Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member The Sundance Kid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    How many ties would we need to win to make the group stages?
    Four rounds to go through to make the group stages

Quote Originally Posted by The Sundance Kid View Post
    Four rounds to go through to make the group stages
    Ouch

A total of 158 teams enter the "cup winners and league placings" path at various stages from Preliminary Round through Qualifying Rounds 1-4. All competing for just *13* group stage places.

Shamrock Rovers would be great

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post

Been there already, don't now what the area is like now but there was nothing around Tallaght, no pubs, just a few flats and and a half finished stadium.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Been there already, don't now what the area is like now but there was nothing around Tallaght, no pubs, just a few flats and and a half finished stadium.
    I seem to remember one big pub within walking distance to stadium? I was pished though so that may not be right 😀

Yeah, Shamrock or Derry City would be my choice.

My mate Andy is from Dublin and a big Rovers fan. Said there is a cracking boozer right opposite the stadium

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...mpression=true

They're not keeping up with Bert Kassies. We're now certain to be seeded in QR1. It's also extremely unlikely that Aberdeen will be seeded in QR2 and more or less impossible for us or Sevco.

There was a huge pub/hotel over from the ground IIRC
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    They're not keeping up with Bert Kassies. We're now certain to be seeded in QR1. It's also extremely unlikely that Aberdeen will be seeded in QR2 and more or less impossible for us or Sevco.
    They also say the draw is Friday 19th of June which isn't a date, that's a Tuesday. (The draw is the 19th,but not a Friday)

If we're being really picky, we didn't get the Scottish cup Europa place, Aberdeen did, and rangers got theirs and we got rangers'.

Still better than the Sun though.

Also, a small nitpicking point, if there are two ties in the same city, they usually try to swap the legs around so that doesn't happen, or they move one 48 hours ahead (the Tuesday), not 24 hours.

How many games would we have to play to win the tournament ?

8 games just to reach group stages ?!

Edit just looked it up - 23 (24being the final) games to be played to reach the final.

That’s nearly a full season !
    Last edited by GreenCastle; 21-05-2018 at 05:46 PM.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HFCEighteen75 View Post
    Also, a small nitpicking point, if there are two ties in the same city, they usually try to swap the legs around so that doesn't happen, or they move one 48 hours ahead (the Tuesday), not 24 hours.
    I’m sure Hearts would get preference, oh wait a minute!

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by City of Green View Post
    How many games would we have to play to win the tournament ?

8 games just to reach group stages ?!
    That’s mental BTW!

Derry in the first round followed by Burnley in the 2nd round would be fantastic.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Derry in the first round followed by Burnley in the 2nd round would be fantastic.
    A proper foreign trip would be better. Somewhere with direct Jet2/Ryanair/Easyjet flights.

Cliftonville would be my ideal tie, close enough for us to take a big crowd, should be an easy enough game to progress into next round and got a soft spot for them. Not keen on Burnley in the second round either though, hopefullly we can get a decent way into the tournament this timeline

Europa League Potential Opponents

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    I can’t find anything appealing about that at all. All that effort to get into Europe and everyone seems happy just to go to Ireland or England.

Don't want any team in Norn Iron on 12th of July, ferries would be a nightmare with ahem "Scottish flute bands" going over for their annual bigot bash

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    I can’t find anything appealing about that at all. All that effort to get into Europe and everyone seems happy just to go to Ireland or England.

I’ve never been to Ireland. What better way than with the original Irish fitba team?

Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo View Post
    Don't want any team in Norn Iron on 12th of July, ferries would be a nightmare with ahem "Scottish flute bands" going over for their annual bigot bash
    petition to paint all Stenaline ferries green white and gold for the 12th

First Team Breakthrough Green-Hibee-7's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    There was a huge pub/hotel over from the ground IIRC
    Aye, I stayed in it. As did the Hibs team.

Bar was decent and quite busy with shamrock rovers fans but probably not quite up to task for Brondby levels of exuberance haha!

Scotsman article about potential opponents. Would love it if Rangers get Progres again.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...rope-1-4742805

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    Cliftonville would be my ideal tie, close enough for us to take a big crowd, should be an easy enough game to progress into next round and got a soft spot for them. Not keen on Burnley in the second round either though, hopefullly we can get a decent way into the tournament this timeline
    Coleraine for me. Closest proper football club to my Mum and Dad's house in Portstewart. Enjoyed seeing them win the Irish Cup this year and a wee trip to the Showgrounds would be great craic.

Quote Originally Posted by Crazyhorse View Post
    Coleraine for me. Closest proper football club to my Mum and Dad's house in Portstewart. Enjoyed seeing them win the Irish Cup this year and a wee trip to the Showgrounds would be great craic.
    Met a bloke on holiday last year who supported Coleraine, but he had a Sevco top on most nights, kinda put me off them

Sevilla in the second round would be a great trip, obviously not so great in terms of trying to get through though

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by davhibby View Post
    Sevilla in the second round would be a great trip, obviously not so great in terms of trying to get through though

You want the "easiest" teams/ties possible, we want to make the group stage, its a big ask but not entirely out of our reach.

I know, if we had to get a "big" team though I'd much rather it was them than Burnley. I wouldn't mind another shot at Brondby