@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar

Linlithgow Rose v Hibs Pre season

FIXTURE ANNOUNCEMENT
    LINLITHGOW ROSE V HIBERNIAN FC
    Saturday 30th June 2018
    Kick off 3.00pm

Linlithgow Rose will host Neil Lennon's Hibernian side on Saturday 30th June as the Easter Road side prepare for their upcoming European campaign.
    Admission: £6 adults £3 concessions

Taken from the Rose facebook page!

A Hibs XI surely?

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    A Hibs XI surely?
    I'd have thought so. Decent game for the likes of Shaw, F Murray etc to warm up for the season with.

According to the Rose it is at hibs request and they are expecting a full squad.

Strickland should be a good test for Darren and Paul.

Ya beauty! The Hibees are coming to town and it's right on our doorstep. My wee boy is going to be over the moon tonight!

Any decent boozers near the ground?

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    If it's the full first team I might pop along to this one.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    According to the Rose it is at hibs request and they are expecting a full squad.

Maybe our 1st game back, probably be 2 different teams in each half

There are around 10 pubs in Linlithgow with the west port, black bitch, and the rose club it’s self being the closest. Personally disappointed to be missing this as I’m on holiday.

A day oot in Linlithgow?

Yes please!

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Same day as Trnsmt in Glasgow or I’d have went.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

A team that plays maroon? Bring it on.

summary of Linlithgows pubs

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    Any decent boozers near the ground?
    Starting from the train station you have,
    1. The Star, has outside drinking area.
    2. Platform 3 has great real ales but quite small.
    3. The Post Office is big and cheapish, a belhaven pub with pub grub and big screens.
    4. The 4 Marys another Belhaven pub plenty real bear/lagers to choose from
    5, Bar 1807 (used to be the "Hole") fullof women drinking wine, you cant walk in and order at the bar, its waitress service.
    6. Linlithgow Tap (used to be the Footies) decent boozer with circular island bar and good choice of drinks.
    7. The Crown is probably the most popular local in town but quite wee, good service and plenty choices of drinks.
    8. The Swan, decent boozer, nowt special but okay, Has a beer garden too
    9, The Kelpies, another smallish bar but ok
    10, The Black Bitch lounge, bar and beer garden, good boozer
    11 West Port hotel, more hotelish than pub but has lounge and food and big sports bar(when open)
    12 Rugby Club big and cheap plenty parking (may have a rugby game on tho)
    13 Lastly the Rose club function room will seat 200, seperate lounge and games room with 2 pool tables, decent prices attached to the Rose ground. Parking for about 50 cars on match days.

Plenty on street parking nearby and the Academy has spaces for about 100 cars if nothing on at the school.

Hope this helps.

PS station is less that 1 mile from ground

Brian
    Last edited by linlithgowhibbie; 23-05-2018 at 06:09 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post

This a wind up. He’s murder.

Quote Originally Posted by Slim Shady View Post
    This a wind up. He’s murder.
    Aye Tommy Coynes the main threat!!

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tartanhibee View Post
    There are around 10 pubs in Linlithgow with the west port, black bitch, and the rose club it’s self being the closest. Personally disappointed to be missing this as I’m on holiday.
    The Black Bitch? What a name for a pub!

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    3. The Post Office is big and cheapish, a belhaven pub with pub grub and big screens.
    5, Bar 1807 (used to be the "Hole") fullof women drinking wine, you cant walk in and order at the bar, its waitress service.
    6. Linlithgow Tap (used to be the Footies) decent boozer with circular island bar and good choice of drinks.
    7. The Crown is probably the most popular local in town but quite wee, good service and plenty choices of drinks.
    8. The Star, dece nt boozer, nowt special but okay, Has a beer garden too
    11 West Port hotel, more hotelish than pub but has lounge and food and big sports bar(when open)
    13 Lastly the Rose club function room will seat 200, seperate lounge and games room with 2 pool tables, decent prices attached to the Rose ground. Parking for about 50 cars on match days.

Plenty on street parking nearby and the Academy has spaces for about 100 cars if nothing on at the school.

Hope this helps.

Brian
    Cheers for this

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post

Linlithgow's Black Bitch
    The burgh's coat of arms features a black bitch chained to an oak tree on an island, and those born within the town are known as "black bitches".[6] In his account of a tour of Scotland, published in 1679, an English gentleman, Thomas Kirk, described the arms of the town as "a black bitch tied to a tree, in a floating island. We enquired for a story about it, but could meet with none: their schoolmaster told us it proceeded from the name of the place. Linlithgow, in Erst [Gaelic], is thus explained: Lin signifies Lough; Lith, black; and Gow, a hound."[7]

A more recently recorded legend relates that the bitch was a black greyhound whose master was sentenced to starve to death on an island in the loch. She used to swim from the town every day with food for him. When this was discovered she was chained to a tree on a different island to suffer the same fate as her master. The townspeople took the animal's loyalty and bravery as symbolic of their own. The local pub named "The Black Bitch" is reputed to be one of Scotland's oldest pubs.[8]

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    Linlithgow's Black Bitch
    The burgh's coat of arms features a black bitch chained to an oak tree on an island, and those born within the town are known as "black bitches".[6] In his account of a tour of Scotland, published in 1679, an English gentleman, Thomas Kirk, described the arms of the town as "a black bitch tied to a tree, in a floating island. We enquired for a story about it, but could meet with none: their schoolmaster told us it proceeded from the name of the place. Linlithgow, in Erst [Gaelic], is thus explained: Lin signifies Lough; Lith, black; and Gow, a hound."[7]

A more recently recorded legend relates that the bitch was a black greyhound whose master was sentenced to starve to death on an island in the loch. She used to swim from the town every day with food for him. When this was discovered she was chained to a tree on a different island to suffer the same fate as her master. The townspeople took the animal's loyalty and bravery as symbolic of their own. The local pub named "The Black Bitch" is reputed to be one of Scotland's oldest pubs.[8]

I always thought of the name "black Bitch" being related to the nearby greyhound track if I am correct/ My Auld faither used to take me there. pretty sure it was in Lithgae ? I can remember a guy at the track saying to my Da, that wee bitch wi' the number 3, runs at Wallyford, I think it has a white chest and they've painted ower it! .was there a track there, or I am confused with Armadale?

Anyway, how much of a walk form the B.Bitch to the ground?

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    Anyway, how much of a walk form the B.Bitch to the ground?
    No more than 400m, I would guess. (i.e. about 1/4 mile)

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I wonder what American tourists make of it as they drive by?

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    No more than 400m, I would guess. (i.e. about 1/4 mile)
    Even then that's probably on the high side.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    8. The Star, dece nt boozer, nowt special but okay, Has a beer garden too

Hope this helps.

Brian
    And the bools club!

this Linlithgow outing is looking better by the minute

Quote Originally Posted by Kavinho View Post
    And the bools club!
    I left the two bowling clubs and the cricket and the golf clubs out as they are busy in season with bowlers and cricketers and golfers!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    I always thought of the name "black Bitch" being related to the nearby greyhound track if I am correct/ My Auld faither used to take me there. pretty sure it was in Lithgae ? I can remember a guy at the track saying to my Da, that wee bitch wi' the number 3, runs at Wallyford, I think it has a white chest and they've painted ower it! .was there a track there, or I am confused with Armadale?
    i believe there was a greyhound track in Linlithgow. It was situated by the rugby club and is now the second pitch.

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Handy one for me
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Wonder if they'll need to make this all ticket. Attendance for Rose match against Raith in Scottish Cup was given as 2,250 - I could see us topping that and the ground was pretty full that day.