Brandon Barkers better than Ronaldo...

...well sort of. Maybe not really but an interesting Pre Champions League final mention of Hibs

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/liverpools-trent-alexander-arnold-not-12574293.amp

Apologies if the link doesn’t work. Or if you don’t think Brandon is better than Ronaldo

Barker is some player though - he’s right.

Quote Originally Posted by Shrekko View Post
    Barker is some player though - he’s right.
    aside from McGeouch for sentimental reasons as much as his obvious talent, Barker is the one player that I'm desperate to see in a Hibs jersey again.

My boy just came in from fitba training and said I should Google it; interview with Alexander-Arnold (who's in the England WC squad) is in several papers. Says he had a nightmare against Brandon who he described as an "unbelievable" player. Hibs get a few mentions, including in the Liverpool Echo.

Must be a nice boost for Brandon's confidence to read that kind of compliment from an opponent about to play in a Champions League Final & World Cup!

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    aside from McGeouch for sentimental reasons as much as his obvious talent, Barker is the one player that I'm desperate to see in a Hibs jersey again.
    Me too. Love watching BB. Different player obviously but the last player who genuinely got me buzzing like he does was latapy.

Just rips players.

Not everyone's cup of tea but I love the boy.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Loved watching him. He'll have a good career. Will learn the game more, off the ball runs and a better end product and become a class player.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    The lad has talent, another season he will only get better.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    People on here often talk about players benefitting from staying at Hibs for another year, people have said it about Mcginn, Mcgeouch, Cummings and many others in recent years and normally I completely disagree but in Barkers case I think he’s one that would genuinely benefit from staying at hibs another season. He’s just been coming onto a game recently, he’s alreasy at a massive club in Man City so moving to the wrong club now could set his progress back years. Imo another year to work on his consistency would do his career the world of good and he could get a really excellent move next summer, move now and he’ll likely get a lower end championship club which I personally don’t think would suit his style.

Incidentally I wonder if him and that Liverpool full back are mates and he’s called in a wee favour getting him to name drop his name into conversation 🤔

Good to hear Barker getting this kind of compliment but, really, it’s not the sort of thing we want his parent club or potential suitors to be hearing as well. The more publicity he gets, the more likely he will be out of our reach.

He’s that good he could get a game for Man City, why not? He’s unplayable if used as a sub last 20 mins

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post
    He’s that good he could get a game for Man City, why not? He’s unplayable if used as a sub last 20 mins
    Don’t know about City but still think he has a good chance at being an EPL player at some point. As you say though he may well be one of those super sub types at that level.

If we can get him back for 1 more year he’s going to set the league alight IMO. A lot of folk have been keen to highlight his flaws ... which is the Scottish way of course but I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone wouldn’t want him back- absolute joy to watch and a very rare talent.

@hibs.net private member California-Hibs's Avatar

PSN ID: BringTheCairds
    Guys unbelievable, still can't believe we got him! Tore teams apart, especially the Jambos and Rangers. So much pace and quick feet!

Quote Originally Posted by Shrekko View Post
    Don’t know about City but still think he has a good chance at being an EPL player at some point. As you say though he may well be one of those super sub types at that level.

If we can get him back for 1 more year he’s going to set the league alight IMO. A lot of folk have been keen to highlight his flaws ... which is the Scottish way of course but I cannot for the life of me understand why anyone wouldn’t want him back- absolute joy to watch and a very rare talent.
    excuse me for being Scottish, but I don't see him as the great gift that we have. he is a good player when he gets on with 20 mins to go and he does some amazing runs and has great speed. has he worked a full shift, and made a real impact because of that? he buys shoes at 2k a pop. never been a favourite for me. Arthur Duncan was faster and scored many more.(played a bit more too tbh )

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    excuse me for being Scottish, but I don't see him as the great gift that we have. he is a good player when he gets on with 20 mins to go and he does some amazing runs and has great speed. has he worked a full shift, and made a real impact because of that? he buys shoes at 2k a pop. never been a favourite for me. Arthur Duncan was faster and scored many more.(played a bit more too tbh )
    What does it matter how much his shoes cost?

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    Please don't paint us all with the 'crabby auld' Scotsman stereotype. I'm Scottish and rate him highly. Your opinion is your own regardless of creed, nationality, etc.

Also, if he buys shoes for £2k what has that got to do with anything other than making it sound like you're jealous? You probably buy shoes for £50 like the rest of us, it's just relative.

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    i just bought £70 wellies, I’m not fast, but I did once nutmeg Darren Jackson in a park kick about, does that make me better or worse than Brandon Barker ? Plus i’m Reliably informed that Arthur Duncan used to buy £7.99 slippers from Goldbergs back in the late 1970’s. when you adjust that for inflation they must be getting on for £100...just as well he didn’t shop at Jenner’s or Ned would have transfer listed him !

He probably has a house worth a couple of million too. Shocking behaviour.

Another absolute topper of a post midnight post from MH. What does being Scottish, or not, have to do with how we judge Barker? What, for that matter, does the price of his shoes have to do with anything?

Must we fill our team full of clodhoppers who shuttle about the place for 90 minutes non stop hurling into opposition players? There's another team in Edinburgh specialising in that "guid honest hacking Scottish laddie" style of football if that's yer bag...............

No one was remotely comparing him, or his achievements with us, to those of Arthur Duncan??

All very strange. Anyway, I think he's great. Opposition players hate that combination of pace and control and a fair few players have been left feeling like yon Liverpool lad this season. I think consistency and 1 more season here would see him becoming more or less a first choice and really bring his game on under Lennon.

I really hope it happens.