Page 4 of 497 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    A.c. Milan and Everton quoted as being after him.

Templeton got released by Hamilton today along with Crawford.
    That's a bit of a surprise unless he knocked a deal back.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    That's a bit of a surprise unless he knocked a deal back.
    Think he must have, been one of their top scorers

I wonder if we are going for templeton. He’d be a decent enough replacement for barker perhaps.

On Efe, there is no doubting he is a very good player but if we are offered a decent fee I would take it given the fact Porteous is coming through and that gap left will hopefully mean more game time for him.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by City of Green View Post
    Sol Bamba recently was voted into Championship team of the year after winning promotion.

Bamba and Efe have their moments but if you have consistently watched Hibs since he signed you can see how well Efe has played.

David Gray while a legend is no where near the level of Efe.

The term bombscare seems to be used to describe a footballer who looks relaxed on the ball and not the rough and ready James McPake type.

Flo
    Allan
    Mclaren

All priority.

McGinn I expect to move to Celtic or somewhere like Leeds.
    FWIW after his loan spell where he was very good I always considered McPake an utter liability. Couldn't get into the right positions for toffee and as a result he had to make lots of big committed lunging tackles which although they look impressive doesn't make for a good defender.

Efe is different class. So was Bamba.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Iceman1875 View Post
    Stevie Mallan would be a fantastic addition. I heard Murray Davidson was linked with us too.

Davidson just signed a 2 year extension with STJ

@hibs.net private member worcesterhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    FWIW after his loan spell where he was very good I always considered McPake an utter liability. Couldn't get into the right positions for toffee and as a result he had to make lots of big committed lunging tackles which although they look impressive doesn't make for a good defender.

Efe is different class. So was Bamba.
    Efe is certainly a classy player going forward, but personally I think most of his best games have been when filling in at right back. He linked well with Dylan and Boyle and was happy to stride forward himself, picking passes and being heavily involved in build up play in the opposition half. Having Boyle in front of him helped too as the squirrel is always a willing runner both going forward and tracking back, meaning there was decent cover when he did take things a bit far and lose the ball. At centre back as he was on Sunday, he looks a lot more exposed.

I still think Efe signed because Lennon and Hibs did him a favour so he could get his residency visa, 2 year deal and a wee transfer fee for his visa, he would've been out of our wage bracket coming from Celtic but a good deal for everyone.

@hibs.net private member MagicSwirlingShip's Avatar
    Some of the dross we’ve had at the back over the years and some on here are calling out Efe. He has been an absolute joy to watch.

Bizarre how differently folk see the game.

For me, Efe is the type of player who makes me enjoy going to the fitba. Love the guy.

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YanYansen View Post

For me, Efe is the type of player who makes me enjoy going to the fitba. Love the guy.
    Absolutely this.

Efe’s ‘cigar & slippers’ style is exactly what I want to see. He’s different class.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig_HFC View Post
    Absolutely this.

Efe’s ‘cigar & slippers’ style is exactly what I want to see. He’s different class.
    There a few who sit next to me saying he is a bombscare but that’s the way efe plays the game . Anybody can just lump the ball up the park but I prefer players trying to play football from the back and you just have to accept the odd mistake

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar

I think the people that don’t like him are the ones that are the first to shout .......”just get it tae **** for ****s sake.......” and then compain when we’re not keeping possession.

Have we lost any goals this season from him being careless in possession?

I’m sure he’s been at fault for other reasons at times but the way people go on you’d think he gave a goal away every second week.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic

This. He’s a pleasure to watch. A class act who really should be playing at a much higher level. Enjoy him while he is still here

@hibs.net private member Silversand's Avatar
    Efes had his moments this season, but he is a joy to watch when on song.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Glen Kamara from Dundee should be Dylan’s replacement.

Unfortunately he will probably have better offers.
    Thete is a reasons Dundee are in the basement and he is one of tgem.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    There is also a reason why Swansea want to spend a million on him. Remember where Scott Allan was at the start of the season

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    I can't believe so many folk want rid of Efe, he had maybe 2 bad games all season.
    I can, you know how it goes, someone says they don't like player X because he is ..... and before you know it the usual crew jump on the band wagon.

****ing mental how many people want rid of Efe.

It's been cigar and slippers time for most of the season for him and I can't remember us having many CBs that can play it out from the back like him, never mind his jaunts up the wing like a winger.

Think thats overly simplistic, Nottingham forest were relegated with Roy Keane in their team, look at the talent Leeds United had when they went down,

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I think the people that don’t like him are the ones that are the first to shout .......”just get it tae **** for ****s sake.......” and then compain when we’re not keeping possession.

Have we lost any goals this season from him being careless in possession?

I’m sure he’s been at fault for other reasons at times but the way people go on you’d think he gave a goal away every second week.
    The 4-1 game at Pittodrie tbf.

Otherwise he's just got an incredible ability to beat a man when being closed down and he can make the opposition look really stupid. He's been excellent.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

A total football playing defender. It’s been a while since we had one of them. My player of the year.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    The 4-1 game at Pittodrie tbf.

Otherwise he's just got an incredible ability to beat a man when being closed down and he can make the opposition look really stupid. He's been excellent.

Both Efe and McGeoch have a great ability to feint in a way that makes their opponent shift their body weight, allowing them to ghost by the opponent, where we all expect the opponent to make a tackle but that weight shift is enough to render them useless.

its often attackers who do this (Salah for example), EA and DM tend to it much deeper, but this often causes the oppositions defensive shape to be pierced.

players like Efe are a joy and heart-in-mouth to watch, I’ll be sad to see him leave. Would certainly much rather have his type as Michael Nelson types

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Great to see Efe getting the praise he richly deserves.

An an absolute pleasure to watch who will be sadly missed but fondly remembered if he goes.

Still hoping he stays and sees outs his contract, then he get get a bumper pay deal when he moves on for free next summer.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    We signed SJM from relegated St Mirren .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Seen on twitter that we're interested in County right back Jason Naismith. Out of contract, quite a few teams interested though

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Seen on twitter that we're interested in County right back Jason Naismith. Out of contract, quite a few teams interested though
    As a squad player maybe

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    As a squad player maybe
    Depends on the formation, but if we’re playing four at the back i’d have Naismith ahead of anyone else at the club just now. Boyle is a very good option at wing back as well if we go 3-5-2.

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Depends on the formation, but if we’re playing four at the back i’d have Naismith ahead of anyone else at the club just now. Boyle is a very good option at wing back as well if we go 3-5-2.
    I’m still to be convinced by him. However if our recruitment staff think so, I’ll go along with that

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I’m still to be convinced by him. However if our recruitment staff think so, I’ll go along with that
    Me neither

Quote Originally Posted by S4uzee View Post
    Me neither
    Always thought he was a good player ,even when he was at St Mirren