Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Technically I wasn't oh holiday at the time as I was working there, but meet Vinnie Jones in a bar in Rhodes, he knew the guy who owned the bar I frequented. Decent enough guy to be fair.

juan sebastian veron in Florida 2002.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Its a bit topical as Scotland are due to play Peru.
    So you may have read recent articles about that infamous game/games in Argentina 1978
    Willie Johnston got sent home on "drugs" charges.
    Blooming Anti histamines for hay fever.
    Anyway Willie "bud" Johnston played in the same Scotland youth team as Jimmy O'Rourke.
    And they got on great during a tournament in France.

A number of years ago i was in his pub in Kirkcaldy and my mate told Willie my name.
    He waxed lyrical about Jimmy and said he should have been capped for Scotland.
    I thought that was nice and also genuine from Willie.
    A real nice guy socially is Willie Johnston IMO
    And he was a very good footballer.

Even if he is a H#n !!

PS

Players on holiday ;-)
    I met Jackie Mac senior at Wetherspoons in Glasgow Airport a few years ago... If that counts !
    Great socialist,great blether.
    Wae both agreed wae hated Maggie T. more than we "disliked" rAngers oldco.
    And that took some debating !!

Does Jackie love the Hi-bees ! ?;)
    Met Jackie MacNamara SNR in Witherspoon’s Glasgow Airport asked him to sign my book Lawrie Reillys biography he recommended Gordon Smiths biography another brilliant read that brings a tear to a glass eye.Jackie was totally brilliant great guy sits four seats along from me at ER and is passionate about the HIBS.

Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    Seen James Mcpake sitting alone at airport in Istanbul, went over to say hi as he was at Hibs at the time. His first words were I don't do autographs on a day off.. I didn't even want one! Headed to duty free instead.
    what a twat

Was on a business trip to Serbia back in 2003, landed in Belgrade and went through baggage reclaim, then stood waiting outside the terminal building for my regular driver to pick me up. I noticed a lot of tv cameras and people milling about. Next thing a luxury coach turns up close to where I was standing and the Real Madrid team emerge from the terminal and stroll past, Ronaldo, Zidane, Figo, Beckham et al get on board the coach just a few metres away from me. I didn't manage to speak to any of them, but it was quite a sight.

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    Did you ask him if he was ok with cup final scenes yet
    Felt like it, the funny thing was seeing that prick exactly two years exactly from that glorious day.

Henrik Larsson on Monday afternoon in Edinburgh Airport.

Paul Sturrock was in the pub in Mallorca that my brother in law worked in when I was a young lad. He actually played as a ringer in a game against the English pub. He was actually quite good with the guys in the pub signing shirts his only request was that no one took photos of him playing coz McLean would’ve went of his nut and fined him.

Met Jim Holton in Alassio while we were in Italy for the 1990 World Cup - great guy, spent a lot of his time at the Scotland training-camp getting the players comps from them and then coming back to Alassio and handing them out to Scotland fans for free !. Unlike the Dunfermline directors who were asking £30 for their comps - something that resulted in us being 'escorted' from their 5-star (paid by the SFA) hotel by armed-guards !

Also saw Stoichkov while on holiday in Bulgaria but didnt get the chance to speak or ask for his autograph - and finally, my namesake - Dixie Deans - of Celtic, Motherwell stood in the same queue as me at passport-control in Glasgow Airport !

Mid 90’s, by the pool in Menorca. Remember those footballs you could buy from Argos that attached to elastic and a belt so you practise your uppies without it flying all over the place? I was playing away and suddenly this man walking past absolutely belted it with a cheeky grin on his face. I think I may have been a wee bit upset I’d lost my rhythm!

Saw him later in the ice cream queue with my dad, and as he turned around realised it was actually Keith Keith Keith Wright. I was pretty starstruck, but my dad had a good blether with him.

I met Kano and medals Mackay both in the Canaries and Tony Adams on a weekend trip to London right around the time he'd released his biography Addicted

PSN ID: Jordonbate
    I met Paul Scholes in a water park in Portugal. Stood for photos and signed my hat. Total gent.

Was in the same hotel as Robbie Fowler and his family in Gran Canaria when he was at peak of career at Liverpool, was recovering from injury at the time.
    Was a pleasant enough place, but not a luxury hotel where you'd expect to encounter a top class international football player.

Bumped into the Real Betis team a few years ago leaving a hotel in Madrid, they were of to play Real Madrid, don't know any of the players though.

Betis 1.jpgBetis 2.jpgBetis 3.jpgBetis 4.jpgBetis 5.jpg

First Team Breakthrough bournehibby's Avatar
    Stayed in same hotel as Dave Mackay when he joined Swindon as manager c. 1971. Same year Bryan (pop) Robson when he joined West Ham - lovely guy, enjoyed a few light ales with him. Gazza on a flight to Frankfurt when with Spurs (top man). Around the same time, Denis Wise when he was with the "Crazy Gang" Stood in the queue for check in to Crete at LGW, was such a pleasant soft spoken guy.
    Harry Redknapp from around 1972 to the current day. Always seeing him at various events etc.

Bh

I was in Paris last year and bumped into Liam Henderson at Sacré-Coeur, he was sat right beside me couldn’t believe it. Was with his mrs so I just left him be.

Denis Law played a hole ahead of us round Banchory golf club early 70s. I must have been 11 or 12. Brother and I were sittting outside the clubhouse having just finished our round with our old man who was inside getting the ginger beers when Denis walked past and said "How you doin' boys, aw right?". We must have looked like the two wee laddies from the ice-cream van skit in Chewin' The Fat. Had a wall in our bedroom plastered with cuttings and photos from the 3-2 Wembley win in '67 including the man himself scoring.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Denis Law played a hole ahead of us round Banchory golf club early 70s. I must have been 11 or 12. Brother and I were sittting outside the clubhouse having just finished our round with our old man who was inside getting the ginger beers when Denis walked past and said "How you doin' boys, aw right?". We must have looked like the two wee laddies from the ice-cream van skit in Chewin' The Fat. Had a wall in our bedroom plastered with cuttings and photos from the 3-2 Wembley win in '67 including the man himself scoring.
    Banchory was a lovely course back in those days

Much preferrred it then before they did those alterations

Different sport, met Alex Hurricane Higgins in a pub in Corfu way back in 1987 when he was taking a break from the game - think he had been banned for a reason I can't recall now.

Had a good blether with him.

I was in Accra in Ghana a few years back. We had our hotel reservation moved but were in the Golden Tulip hotel for the second day. The Workd Cup in South Africa was in its closing stages. To my surprise the Black Stars squad arrived. They were beaten in the quarter-final controversially after Luis Suarez ‘saved’ what would have been the winning goal in the last minute. Uruguay went on to win on penalties.

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Not me but my dad stayed in the same hotel as jim Goodwin, said he was a lovely guy.

Can’t believe James Mcpake is going to be the ersehole on this whole thread

Rio Ferdinand, Frank Lampard and Kieron Dyer in Ayia Napa 2000. They were humping everything 😂

Also met Steven Thomson at Rhodes Holiday Village a few years back. Sound lad.

Met Gary Locke in Magaluf twice. Twat!
    Last edited by Coco Bryce; 28-05-2018 at 10:11 PM.

Tony Mowbray - with Mrs #1 in Florida
    Willie Falconer - Florida
    Ronnie Whelan - Turkey 2012
    Kenny Dalglish - London 2004

Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post
    Seen Tony Mowbray in one of the Disney water parks in Florida a few years ago.
    We were on the loungers next to Mick McCarthy and his family today at Blizzard Beach.

The Cardiff City squad going through security at Cardiff airport about 10 years ago, Peter Ridsdale, Gavin Rae et al.
    Currently got the Kyrgyzstan national squad staying at my hotel in Baku - starstruck much?!

@hibs.net private member GreenLake's Avatar
    I have seen a quite a few famous people on my vacations but none of them have been soccer players - unless I went to see a game.

@hibs.net private member Auckland Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by leither17 View Post
    Can’t believe James Mcpake is going to be the ersehole on this whole thread
    Not on holiday, but I met Dennis Wise in a boozer in Ealing, London - I had him picked as being a complete erse but he was an absolute gent.

James Mcpake wins!

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    Seen James Mcpake sitting alone at airport in Istanbul, went over to say hi as he was at Hibs at the time. His first words were I don't do autographs on a day off.. I didn't even want one! Headed to duty free instead.
    Shocked to read this as I spoke to him on twitter once and asked if he would sign my Hibs top for me at Inverness away and he met me off the team bus as agreed. signed my top and spoke away and he seemed a really decent bloke. He took the time to call other players over so i could get their signatures as well.

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Oh and I met Chris Reid former Hibs keeper in the dubliner in Copenhagan! Good lad him!