Page 23 of 497 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373123 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    From journo Alan Nixon...another club wanting McGinn

“Leeds. Keen on McGinn at Hibs. They want 5m. Seems a target they all want. #bitinpaper”
    Sounds good only problem would be if a deal already in place.

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by blaikie View Post
    Any other rumours who might be coming in?

We have history of looking to scottish players who have went down south and not really progressed, Lewis MacLeod at Brentford could be a decent shout, not really done anything of note since leaving Rangers.
    He's beginning to get game time there after his injuries. And looking good. He won't feel any need to come back imho.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RossScott1991 View Post
    Boyle tweeting barker “fancy Europe mate ?”

Barker replied “👀”
    Can we take that as an "Aye"?

We are only in a poor position with McGinn if we need to sell. Poorer still if we need to sell and there is only one bidder.

If we can risk losing him for nothing or there is more than one bidder then it matters less that we only have him for another year.

Personally I'd prepare to keep him and let him move under freedom of contract rather than accept a derisory offer. His influence in our midfield will outweigh the benefit of a low fee.

Hopefully we sell McGinn for 5mil, then I can come back on here and say a big "TOLD YI SO" tae the doubters who thought we wouldnae get 5mil. .
    I will put it in storage just now....

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    We are only in a poor position with McGinn if we need to sell. Poorer still if we need to sell and there is only one bidder.

If we can risk losing him for nothing or there is more than one bidder then it matters less that we only have him for another year.

Personally I'd prepare to keep him and let him move under freedom of contract rather than accept a derisory offer. His influence in our midfield will outweigh the benefit of a low fee.
    Very much where my thinking has been (and hopefully this is why the club are saying "nope. 5m").

The one significant reason not to do this is a potential sell on fee.
    If McGinn goes to the right club down South and does well he could easily be getting sold next time for silly money.

That said - even a 10% sell on and it would have to be really silly money :)

The biggest reason to keep him for me is that if it's "only" Dylan we're replacing out of necessity and the rest of the transfer window is upgrading then I'd be unbelievably excited by the potential for next season.

Quote Originally Posted by The Leith Dutch View Post
    Very much where my thinking has been (and hopefully this is why the club are saying "nope. 5m").

The one significant reason not to do this is a potential sell on fee.
    If McGinn goes to the right club down South and does well he could easily be getting sold next time for silly money.

That said - even a 10% sell on and it would have to be really silly money :)

The biggest reason to keep him for me is that if it's "only" Dylan we're replacing out of necessity and the rest of the transfer window is upgrading then I'd be unbelievably excited by the potential for next season.
    Especially when we are only getting (an that's fair enough) a portion of the transfer fee.

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar
    Two players I would like to see at hibs next year if even on loan would be Marcus Taverner and Lewis Wing from Middlesbrough. Marcus plays on the left wing and Lewis played attaching midfield. Both big prospects.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Can we take that as an "Aye"?
    Two eyes and no nose.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Two eyes and no nose.
    That sounds quite positive to me.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Two eyes and no nose.
    Mon the Hibs.

With Thistle down, would take Ryan Edwards from them if we could. Impressed me every time we played them this season.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by itslegaltender View Post
    With Thistle down, would take Ryan Edwards from them if we could. Impressed me every time we played them this season.
    Wouldn’t say he’s ever impressed me massively. Not good enough for where we want to be in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post

Absolutely no need to sell him for sweeties.

It has to be a deal that makes sense for Hibs.

You I do like the look of him

Gamertag: GlasMatt PSN ID: mrxblaikiex
    He’s been okay when I’ve seen him, could be a decent squad player in an area we are short at the moment. I’d consider Blair Spittal he’s only 22 still has bags of potential and could prosper in a settled team.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Personally think people need to settle with their valuation of McGinn.

He only has a year left on his contract and unfortunately Scottish players seem to be sold on the cheap in comparison to other leagues.

We are in a poor position to negotiate with other teams.

The best option is a money + swap deal with Celtic. However I’m not convinced Celtic want him.
    How do you know that’s the best option?

PSN ID: MC_Humo
    Leeds reportedly interested in McGinn too. The more clubs that want him the better let the bidding war commence!

Quote Originally Posted by Humo View Post
    Leeds reportedly interested in McGinn too. The more clubs that want him the better let the bidding war commence!

Mcginn is in the Driving seat He will only go to a Club that he thinks can make him a better player Doesn't matter how much they Bid
    That's why The Rangers fans know he won't go to them no matter how much the P R machine churns out

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

I’m not sure it ever works out like that.

Hibs will have a figure in mind, if a club meets that then the player will be sold, regardless if there are other clubs bidding or not. It’s not a live auction and if we were to start playing one clubs bid against another then they would soon pull out of the deal.

The person that really benefits from a bidding war is John Mcginn and I hope he does.

First Team Breakthrough My old man's Avatar

Sit back
    Get the popcorn ready
    And enjoy the war

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I’m not sure it ever works out like that.

Hibs will have a figure in mind, if a club meets that then the player will be sold, regardless if there are other clubs bidding or not. It’s not a live auction and if we were to start playing one clubs bid against another then they would soon pull out of the deal.

The person that really benefits from a bidding war is John Mcginn and I hope he does.
    Only works if he is genuinely willing to consider offers and other clubs and does not have his mind made up where he wants to go.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post
    If Dylan joins Aberdeen all he's fussed about is £££ as oppose to his career
    £££s are a huge part of most people's careers. I don't see how it would be such a terrible move for him if he is making some extra money.

Hope he doesn't but wouldn't hold it against him if he did. That's football.

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    £££s are a huge part of most people's careers. I don't see how it would be such a terrible move for him if he is making some extra money.

Hope he doesn't but wouldn't hold it against him if he did. That's football.
    Leaving Hibs with the injury track record he has to join a club with no training facilities would not be ideal for his long term fitness and career. Plus their fans are boring

Quote Originally Posted by Stokesy's on fire View Post
    Leaving Hibs with the injury track record he has to join a club with no training facilities would not be ideal for his long term fitness and career. Plus their fans are boring
    Aberdeen don't train?

Fans at my work are boring - I'd still move to a similar company if it was worth a fair bit of money to me.

I'm not saying he'll automatically jump at the chance, but wouldn't blame him for considering it. Remember he doesn't love hibs like me and you.

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    But it's the boss who put the value on him it's buttons for a team down south let's be honest
    Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Personally think people need to settle with their valuation of McGinn.

He only has a year left on his contract and unfortunately Scottish players seem to be sold on the cheap in comparison to other leagues.

We are in a poor position to negotiate with other teams.

The best option is a money + swap deal with Celtic. However I’m not convinced Celtic want him.
    Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Greenworld View Post
    But it's the boss who put the value on him it's buttons for a team down south let's be honest

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
    Although teams down south do have a lot more money, they’re not going to spend extra money when they don’t need to.

If a club bid 2.5 million for Mcginn would we be able to justify rejecting that? I’m not so sure.

If a couple of clubs put in bids of that sort of figure then absolutely reject it and let them battle it out with the view to making more money.

2.5 million would be a massive sum of money for us to turn down for a player with a year left.

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Aberdeen don't train?

Fans at my work are boring - I'd still move to a similar company if it was worth a fair bit of money to me.

I'm not saying he'll automatically jump at the chance, but wouldn't blame him for considering it. Remember he doesn't love hibs like me and you.

I didn't say that but they do not have the facilities we have.

Kamberi has signed.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Cairney11 View Post
    Kamberi has signed.

Where you seeing that mate?