Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Heading through with my old man for a wee day out, World Cup for us though.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Heading through with my old man for a wee day out, World Cup for us though.

Why bother when you're not even going to the game?

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DarrenSQH View Post
    With the weather the way it is, what’s the best pub with a beer garden?
    Darren,

Starting from the train station you have,
    1. The Star, has outside drinking area.

2. Platform 3 has great real ales but quite small.

3. The Post Office is big and cheapish, a belhaven pub with pub grub and big screens.

4. The 4 Marys another Belhaven pub plenty real bear/lagers to choose from

5, Bar 1807 (used to be the "Hole") fullof women drinking wine, you cant walk in and order at the bar, its waitress service.

6. Linlithgow Tap (used to be the Footies) decent boozer with circular island bar and good choice of drinks.

7. The Crown is probably the most popular local in town but quite wee, good service and plenty choices of drinks.

8. The Star, decent boozer, nowt special but okay, Has a beer garden too

9, The Kelpies, another smallish bar but ok

10, The Black Bitch lounge, bar and beer garden, good boozer

11 West Port hotel, more hotelish than pub but has lounge and food and big sports bar(when open)

12 Rugby Club big and cheap plenty parking (may have a rugby game on tho)

13 Lastly the Rose club function room will seat 200, separate lounge and games room with 2 pool tables, decent prices attached to the Rose ground. Parking for about 50 cars on match days.

Plenty on street parking nearby and the Academy has spaces for about 100 cars if nothing on at the school.

Hope this helps.

PS station is less that 1 mile from ground

Brian

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    Darren,

3. The Post Office is big and cheapish, a belhaven pub with pub grub and big screens.

5, Bar 1807 (used to be the "Hole") fullof women drinking wine, you cant walk in and order at the bar, its waitress service.

6. Linlithgow Tap (used to be the Footies) decent boozer with circular island bar and good choice of drinks.

7. The Crown is probably the most popular local in town but quite wee, good service and plenty choices of drinks.

11 West Port hotel, more hotelish than pub but has lounge and food and big sports bar(when open)

13 Lastly the Rose club function room will seat 200, separate lounge and games room with 2 pool tables, decent prices attached to the Rose ground. Parking for about 50 cars on match days.

Plenty on street parking nearby and the Academy has spaces for about 100 cars if nothing on at the school.

Hope this helps.

Brian

The Swan?

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    The Swan?

OOPs,,,, Swan it is, my mistake

Nearly 1000 sold so far.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Nearly 1000 sold so far.
    Not bad for a game against Linlithgow!

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    Darren,

Hope this helps.

Brian

Superb! Thanks for that. You should get paid by the Linlithgow tourist board.

Quote Originally Posted by DarrenSQH View Post
    Superb! Thanks for that. You should get paid by the Linlithgow tourist board.
    Several of them will not allow colours in the pub. The staff at the Black Bitch which has a beer garden don't allow colours.

Why bother when you're not even going to the game?
    Different pubs, different folk, Orange Walk, whats not to like? :-) Never been for a bevvy there before.

Which pubs are child friendly?
    What a moment this is!
    It's Liam Henderson to deliver......

Quote Originally Posted by Tynie01011973 View Post
    Post office should be fine. Though it's one of the further walks to the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Post office should be fine. Though it's one of the further walks to the ground.
    Thanks,was looking at The BB as they have a beer garden and nearer ground. Would it also be ok?
    What a moment this is!

Used to work at the Star and it was always child friendly, it has changed hands in that time so could different now.

First Team Breakthrough Hfc_Since1875's Avatar
    Best bets are definitely the star and post office! But both are the longest walks from the rose ground!

Both pretty much within a minute walk from the train station

What about The Swan for bairns? It's a pal of ma auld man who has it, but huvnae seen him for quite a while and my dad's no longer around to ask. Got a recollection of having my son in there several years ago....

Just a word of warning on the child friendly pubs - you might find that kids are only allowed if you're having a meal. I know that's the case in Cafe 1807 but not sure about the others as I've only been in them with kids when having food. I believe it's a licensing law thing.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    Just a word of warning on the child friendly pubs - you might find that kids are only allowed if you're having a meal. I know that's the case in Cafe 1807 but not sure about the others as I've only been in them with kids when having food. I believe it's a licensing law thing.
    Was in The Star on the way to a Scotland game when I was going with guys from Bo'ness sometime last year and there was no problem getting my laddie in without buying food; might be subject to different licensing laws if it's a hotel though?

First Team Breakthrough Hfc_Since1875's Avatar
    I’ve had my son in the post office for just a drink before heading elsewhere to eat so both there and the star should be ok for folks with children 👍🏻👍🏻

The Black Bitch has confirmed Children are welcome provided they are accompanied by adults up to 8pm.
    However,they don't allow football colours.
    👍
    What a moment this is!

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    The Black Bitch has confirmed Children are welcome provided they are accompanied by adults up to 8pm.
    However,they don't allow football colours.
    👍
    That has to be the weirdest name for a pub ever

Quote Originally Posted by Stokesy's on fire View Post
    It's the town crest, a black female dog.

Quote Originally Posted by Stokesy's on fire View Post
    It's a phrase that is a huge part of the town's heritage and has a far more innocent meaning than appears.

I'm having a wee chuckle at the thought of a migrant publican from Linlithgow rocking up in South Central LA and naming their pub after their local back home.

Nearly 1200 sold with 24hrs to go.

Only a further 10 tickets sold since this morning.

Told you it should have been pay at the gate😄

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Told you it should have been pay at the gate😄

1133 tickets sold in total, would be some queues if everyone had to pay in.

Presume you’re right......for once😄

Probably been asked before but is there pay at the gate?

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    Probably been asked before but is there pay at the gate?
    Hibs have said no pay at the gate
    I’m be surprised if Rose/Hibs fan don’t have some spares on the day