Thread: John Doolan

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar

John Doolan

I was at the Accrington Stanley match today and John is on their coaching staff. I managed to have a chat with him after the game and he told me loves Hibs. He was laughing as he remembered running towards the corner flag when the winning goal went in at the cup final. All in all he is a really nice guy and loved his time at us.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Good to hear

Quote Originally Posted by StevieT View Post
    I was at the Accrington Stanley match today and John is on their coaching staff. I managed to have a chat with him after the game and he told me loves Hibs. He was laughing as he remembered running towards the corner flag when the winning goal went in at the cup final. All in all he is a really nice guy and loved his time at us.
    Looking at promotion this year, and helped me win a small sum today.

Interestingly enough, I remember as a laddie the news programme on the tv advising that Accrington Stanley had gone bust and were withdrawing from the football league in the very early sixties.....first time I had ever heard of such a thing and left me perplexed!

I can’t quantify just how much I love John Doolan.

Would have loved him back at Easter Road I thought he was manager material too.

You could hear the genuine affection he has for Hibs on the Cup Final DVD's
    He's a class act

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    You could hear the genuine affection he has for Hibs on the Cup Final DVD's
    He's a class act
    A class act indeed. Hibs hero

The DVD really showed what he's all about, great guy. Does anyone know if he's been back for a game?

Quote Originally Posted by yonder1875 View Post
    The DVD really showed what he's all about, great guy. Does anyone know if he's been back for a game?
    He said he was coming back for a supporters do

Absolutely! I didn't think I could love the 2016 squad anymore until you hear some of the personal stories. Conrad is one of them but the John Doolan story is something else!

With the feel good factor at an all time high we should be getting him on the pitch at half time! Along with everyone else that day, a hibs legend

I well up every time I watch the clip of him making a B-line for the players after the winner

what a load of sentimental garbage

Quote Originally Posted by crash View Post

Why are you a Hibs fan?

Sentimentalism has carried us through a lot of dark times.

Or...cup winning hero?

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Sentimental maybe , garbage,have a word!

I was living in New Zealand in 2016, and flew home for the cup final to surprise my dad. Headed up to Edinburgh for the parade the following day, got pretty inebriated and stayed at a friend’s that night.

The next morning, I was walking past the stadium very worse for wear, jet lagged and still in last nights Hibs shirt, when a man with a scouse accent approached me on the street. “Did you enjoy the game?” He asked. Hearing the scouse accent, I assumed he only had a passing interest and so I rambled on about how I flew from the other side world to see the game etc etc. Didn’t ask him if he’d watched the game or been to the parade and I’m now glad I didn’t as it could have been rather embarrassing! Was only when I saw the newspapers after that I realised that scouse man had been on the bloody bus. I didn’t even recognise our own assistant manager. Sorry John!
    Last edited by Austinho; 18-03-2018 at 09:13 PM.

What a weird post.
    A wee feel-good story from a fellow fan about a man who played a central part in what for pretty much everyone on here was the best footballing day of their lives.
    If you can't feel sentimental about that, you're probably best just saying nothing at all rather than decrying it is garbage.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    You love posting pish don't you? You seem to hate Hibs though.

I know some folk will find this strange, and i'm not trying to belittle Alan Stubbs, but i like John Doolan more than i do Stubbs.

I find Doolan gets us more than anyone who had probably never given us a second thought until coming to the club.

I think Doolan genuinely loves us now, and would come back in some capacity if asked.

Maybe he just comes over better than Stubbs, but i just have a real affection for this man, more than anyone else i can name.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    ltyf

The only thing that's garbage is your post

I know some folk will find this strange, and i'm not trying to belittle Alan Stubbs, but i like John Doolan more than i do Stubbs.

I find Doolan gets us more than anyone who had probably never given us a second thought until coming to the club.

I think Doolan genuinely loves us now, and would come back in some capacity if asked.

Maybe he just comes over better than Stubbs, but i just have a real affection for this man, more than anyone else i can name.
    I’m in this boat too. He’s gold.

You’ll be the same about your management team when yous win the league cup.If it ever happens.

Difficult to see what would be left in either football fandom or indeed football itself, if you removed ‘sentimental garbage’. It’s not a rational pursuit and we shouldn’t be deluded enough to assume so.

You don't mean that do you?

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5

My you're in a bad mood. Your scarf wasn't stolen recently by any chance?

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Him and Stubbsy were speakers at the pre match lunch at the Bonnyrigg Rose game.

I finally got to see the Cup that day.

Quote Originally Posted by StevieT View Post
    It's a great day oot at the WHAM Stadium .. I even saw Chris Dagnall score a goal!

Thrilling Stanley fitback last April... 0-2 to 3-2 with Crewe having a 92nd minute equaliser ruled out for offside!

Were you in hospitality in the big Portakabin ST?

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby

You’re maybe right about him coming over better. I spoke to stubbs a couple of times and he doesn’t speak as passionately as JD. But JD certainly “got” Hibs. Always remember standing outside the Murrayfield hotel on the day of the 2-2 cup game. The team bus went past and JD was right up the front waving to fans and beating his fist off his chest. He was ready that day certainly!

Quote Originally Posted by IWasThere2016 View Post
    It's a great day oot at the WHAM Stadium .. I even saw Chris Dagnall score a goal!

Thrilling Stanley fitback last April... 0-2 to 3-2 with Crewe having a 92nd minute equaliser ruled out for offside!

Were you in hospitality in the big Portakabin ST?
    The hospitality was in the sportsman’s bar. Stepped straight out in to our seats . Was blood freezing mind, coldest I’ve ever been at a game. Was good value for money with pints £1 after the game because Stanley won.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    My you're in a bad mood. Your scarf wasn't stolen recently by any chance?
    Crash - How appropriate!!