MacLaren rejoins Australia World Cup camp

Jamie MacLaren has rejoined Australia’s World Cup squad at a training camp in Turkey.

He was added over concerns to one of the strikers, Tomi Juric’s,fitness.

The coach said ‘it was only fair to give Jamie the opportunity to show what he can do’

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Jamie MacLaren has rejoined Australia’s World Cup squad at a training camp in Turkey.

He was added over concerns to one of the strikers, Tomi Juric’s,fitness.

The coach said ‘it was only fair to give Jamie the opportunity to show what he can do’
    Good news hope he gets in the squad.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Fantastic news for him. Hope he makes it and doesn’t get cut again.

Chuffed for him, well deserved. Here's hoping we get him signed up, preferably before the World Cup starts.

Would he be back in time for Europa Cup? Cantvremember world cup dates but surely back by mid July?

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Would he be back in time for Europa Cup? Cantvremember world cup dates but surely back by mid July?
    The semis are mid July so depends how far they get. I would be surprised if he was back before the end of July he will need a break.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    The semis are mid July so depends how far they get. I would be surprised if he was back before the end of July he will need a break.
    He’s just had a 2 week break. Still a chance he won’t be going with them though

I think it makes it more difficult for us to sign him if he makes the world cup

Quote Originally Posted by sean04 View Post
    I think it makes it more difficult for us to sign him if he makes the world cup
    100% especially if he gets a game

He wouldn’t be back before the Europa League games, the World Cup Final is in July 15th... our first match is July 12th.

That and he would need a break.

Oh and he hasn’t signed for us yet anyway 😂

@hibs.net private member AndyB_70's Avatar
    Mountcastle (don't tell anyone I've left Leith)
    So if he gets a game and actually plays and scores that puts him in a massive shop window. No chance he'll be coming back after that. I don't think he'd be coming back anyway but hope to be proved wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by BlackSheep View Post
    He wouldn’t be back before the Europa League games, the World Cup Final is in July 15th... our first match is July 12th.

That and he would need a break.

Oh and he hasn’t signed for us yet anyway 😂
    Australia play their last group game on 26th June, they’ve got a tough group, can’t see them progressing though

Jamie wants to comeback to Hibs, but think it maybe too soon for the deal to be concluded before our 1st game in Europe though

I hope he's been practising his pens.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Australia play their last group game on 26th June, they’ve got a tough group, can’t see them progressing though

Jamie wants to comeback to Hibs, but think it maybe too soon for the deal to be concluded before our 1st game in Europe though
    That and the added registration date for the Europa... not sure if when that is though so I might be talking rubbish!! 😂

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I hope he's been practising his pens.
    Hopefully Kamberi is our no. 1 penalty taker.

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    I wouldn’t be surprised if he is never back, other than as a spectator.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    Hope he gets cut, signs for us cheap and goes on to have a glittering career for club and country

I see Jamie is now being promoted in an international daily:

https://www.theguardian.com/football...orld-cup-squad

Good for him......but bad for us I'm afraid:-(

Quote Originally Posted by Curried View Post
    I see Jamie is now being promoted in an international daily:

https://www.theguardian.com/football...orld-cup-squad

Good for him......but bad for us I'm afraid:-(
    It does say the squad has still to be cut to 23 so fair chance he will be cut again.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    It does say the squad has still to be cut to 23 so fair chance he will be cut again.
    I'm not so sure. There was a big reaction to his omission and I think the suggestion is the manager realised he's made a mistake. Not only do they only have one recognised striker (who's struggling with injury), I think he's been disappointed with Cahill's performances in training so far.

I'm going to stick my neck out and say JMac will start their first WC group game.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    I’m not so sure Jim.

Guess time will tell, but there was a fair calling out of the original decision by the fitba media here, which I think has contributed to his call up.

Oz have a couple of friendlies over th3 weekend, so I guess ithey will have a big bearing on his in or out.

On an aside..I’ve been here for 44 years now and the decision has led to more air time and profile on Hibs than the previous 43....in fact it’s still going on and there is even a photie of Jamie in a Hibs strip in the Brisbane daily paper today.......unheard of under normal circumstances!

I’m not so sure Jim.

Guess time will tell, but there was a fair calling out of the original decision by the fitba media here, which I think has contributed to his call up.

Oz have a couple of friendlies over th3 weekend, so I guess ithey will have a big bearing on his in or out.

On an aside..I’ve been here for 44 years now and the decision has led to more air time and profile on Hibs than the previous 43....in fact it’s still going on and there is even a photie of Jamie in a Hibs strip in the Brisbane daily paper today.......unheard of under normal circumstances!

Scottish football’s had a bad rap in Australia since Foster got his coupon on SBS about 15 years ago. However, as you point out Fred, it’s pretty much unprecedented seeing so many images and words related to Hibs being published in the MSM in Australia.

I’m not so sure Jim.

Anything you can take a photo of, and post on here

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Anything you can take a photo of, and post on here
    Technically, I’m an inept Luddite, but there is the photo is on the Australian Hibs&New Zealand Facebook page if you have the required technical wizardry.

I don’t have Facebook, probably have the same technical wizardry as you FF😄

Would be good to sign him permanently ......i remember some diddy team...(name escapes me) claiming they were going to be signing world cup stars

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    MacLaren has made the final squad for the World Cup. Delighted for him.

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    MacLaren has made the final squad for the World Cup. Delighted for him.
    Great news, and all because he was playing and scoring regularly for Hibs
    Hope Jamie and his agent remember this!

Great news. Pleased for him.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Great news. Pleased for him.
    Aye, good for him. Maybe scunners our chances of a permanent signing tho.