Lots of Germans and Nazis fled to South America after the war
    Goes back further...

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chile–Germany_relations

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    Didn't know about the Chile/Germany cultural connection. Why is that?
    Germany, like most of Europe, underwent a wave of revolutions in 1848. Germany wasn't a proper state then, it was really a collective of German-speaking states and cities. The revolt was by liberals in the middle-class and the working classes in general, who were pushing for a unified Germany and better conditions essentially.

Ultimately they were defeated by conservative interests and the aristocracy (although this was only a temporary delay, as it turned out) and many of the revolutionaries had to flee, with many moving to the Americas and a significant number settling in central Chile, which is probably not too dissimilar in climate and geographical features to central Europe.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Germany, like most of Europe, underwent a wave of revolutions in 1848. Germany wasn't a proper state then, it was really a collective of German-speaking states and cities. The revolt was by liberals in the middle-class and the working classes in general, who were pushing for a unified Germany and better conditions essentially.

Ultimately they were defeated by conservative interests and the aristocracy (although this was only a temporary delay, as it turned out) and many of the revolutionaries had to flee, with many moving to the Americas and a significant number settling in central Chile, which is probably not too dissimilar in climate and geographical features to central Europe.
    Aye that too

Is anyone else annoyed at the way Phil Neville is prounoucing Kimmich's name?

Lineker has just done it too 🙄

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    That's why I love this place, come on for a chat about the World Cup and learn about completely different things

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Thanks for the Chile briefing lads, I'm more familiar with Peru. You only get this class of response on .net I'm sure.

Now, anyone got thoughts on the efficacy of the Schlieffen Plan or alternatively fully automated luxury Communism?

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    I’m just in. What’s the Mexico left back been like? We were linked with him a few weeks ago (albeit as a winger). I’d imagine if he’s first choice left back for Mexico at a World Cup our chances of getting him are slim to none.

Didn't know about the Chile/Germany cultural connection. Why is that?
    Colonia the movie is no a bad watch about this.
    Most importantly Emma Watson gets her kit off about an hour in:-)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4005402/

This game needs a Mexican commentator.

'Half back passes to centre, centre holds it, holds it, HOLDS IT.'

Not wild about the Germany strip with the weird echo of the old London Weekend Television logo on the front.

Quote Originally Posted by Curried View Post
    Colonia the movie is no a bad watch about this.
    Most importantly Emma Watson gets her kit off about an hour in:-)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4005402/
    It requires a naked Emma Watson to explain German settlement in Chile?

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    All the Mexican side have looked pretty useful. Theres alotmof money in Mexican football so I can't see us having any chance of signing any of their internationalists.
    Did Rangers not sign the best ones anyway?

Can't be done without it.

This game needs a Mexican commentator.

'Half back passes to centre, centre holds it, holds it, HOLDS IT.'
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Think I'll tempt fate by saying I find it hard to see Germany scoring here.

Nae point in Pottering about.

Think I'll tempt fate by saying I find it hard to see Germany scoring here.
    Risky stuff ODS - we don't have a cliche about 'Teutonic efficiency' for nothing

Theres not been as many Germans entered Russia for about 70 odd years, we all know how that worked out.

Risky stuff ODS - we don't have a cliche about 'Teutonic efficiency' for nothing
    Ach well you know me, say what I think. Mexican bandits to see off Germanic hordes.

Germany could do with Sane , can't believe he never even made the squad.

I have to say some of the on-field German haircuts are a wee bit too 'Tomorrow Belongs to Me' for my liking while some of the off-field crowd ones are equally too Summer of Love.

The German hair strategy may be what lets them down in this tournament.

Why was that not a penalty?

No idea, looked a pen to me.

Can’t see Mexico holding out

I thought it could've been a pen too.

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    Is anyone else annoyed at the way Phil Neville is prounoucing Kimmich's name?

Lineker has just done it too 🙄
    Standard English ignorance. The one that gets me is the pronunciation of Kroos as if it were Cruz. That should bring instant dismissal.

I have to say some of the on-field German haircuts are a wee bit too 'Tomorrow Belongs to Me' for my liking while some of the off-field crowd ones are equally too Summer of Love.

The German hair strategy may be what lets them down in this tournament.
    Noticed that when the camera cut to the stands - it's terribly stereotypical but the coiffures could have been from any and every World Cup in the last fifty years. It's only the replica top, hanging over the bleach denims that gives it away it's 2018.

I don't think bringing on a 39 year old when your players look dead on their feet is the best idea
    Last edited by Mr Grieves; 17-06-2018 at 04:34 PM.

Thanks for the Chile briefing lads, I'm more familiar with Peru. You only get this class of response on .net I'm sure.

Now, anyone got thoughts on the efficacy of the Schlieffen Plan or alternatively fully automated luxury Communism?
    You will know of course that there was a large Japanese immigration into Peru, their head of government at one time was ethnically Japanese. Just saying

Noticed that when the camera cut to the stands - it's terribly stereotypical but the coiffures could have been from any and every World Cup in the last fifty years. It's only the replica top, hanging over the bleach denims that gives it away it's 2018.
    The guy with the greying, straggly Paul Breitner look got my attention. Unless it WAS Paul Breitner in the crowd...