Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Charity thief?

Mybe the coo eat it

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    I did exactly the same and lost my beloved Hibs Tartan lambswool scarf after the final.
    I was in the Percy and had a great night celebrating our win, it was choccers, so I probably lost it in there.

Next day down at Leith Links, next to Hanlon Hill, I saw a guy out with his Staffy, and the mutt had a lambswool Hibs Tartan scarf tied round its neck.
    I know Hibs Tartan scarfs all look the same but I just know that was mine :-( .....ah well, it was a superb weekend, so i hope the mutt is still keeping warm while wearing it

They don't even make the same one now.
    I've obviously bought another but it's just not the same.
    White with green letters and green tassels .
    There are others similar , but they just don't have the same feel.

Still , at least it was held aloft at Hampden on 21st May .

Gone but not forgotten
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by timewilltell View Post
    i wonder what’s worse... The low life who stole it or you for laughing at it.... Goodness me... quite sad...
    You can’t be serious?

Quote Originally Posted by Sauzee16 View Post
    You can’t be serious?
    About time this thread had a serious conversation in it.

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    They don't even make the same one now.
    I've obviously bought another but it's just not the same.
    White with green letters and green tassels .
    There are others similar , but they just don't have the same feel.

Still , at least it was held aloft at Hampden on 21st May .

Gone but not forgotten
    Yep, I've replaced mine with another lambswool one, and my laddie bought me one of the Scottish Cup Winners one too.
    They're both great scarves, but we all get a bit attached to scarves that we've had for a few years eh
    I've never usually got much time for anything related to Hertz, but in this case, i hope that old jambo gets his scarf back.

Last edited by Eaststand; 18-03-2018 at 03:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Virtue signalling.

And expression invented by the virtueless.
    Agree completely in general terms and instantly regretted using it. Apart from anything else it gives other elements of the virtueless the opportunity to fixate on it and ignore the general argument.

Quote Originally Posted by timewilltell View Post
    i wonder what’s worse... The low life who stole it or you for laughing at it.... Goodness me... quite sad...

even i can work out which is worse, maybe better using a different analogy

Quote Originally Posted by SingHibs View Post
    lots of thieves and villians who are Hibs fans.
    I find that very hard to believe reading this thread.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Virtue signalling.

And expression invented by the virtueless.

Learnt something new today thanks to this thread

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Learnt something new today thanks to this thread
    Is the thread title cockney rhyming slang for your user name?

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Damn. Outed.

Figured no one would suspect me of being a Hearts fan but you sussed it!

Launch me

Just back in.

Well what a hullabaloo.

My point was the fact that some of the responses from Hertz fans was to suggest that it wisnae a hertz fan that stole the jacket. Apologies for for not making clear.

I did think it was funny that a most likely mature gentleman would turn up at a dinner with a 60 badge scarf on.

Gamertag: WalterSobzcek
    Did it have a poppy on it ?

Quote Originally Posted by Walter View Post
    Did it have a poppy on it ?
    My thoughts exactly.
    Was one a poppy badge?
    The old bill should be all over that. There is a firm over that way with previous.

I think any decent person's first emotion on hearing the story should be - empathy. If it isn't, you should probably be a wee bit worried aboot yersel'. This is nowt to do with rivalry.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    I think any decent person's first emotion on hearing the story should be - empathy. If it isn't, you should probably be a wee bit worried aboot yersel'. This is nowt to do with rivalry.
    People who don't feel empathy tend not to worry about it in most cases

Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    People who don't feel empathy tend not to worry about it in most cases
    No that's true...bit of a catch 22, right enough!

Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    I got a programme nicked from under my seat at ER. It must have been taken from someone sitting right beside me,, and they all knew I wasn't a regular so that programme meant alot to me. Stealing from 'your own' is truly disgusting.
    But kindness is always there too as a total stranger came up to me & gave me his programme in the pub afterwards. Someone had mentioned it to him.
    My sympathies on having something stolen that meant a lot. I’d say that stealing is truly disgusting, whether from ‘your own’ or not though. A thieving ******* generally won’t stop to consider the finer details of the person that they are stealing from.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Jimmy View Post
    Is this what we're reduced to? Laughing at someone who's had their things stolen due to who they support?

Not Hibs class for me.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
    As you say, it's not Hibs class to mock this man.

Theft is despicable.

I think that leaving prized possessions in an unguarded cloakroom was rather näive. I genuinely feel for the guy but his actions were ill advised given the somewhat dubious company he was in.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Swedish hibee View Post
    I got a programme nicked from under my seat at ER. It must have been taken from someone sitting right beside me,, and they all knew I wasn't a regular so that programme meant alot to me. Stealing from 'your own' is truly disgusting.
    But kindness is always there too as a total stranger came up to me & gave me his programme in the pub afterwards. Someone had mentioned it to him.
    First part : Hibs crass
    Second part : Hibs class

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    I assume pointing out his own club was partial to some theft from society's most vulnerable to get one over on us would frowned upon?

One unfortunate jambo after the last derby decided he no longer wanted his season ticket for the pbs so nailed it to a tree.... when he got home he thought better of it and decided to return and get it back. When he arrived at the tree the ticket was lying on the ground... some dirty thieving ****bag had stolen his nail.

I notice that a few Hertz fans on JKB have expressed appreciation of this thread ... 'to be fair there's a few decent Hibs fans posting on it' ... that sort of thing.

So just to be clear, the following stuff is set in concrete no matter how many scarves you steal from each other:

Hearts are ****
    Your new stand is ****, as is the rest of the rust arena
    Your team is ****
    Gorgie is a soulless dump
    Your manager is a classless tramp
    You are not 'famous' no matter how often you say it
    You haven't won the League cup for 60 years
    Two Scottish cups in return for destroying your clubs reputation and coming within a baw hair of its total annihilation wasn't 'worth it'
    Referring to other clubs fans as 'vermin' is shan banter .... unless you are looking forward to a 4th Reich.
    Owning a Rover a cardigan and driving gloves doesn't make you superior to the rest of us.
    Winning WW1 was a joint effort ... you couldn't have done it without the Americans.
    Releasing strips commemorating a man whose opinion of the poor fell just short of suggesting they be put in camps would never be tolerated at ER.

And finally ... what exactly is 'a Hearts man' ... Its like you lot are living in a re run of Brideshead revisited or Chariots of fire. Do you know Farquhar? Oh yes he's a fine upstanding chap just as you would expect from a good Eaton and Oxford man. Hearts man

Anyway ... hope your pal has found his scarf
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 19-03-2018 at 09:03 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Winning WW1 was a joint effort ... you couldn't have done it without the Americans.

Is it just me or has everyone completely missed the point of the OP and the thread title?

When I read it, my immediate thoughts turned to the irony of something being stolen from what I assume was a Hearts charity dinner and the connection to our constant reminders on this forum that Hearts are charity thieves. This incident merely highlighted it further - no?

If that was the reason behind the OP then I see what he was trying to say even if it was said in a strange way. I don’t believe anyone on here believes their fans are charity thieves. It’s the club itself we level that accusation at.

That said I agree with everyone else, that having a treasured possession inadvertently taken or worse, stolen, is the lowest of the low. Whoever took it must have realised at some point it wasn’t theirs.

Hope he is reunited with the scarf and badges soon.

Just disgusting to steal off your fellow fans

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    I notice that a few Hertz fans on JKB have expressed appreciation of this thread ... 'to be fair there's a few decent Hibs fans posting on it' ... that sort of thing.

So just to be clear, the following stuff is set in concrete no matter how many scarves you steal from each other:

Hearts are ****
    Your new stand is ****, as is the rest of the rust arena
    Your team is ****
    Gorgie is a soulless dump
    Your manager is a classless tramp
    You are not 'famous' no matter how often you say it
    You haven't won the League cup for 60 years
    Two Scottish cups in return for destroying your clubs reputation and coming within a baw hair of its total annihilation wasn't 'worth it'
    Referring to other clubs fans as 'vermin' is shan banter .... unless you are looking forward to a 4th Reich.
    Owning a Rover a cardigan and driving gloves doesn't make you superior to the rest of us.
    Releasing strips commemorating a man whose opinion of the poor fell just short of suggesting they be put in camps would never be tolerated at ER.

And finally ... what exactly is 'a Hearts man' ... Its like you lot are living in a re run of Brideshead revisited or Chariots of fire. Do you know Farquhar? Oh yes he's a fine upstanding chap just as you would expect from a good Eaton and Oxford man. Hearts man

Anyway ... hope your pal has found his scarf
    This. Just in case they think we are going soft

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    Just disgusting to steal off your fellow fans
    Just disgusting to steal off of any cant, no?

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    I think that leaving prized possessions in an unguarded cloakroom was rather näive. I genuinely feel for the guy but his actions were ill advised given the somewhat dubious company he was in.
    In a nutshell.
    Going on a night out with a scarf covered in irreplaceable badges?

Speaking as a collector I find the man to be an attention seeking erse.