Page 14 of 263 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464114 ... LastLast
    I had 10 quid on Spain after opening a William Hill account in order to get a free bet promotion, that I somehow messed up, whilst also not having the balls to cash out seconds before Ronaldo took that free kick.

Great game, but hoping my acount balance is looking better after the games tomorrow!

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Might be a bit higher, this is at 30th May, all I know is that it's scary from both of them

Ronaldo: 654 goals and 207 assists in 910 appearances
    Messi: 616 goals and 250 assists in 761 appearances
    Hat-tricks: Ronaldo 50; Messi 46
    Career goal ratio: Ronaldo 0.72; Messi 0.81
    Could well be right, I don't think Soccerbase added Spanish cup goals.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Think Messi just edges it but WC win for Portugal would tip it in Ronaldo's favour for me.

WC win for Argentina ends the debate I think.

@hibs.net private member The Spaceman's Avatar
    Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon D'Or 4 years out of the past 5 when Messi is in his prime years age wise.

Ronaldo is the greatest player on the planet and his consistent ability to pull it off effortlessly on the world's biggest stage tells its own story. Top all-time goal scorer at the most prestigious club in the world and also the most prestigious club competition in the world. Oh, and he pretty much dragged Portugal to a major international trophy. Oh and he has walked the walk at both Manchester United and Real Madrid.

Love Messi, but Ronaldo is King.

I decide to avoid most of the world cup openers as I thought they would be pish. As mymate has confirmed i missed FA. This game i caught at the airport and atlast a decent world cup game seemingly. Anyhoos Ronaldo great player. Good game. Thought Port7gal had lost at 3-2 but no.some great goals tae boot. Wee bit bevvied here in Orlando waitin oan a delayed flight.

They're both ****ing awesome. End of debate.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Messi for me, though I actually think Iniesta suffers because of this debate - he's produced the goods in both a WC final and an EC final, won man of the match for both, performed consistently well in both tournaments and has a glittering medal haul at club level. Iniesta's highlight reel won't be as glamorous as Messi and Ronaldo, but I would have taken him over either of the other two if I was wanting to build a team.

I've always struggled to warm to Ronaldo. I also think that earlier in his career he struggled to show up in big games. He always used to struggle, for example, against Ashley Cole, whether at club level or international - though in fairness Cole was a world-class full-back.

He developed beyond that and started to show he could dominate in club games domestically and in the Champions' League, though that was in an ever-increasingly strong team. Although they won Euro 2016 they made heavy weather of it IIRC and he obviously had little impact on the Final itself.

Perhaps more so, he never really stood out at World Cups - three goals in thirteen games, all against weak opponents coming into this tournament. He certainly showed up this evening though. A draw tonight makes it look like a chase in Spain and Portugal's remaining two games to win the group on goal difference. Winning the group offers a likely easier route to the semis - if my calculations are right and going by form, they would probably prefer Argentina over France in the QFs.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 15-06-2018 at 09:12 PM.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    They're both ****ing awesome. End of debate.
    Hear Hear. You can't compare them. They're different types - like Jimmy Johnstone and Denis Law or whatever.

No offence but you aren't very intelligent if you think Ronaldo is better than Messi. It isn't even close.

Boring dick measuring again. Can't we just watch and enjoy them both?

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    No offence but you aren't very intelligent if you think Ronaldo is better than Messi. It isn't even close.
    How are you working that one out?

By all means say you think Messi is better but to say it isn't even close makes you look a bit silly.

Both completely different types of players, both on another level and both just brilliant to watch. We don’t need to argue over who’s the best enjoy having two world class players that you won’t prob get again for a long time.

“You aren’t very intelligent”

Deary me, what a thing to see when having a fun debate

This x 100

Ronaldo dodged about 3 times the amount of tax Messi did.

End of debate.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

An amazing player.

Wasn't too long ago folk on this board questioned his greatness and his ability in big games.

He proves you wrong time and time again.

Wow.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    How are you working that one out?

By all means say you think Messi is better but to say it isn't even close makes you look a bit silly.

When it comes to denying Ronaldo's greatness its not down to ability but a personality problem that many have with him.

An amazing player. As is Messi

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Boring dick measuring again. Can't we just watch and enjoy them both?
    Indeed. On a night when we've just watched an unbelievable 90 mins of genius from both teams (mostly Spain to be fair) i dont get why we're stuck on the Messi Ron thing.

Correct. Not even close.

Exciting stuff watching Ronaldo and Messi play out who can be slightly worse than D10S.

Whatever your thoughts on Messi v Ronaldo, I’m sure most of us would love to see them in the same team!

Quote Originally Posted by supermcginn View Post
    Correct. Not even close.
    Wit

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Brilliant game, I thoroughly enjoyed it and at the end of the days thats what its all about.

As for the Ronaldo Messi debate if you cant see they are both quite brilliant and both quite different I'd take up bowls or something. As a football fan both a sheer joy to watch.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    why can't we all just learn to get along?

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    why can't we all just learn to get along?
    Like Putin and the Soddy Arabian guy yesterday? That was great telly.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Like Putin and the Soddy Arabian guy yesterday? That was great telly.

I swear you could see the Saudi sitting there thinking "your ****ing oil prices are getting totally jacked you baldy mother****er".

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    I swear you could see the Saudi sitting there thinking "your ****ing oil prices are getting totally jacked you baldy mother****er".
    I'm no lip reader. And I can't speak Russian.

But Pooty clearly said "you're only camel ****ging *******s."

Portugal v Spain was a fantastic game. Really enjoyable. More of the same I hope

Jamie Mac on the bench for Australia.

Watched the game last night. Can't see any other game beating it for excitement this whole world cup. Great game.
    Cougars!!!