Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Obviously it lessens our chance of getting him back, but you’d have to be an utter b*****d not to be pleased for him.

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Obviously it lessens our chance of getting him back, but you’d have to be an utter b*****d not to be pleased for him.
    Getting to the WC was his objective and we helped him achieve his goal. While doing that, he did the green jersey proud. Good luck to him in Russia whether he comes back to us or not... though I fear the latter will be the outcome

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Aye, good for him. Maybe scunners our chances of a permanent signing tho.
    Our chances were scunnered when Darmstadt stayed up.

Delighted for him.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Happy for him. Gutted for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Great news, and all because he was playing and scoring regularly for Hibs
    Hope Jamie and his agent remember this!

Without Hibs Jamie would have been sitting watching the World Cup like the rest of us.

Hibs and Jamie came together at a time when it suited both of them....and both were good for each other.

Pleased for him. I’ve no idea about the Australian squad, and who can do what, but his movement off the ball is brilliant and I wonder who they’ve got that is better in that respect.

It’s very important though that his club, and the football world at large, remember that he almost missed a penalty against a newly-formed franchise club and totally messed up a penalty in a stadium with no atmosphere. He’s not worth the risk. If Hibs are stupid enough to want him, more fool them!

Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Our chances were scunnered when Darmstadt stayed up.

Delighted for him.
    Is the correct answer

Strikers need to be at clubs where they a) play regularly and b) score regularly. Hibs have been a great fit for flo and mclaren. Stay another season and bump up the goals to games, enjoy your football, euro football, and then big move if need be.

Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post
    Strikers need to be at clubs where they a) play regularly and b) score regularly. Hibs have been a great fit for flo and mclaren. Stay another season and bump up the goals to games, enjoy your football, euro football, and then big move if need be.
    Still has 2 years of his contract with Darmstadt left so they are in the box seat.
    You can bet they will try and get a fee for him if they are willing to part.
    His Rangers hatrick and now being in the Australian World Cup squad might just have killed any chance we had.
    Themz the breaks.

Jamie MacLaren selected for Australia Final WC Squad

As it states, really chuffed for him, played really well for us during the second half of the season. Hopefully gets a decent amount of playing time in Russia.

First game v France no pressure 😲😲

Delighted for him but looking increasingly unlikely he won't be back at ER.

Quote Originally Posted by neil7908 View Post
    Delighted for him but looking increasingly unlikely he won't be back at ER.
    Yes would be unlikely, esp if gets on and does well would Jamie be back at Hibs. But bigger picture this is great for the guy who deserves his shot in Russia after a successful second half of the season.

For Hibs it is one of our starting 11 playing in the World Cup and a very useful soundbite for Petrie next time we have a player sitting on the bench at a bigger club swithering on coming in on loan to us.

Absolutely delighted for him.
    Sadly, we will not see him return to Easter Road.

Why is everyone so down on the chances of getting him?
    Where do all the Iceland players play? Half the Ulster and Wales squads for the last Euros were made up of like Kilmarnock and Bristol Rovers type players.

Just because he's in a WC squad doesn't mean he's unattainable

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Where do all the Iceland players play? Half the Ulster and Wales squads for the last Euros were made up of like Kilmarnock and Bristol Rovers type players.

And it shows other players that coming to Hibs can be good for your career prospects. Well done Jamie.

I agree. Jamie now knows that playing regularly and scoring goals for us will get him in the Australia squad. If he'd been cut he might have thought he'd need to be playing at a higher level than us to make the squad. Good luck to the boy.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar

I think it's wages and the German club's attitude that is liable to stop him returning as opposed to a WC squad place.

PSN ID: calhill19
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I think it's wages and the German club's attitude that is liable to stop him returning as opposed to a WC squad place.
    How much is he on like?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyCal View Post
    How much is he on like?
    Feedback at the time he signed for Darmstadt was that he would be the highest earner at the club and in the top three in the division.

If he moves on I would expect he’d need to go to an English Championship side to retain what he is rumoured to be on.

Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post

From a football perspective, Jamie has every reason to stay at Hibs. He enjoys it here and we helped him get to the World Cup.

From a financial perspective, unfortunately we don’t hold the player’s registration and we might become priced out of a move. But imo it’s still positive for Hibs that he made the Australia squad.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    And it shows other players that coming to Hibs can be good for your career prospects. Well done Jamie.

Exactly!

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyCal View Post
    How much is he on like?
    Don't know the figure but he told the players, no way could we match it.

Well done Jamie thanks for the memories. Good luck for the future. I always said you were quality right from day one.They scoffed at you initially but once you were up to speed you were scoring goals for fun just like you did in the A League.I just wish you had started against Hearts on that fateful penultimate game. Your omission upset the rythmn and shape of the team.You were good for HIBS and HIBS were good for you.

On the flip side exposure at a big tournament can bump up a players worth.

Michael McGovern is a bang average goalkeeper who kicked about between the Scottish leagues for years. A couple of good performances at the Euros and he was suddenly in high demand and walked away from Hamilton to a top half English Championship side. 2 years later he's been told he's free to leave. That won't matter to him though, he'll have made a lot of money and will pick up a club in League 1 or back in Scotland.

I've no idea what the situation is with MacLaren but I'm sure he'll want to wait until the WC is over to weigh up his options. The potential for a greater range of options is definitely there. If other opportunities arise for us in the meantime then I'm not sure we can afford to hang about.

Sounds like we'll get about £40K thanks to Jamie making the squad. More if they qualify from the group.

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2018/0...m-rogic-bruno/

Did not feature at the WC and has told his German club he wants to return to HIBS.
    https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/spo...t-easter-road/

link also features hilarious moment a jambo cuts his cake to reveal a green sponge underneath and more rumours about SJM.
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 27-06-2018 at 07:24 AM. Reason: Verification

Didn't play, but BBC still mentioned him and Hibs when they mistook him for another player being subbed on in the first game I think it was.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

Questions being asked down here now why he wasn’t used and only a few minutes ago a former captain of Oz named him as the national side’s striker of the future after being asked.

Oz has publicly accepted that we couldn’t hit a coos erse with a banjo during the WC.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Did not feature at the WC and has told his German club he wants to return to HIBS.
    https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/spo...t-easter-road/

link also features hilarious moment a jambo cuts his cake to reveal a green sponge underneath and more rumours about SJM.
    In the grand scheme of things this is good for us. Sad that he didn’t even get 10 minutes, especially as Australia were getting beaten and going home. But if he had played and played a blinder, he may not have been thinking about Hibs.

Come back Jamie!

It was a win/win for us. We get to see the lad play in a World Cup if he did get any minutes on the park and get to enjoy it, but now he hasn't played he's not on the radar of anyone new.