Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by Greentinted View Post
    Quite liking the fact that a fat, baldy auld boy has become Scotland’s most decorated Commie Games ‘athlete’.
    Fair play tae the booler supreme...nae silly wristbands or inane sign lingo - take note fi a winner Mrs Doyle!
    It is some achievement from Tattie.

He'd struggle a bit if he had to rush straight from his work to play his ties though.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    It is some achievement from Tattie.

He'd struggle a bit if he had to rush straight from his work to play his ties though.
    2 down going into last end and scored a four. Fantastic result, the Aussie skip had a bowl/drive at the head too with his last bowl and still couldn't cut it down.

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    She did it when she failed to win gold again yesterday, cringetastic.

Really? That is truly pathetic

callum watkins approx 2 mins ahead in the marathon but he's all over the place, bumping into barriers, now fell, still got a mile and a half left, collapsed again, no medical help in sight fs, both commenators saying it's a disgrace

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    callum watkins approx 2 mins ahead in the marathon but he's all over the place, bumping into barriers, now fell, still got a mile and a half left, collapsed again, no medical help in sight fs, both commenators saying it's a disgrace
    Did you see that cow that came over and took a photo off him on her phone? I couldn’t believe how they were all standing over him as he lay on the ground. That was horrible to watch.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Did you see that cow that came over and took a photo off him on her phone? I couldn’t believe how they were all standing over him as he lay on the ground. That was horrible to watch.

i'm thinking the runner will maybe get disqualified if anyone other than an official/medic helps a runner ? heartbreaking for him when he was so far ahead with just a shortish distance to go hope he's ok , robbie simpson gets the bronze

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    i'm thinking the runner will maybe get disqualified if anyone other than an official/medic helps a runner ? heartbreaking for him when he was so far ahead with just a shortish distance to go hope he's ok , robbie simpson gets the bronze
    You may be right, but it was pretty obvious the guy was in severe distress and wasn’t going to finish the race. The worrying thing was the length of time it took for medical attention to arrive.

United we stand here....

You may be right, but it was pretty obvious the guy was in severe distress and wasn’t going to finish the race. The worrying thing was the length of time it took for medical attention to arrive.
    I would go a bit further and say it was an utter disgrace how long they took to get there. It was heartbreaking watching Hawkins, who would have been the deserved winner, but was starting to look delirious, fell over and stayed down for a few seconds before getting up and trying to continue for a while, only to collapse again. All this time and not a medic in sight. Absolutely disgraceful, and the Scotland team should make a formal complaint IMO.

our 7's just beat wales and now play australia for 5th place, our basketball gadgies beaten by new zealand for a bronze :(

mens squash doubles bronze match coming up between scotland and england

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I would go a bit further and say it was an utter disgrace how long they took to get there. It was heartbreaking watching Hawkins, who would have been the deserved winner, but was starting to look delirious, fell over and stayed down for a few seconds before getting up and trying to continue for a while, only to collapse again. All this time and not a medic in sight. Absolutely disgraceful, and the Scotland team should make a formal complaint IMO.
    When he fell over the first time he shouldn’t have been allowed to continue. He looked like he banged his head the second time he fell over. Sometimes sportsman need to be saved from themselves.

United we stand here....

Where on earth is the help?'

Men's marathon

Steve Cram
    Commentator on the Gold Coast

He's hit his head on the barrier. I'm sorry if you're watching this at home, it's really distressing. He's going to hurt himself and there's nobody anywhere near.

We should have some more medical attention. This is a guy in real distress and someone needs to recognise it for his health at this point

Where on earth is the help? You cannot just wait at the finish line. They've got radios.

And finally somebody arrives. I think it's disgraceful.

btw, just how gawjus is the gold coast scenery and lovely blue sky

Fantastic games for Wales! Our best ever finish and nipped in just ahead of Scotland in the medal table!

When he fell over the first time he shouldn’t have been allowed to continue. He looked like he banged his head the second time he fell over. Sometimes sportsman need to be saved from themselves.
    Michael Johnson called it right. He said that as soon as it became obvious the lad was in distress he should have been immediately surveiled and medics and officials deployed to his location. That could have had a decidedly darker outcome had Hawkins sustained a head injury - the official statement is just an excercise in arse-covering.

Agreed. Hopefully lessons are learnt from this.

United we stand here....

I thought given the extreme nature of the marathon never mind the heat that some sort of quick medical response would have been set up. Thinking motorbike with paramedic on stand by for just such a scenario.

quite impressed at the brum handover video

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/commonwealth-games/43775463

ELO songs are always a winner