Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    As soon as I read that famous phrase " I've nothing against the English" I see a little green man sitting on many a shoulder.

@hibs.net private member Green_one's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sarf View Post

Did I miss any?
    My list would (in support of them NOT doing well)

1. Their manager lacks ability, record and experience
    2. They are one of the poorest England sides ever and the lack of caps is frightening
    3. They got murdered in the Euros.
    4. Their recent record in the WC shows they lack the ability, management and psychology for that stage
    5. There are several better teams, with good WC history and current form - Brazil, Germany, France, Spain , Argntina and even Belgium. No-one will be easy

Kane apart, they are a pretty average bunch, pulled from a very small pool of players. Even their keepers are now average. Better England sides have failed miserably.

Positives

1. Kane
    2. They have a high seeding in a fairly poor group.

I fully expect the media though to build them up for a fall, as is their pattern. Bad news sells as well as good.

Germany will win. England will get pumped out by a team like Iceland again 😂😂😂😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by Green_one View Post
    My list would (in support of them NOT doing well)

1. Their manager lacks ability, record and experience
    2. They are one of the poorest England sides ever and the lack of caps is frightening
    3. They got murdered in the Euros.
    4. Their recent record in the WC shows they lack the ability, management and psychology for that stage
    5. There are several better teams, with good WC history and current form - Brazil, Germany, France, Spain , Argntina and even Belgium. No-one will be easy

Kane apart, they are a pretty average bunch, pulled from a very small pool of players. Even their keepers are now average. Better England sides have failed miserably.

Positives

1. Kane
    2. They have a high seeding in a fairly poor group.

I fully expect the media though to build them up for a fall, as is their pattern. Bad news sells as well as good.
    Pretty much in agreement with this. Like usual they have a relatively easy group but they won't get far in the knockout stages.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    No-one is building England up.

Apart, perhaps, from bitter Scottish football fans.

Most people think they'll qualify from their group, as do I, but that's about it.

Although I hope they go further ----------------- for the first time in my life I may add.

One of their players is a real Gangsta, with a tattoo of a gun on his leg.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    As soon as I read that famous phrase " I've nothing against the English" I see a little green man sitting on many a shoulder.

A leprechaun?

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    England have a great chance tbh
    On their day England are capable of beating anyone, I just don’t think there’s any chance of them doing that 3 or 4 games in a row against decent teams.

FWIW I find this England team a lot more bearable than England teams in the past, there isn’t really anybody I dislike.

I’ll always support whoever England are playing as to me rivalry in football is what it’s all about, I don’t really care that much though now which I can only assume is a sign of getting old and boring, in years gone by I was a much more passionate ABE supporter.

Once we get independence I may even go as far as wishing them well but that’s a different debate altogether 😉

I think they will finish runners-up in their group, beat Colombia in the next round then get beat by Brazil.

Think it works out like that if it all goes to plan

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    I think they will finish runners-up in their group, beat Colombia in the next round then get beat by Brazil.

Think it works out like that if it all goes to plan
    I did a telegraph wall chart predictor that had them being runner up in their group, beating poland in the last 16 and then losing to Germany in the quarters.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I did a telegraph wall chart predictor that had them being runner up in their group, beating poland in the last 16 and then losing to Germany in the quarters.
    Similar path I think although I had Colombia to win their group with Poland runner-up but you’re right, it would be Germany, not Brazil
    Last edited by BoomtownHibees; 03-06-2018 at 04:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    Similar path I think although I had Colombia to win their group with Poland runner-up
    Yeah I get the Colombia or Poland discrepancy but not sure how it could be either Brazil or Germany? Would that not mean one of them not winning their group or playing each other in the last 16?

Don’t think they can bet Brazil in the last 16 if they don’t win their group. Every chance I’m wrong with that though.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Yeah I get the Colombia or Poland discrepancy but not sure how it could be either Brazil or Germany? Would that not mean one of them not winning their group or playing each other in the last 16?

Don’t think they can bet Brazil in the last 16 if they don’t win their group. Every chance I’m wrong with that though.
    Too slow with my edit!!!

Aye I had Brazil’s group as Group F and Germany as Group E but it’s the other way around meaning it would be Germany

For the first time in a while I actually think England could do not bad.

The team have a lot more chemistry and get on better unlike the days of Gerrard Ferdinand etc where they openly said that they would rarely socialise and you would just tend to sit with your club team mates.

They have players who are willing to go in behind and there movement off the ball is incredible, added to that they’ve blistering pace and one of the best strikers in the world.

Previously I think they’ve played too many similar players who are exceptional individually but not as a team as they all like the ball to get the ball to feet and play World Cup passes. Now I feel it’s a lot more short sharp passing at a high tempo.

Guys like Sterling, Lingard, Rashford, Ali and Vardy could prove crucial for them.

The main weakness is clearly the defence and if the going gets tough which it inevitably will.

[QUOTE=Stranraer;5422188]personally I don't think the English Premier League is the best in the world. Spain and Germany's leagues are better IMO.[/QUOTE

The EPL is arguably the most competitive in the world. It is said to have more quality in-depth - thus making it the most difficult to win.
    So, I guess it then becomes the best. The obscene amount of money flowing into the EPL flows there for good reason.

You would think English teams would win the Europa league more often if there was so much depth in the league.

There’s some very very good teams in the premiership but unfortunately for England there’s very few English players in these teams and I’m far from convinced teams at the bottom of the league are any good, I think most would probably lose to their equivalent team in the Spanish league.

Anyway it’s a bit of a moot point as it’s all relative, For me the Scottish league is the best in the world but only because it’s the only one I’ve got a genuine interest in, I suspect a lot of English fans who say the premiership is the best in the world follow a similar logic.

No-one is building England up.
    Certainly nothing like the extent that the Scotland team was built up in the lead up to Argentina 1978. Now that was cringeworthy. Many people were saying that Scotland were going to win the World Cup. Easy.

As far as England is concerned, they probably wont win it either, but at least they qualified.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post
    Certainly nothing like the extent that the Scotland team was built up in the lead up to Argentina 1978. Now that was cringeworthy. Many people were saying that Scotland were going to win the World Cup. Easy.

As far as England is concerned, they probably wont win it either, but at least they qualified.
    When you look at the group's England usually have to qualify from...It's no surprise they qualify.

Although born in England ive been brought up in Scotland since age of 2 i do not want England to win it and that doesnt make me anti English so dunno where folk saying its anti english not wanting them to win are getting this from. Its banter. I hope they get through the group stages but dont want them to win the cup

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    Couldn't agree more. Don't get all the anti English sentiment on here, all a bit cringeworthy.
    Except there isn’t any anti English sentiment is there? There is sporting rivalry, so let’s not compare ABE with anti anything other than a desire to enjoy the England football team’s failure.

Any attempt to suggest that friendly, but partisan sporting prejudices are anymore than exactly that, that’s cringeworthy.

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan69 View Post
    When you look at the group's England usually have to qualify from...It's no surprise they qualify.

They're better than most teams in Europe.

Couldn't agree more. Don't get all the anti English sentiment on here, all a bit cringeworthy.
    Watch braveheart or listen to any game at the world cup and count how long it takes then to mention 1966.

I also presume you would like to see Hearts to wellthis year?

They're better than most teams in Europe.

One of England’s problems is that they rarely face any serious tests before pitching up for a tournament.

No question that uefa have gamed the system in favour of the richest. We face the same issue at club level.

Southgate seems like nobody’s fool and they’ve got strength in depth. But I reckon on a QF knock out.

I have nothing against the english apart from the obvious fact that the closer we get to the start of the world football cup, the more the English media ramp up their team's chances and thereby their pressure. I also dislike the south of England attidude generally about the rest of these parts of "great Britain" if we can call it for a few seconds. I have a general dislike of the way our country "Scotland"is being changed bit by bit being englasised and the way that our local languages are being dismantled in that we are gradually forgetting Scots phrases and words. wee thing, I suppose but it does irk me. Probably, the real thing that more than irks me, in fact annoys me greatly is that south of england money comes up here and virtually buys places like the Isle o' Skye and other iconic parts of our country because they can afford it but most of our own people cant. this in turn , stops local Sots families being able to get a foot on the ladder for first homes. not trying to turn this into a political debate but those are my thoughts.! ready for an argument about the political side of things anytime btw.

Quote Originally Posted by emerald green View Post

I think the then Manger, Ally Mc Leod was the person that said we could win this. cant remember many others, other than the red rags slappin' a ******' sombrero oan his heid and taking snaps of it, telling us we will win it.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Except there isn’t any anti English sentiment is there? There is sporting rivalry, so let’s not compare ABE with anti anything other than a desire to enjoy the England football team’s failure.

Any attempt to suggest that friendly, but partisan sporting prejudices are anymore than exactly that, that’s cringeworthy.
    Well said, ABE .

Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    England have a great chance tbh
    Apart from the reasons already given in the op what makes you think that?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Who cares if they win it. Embarrassing how bitter some people are.

1. It’s no the 1300’s and we don’t live in Braveheart times

2. International football is total ***** anyway
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    Who cares if they win it. Embarrassing how bitter some people are.

1. It’s no the 1300’s and we don’t live in Braveheart times

2. International football is total ***** anyway
    1. You obviously haven’t heard of the concept of sporting rivalry?

2. It isn’t rubbish, otherwise why would top players bother?

It’s such a lazy analogy, the Braveheart rubbish and linking ABE to some nationalist agenda.

Imagine getting all worked up about Hearts and the Hun losing in a humiliating manner eh, we Hibees should of course in your book be cheering on our local friendly rivals?

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    1. You obviously haven’t heard of the concept of sporting rivalry?

2. It isn’t rubbish, otherwise why would top players bother?

It’s such a lazy analogy, the Braveheart rubbish and linking ABE to some nationalist agenda.

Imagine getting all worked up about Hearts and the Hun losing in a humiliating manner eh, we Hibees should of course in your book be cheering on our local friendly rivals?
    Spot on. The irony of using the word “embarrassing” and then writing off people’s interest in international football becuase it’s “total s**t”.

Not to mention rambling about braveheart for no reason.