through. Makes me sad to see how much the financial imbalance of other European leagues has killed off fair competition.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.