Page 13 of 263 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363113 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    I’d like to see the foul again...... didn’t think Ronaldo was touched...... but there have been no replays of the foul......

What a strike from the free kick though..,,,,, and what a game this has been!!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by guthrie01 View Post
    Messi is the better skilled but If I’m playing a game and need to win Ronaldo is the first name on my team sheet. Man is a born winner
    As I said it's subjective, depends on what you like to see, I used to like the flashy showboat Ronaldo but he's reinvented himself into an out and out goalscorer, I like to see a player go past people so prefer Messi, it's apples and oranges

Pure theatre, that Ronaldo..

Footballs a mental game.

Just after it went to 3-2 Spain looked like they could have won by a few, comfortable, in control and ahead. Suddenly they are hanging on and look like they will be delighted to escape with a point. The subs seems to have killed their momentum a bit.

damn you pique, damn you

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    Pisses all over him.....aye ok. Both are phenonemal players.
    Yes they are but people are allowed an opinion and mine is that Messi eclipses him, you clearly don't, that's ok though you are allowed an opinion too

No matter what you think of Ronaldo, he really is world class and has proved it so many times. What a pro he is, the guy is on another level.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Like I said above - best player. Messi has great skill, but no way Argentina get a draw out of that match.

Some hate him, for me he's amazing

Gamertag: Nick T Muir
    Footballs a mental game.

Just after it went to 3-2 Spain looked like they could have won by a few, comfortable, in control and ahead. Suddenly they are hanging on and look like they will be delighted to escape with a point. The subs seems to have killed their momentum a bit.
    Just said to my missus (who to be fair couldn’t have given 2 ***) that Spain only had themselves to blame. They started just holding the ball and seeing out the 3-2 with 20mins to go. They could have pushed for the 2 goal cushion that would have ended it.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Yes they are but people are allowed an opinion and mine is that Messi eclipses him, you clearly don't, that's ok though you are allowed an opinion too
    No bother.....i think you are prob right that Messi eclipses him as a player, just that what you said previously sounded like he was miles better. Anyway as you say all about opinions....both great players and what a game that was.

What a game that was. Unreal from Ronaldo.

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    No bother.....i think you are prob right that Messi eclipses him as a player, just that what you said previously sounded like he was miles better. Anyway as you say all about opinions....both great players and what a game that was.
    Wasn't as good as the last game of the season but was enjoyable ;)

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Think that's 641 career goals for Ronaldo now.

Sensational game. Will well be worth seeing Ronaldo in the flesh in October at Hampden.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Think that's 641 career goals for Ronaldo now.
    Might be a bit higher, this is at 30th May, all I know is that it's scary from both of them

Ronaldo: 654 goals and 207 assists in 910 appearances
    Messi: 616 goals and 250 assists in 761 appearances
    Hat-tricks: Ronaldo 50; Messi 46
    Career goal ratio: Ronaldo 0.72; Messi 0.81

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    Might be a bit higher, this is at 30th May, all I know is that it's scary from both of them

Scary stats....i think they said on commentary Ronaldo was only 16 short of 100 goals for Portugal.

Just orgasmic. One of the best games I've ever seen, without doubt.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar

51 hattricks for Ronaldo now after tonight. It was the 51st hattrick scored in World Cup history & Ronaldo's 51st career hattrick.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Ronaldo is better than Messi cannae believe folk still debate this

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Messi is better than Ronaldo, cannae believe folk still debate this

He's not even the best player in the Portugal team

Last edited by hibsbollah; 15-06-2018 at 08:19 PM.

Cheeky wee winner for Spain in injury time and that game would have been perfect. Maybe with a Pepe OG -- nah, I'm being greedy now.

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    51 hattricks for Ronaldo now after tonight. It was the 51st hattrick scored in World Cup history & Ronaldo's 51st career hattrick.
    Hate you using 5 1 son felling a bit sick

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Just orgasmic. One of the best games I've ever seen, without doubt.
    Was going to post the same. Spain on the ball were so impressive. Their quick passing at times was so precise. For Portugal to keep up with them showed what a good team they are, and made for some game.

He's played around 150 games more than Messi and has scored around 40 goals more, he's also a couple of years older, give Messi those 150 games at his current goals to game ratio and he will have scored more than Ronaldo, he also has more assists, so there is plenty of time debate it, as I said earlier it's personal preference when there is probably nothing between them

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Messi is better than Ronaldo, cannae believe folk still debate this
    Agree both amazing players with phenomenal record however Messi bit more of a team player with less hysterionics.

A Fantastic football match , the like of which will have inspired millions of kids to follow this beautiful game.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    Like I said above - best player. Messi has great skill, but no way Argentina get a draw out of that match.

Some hate him, for me he's amazing
    Don't hate him but like suarez can't stand the play acting. Maradona was a better footballer when you consider the brutal tackling he put up with which makes the modern day histrionics even more annoying. Salah is in the same league and a much better human being. IMHO of course.

I think Ronaldo is the better player. Just my opinion. Some folk will say Messi is better. Fair enough, that’s there opinion.

Having said that I’ve seen both these guys playing live up close and can say as a football fan, it’s a privilege to have them both playing during my lifetime. Two of the worlds greatest footballers that will be remembered for many a generation

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    He's played around 150 games more than Messi and has scored around 40 goals more, he's also a couple of years older, give Messi those 150 games at his current goals to game ratio and he will have scored more than Ronaldo, he also has more assists, so there is plenty of time debate it, as I said earlier it's personal preference when there is probably nothing between them
    There's next to nothing between them but I'd say Messi just edges it, he's such a pure footballer compared to Ronaldos more powerful style. Both styles have their place and they're IMO without a doubt the two best ever. But I reckon Messi edges it and I also prefer watching him.