Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbie02 View Post
    Some of Irvine's one's are a wee bit obscure and take a wee bit of thinking about. Like Sick Boy referring to a bit of Manto. Took me a few seconds then I laughed out loud!
    The updated version is "Shereen" after Ms Nanjiani, the newsreader.

We have our own rythming slanf in this hoose. Water ae Leith- teeth, Mike Sked- bed, Jake Mc Gurk- work, nae Tony Stanger- nae danger.

A Lemon is definitely a Scottish word.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

We have our own rythming slanf in this hoose. Water ae Leith- teeth, Mike Sked- bed, Jake Mc Gurk- work, nae Tony Stanger- nae danger.
    Nae Stewart Granger is that right

Feeling rough today. Was on the cyril last night.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    Interesting:

Jim Delahunt
    Brown Breed
    Jack & Danny

For ages I’ve used I’m away for a Jimmy or a Jarko depending on my mood 😄

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    Ouch!!! Duke of Argyle's...

Believe that Cabbage 'n' Ribs is relatively recent.

Way back when used to be Pen Nibs (or, when we lost, Damp Squibs).

Quote Originally Posted by NthCarolinaHibs View Post
    Ouch!!! Duke of Argyle's...
    Maitland Niles, Nobby Stiles, Tate n Lyles, Harry Styles (courtesy of Viz comic)

I'm going radio rental (not really) as rhyming slang has been around in Scotland for donkey's.

Some from both north and south of the border and they're fairly self-explanatory:

Lilian Gish, charter flight, corned beef, Berwick (upon Tweed), bran scone (I'll gie you a bran), apples and pears, haw maws, titfer (tit for tat), Barnet (Fair), plates of meat, Desmond Hacket, Kerry Packer(ed), loop-de-loop (soup), Donald (Ducked) etc, etc.

Some of Irvine's one's are a wee bit obscure and take a wee bit of thinking about. Like Sick Boy referring to a bit of Manto. Took me a few seconds then I laughed out loud!
    Some of them are very contrived and others change with time. You'd have to be of a certain age to pick up the Manto reference but everyone knows Shereen.

As an aside, I used to work with a guy many years ago who didn't quite get the hang of rhyming slang and would always get the second word wrong, Septic Yank and Apple and Stairs. He never quite understood why folk laughed at him.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    I'm going radio rental (not really) as rhyming slang has been around in Scotland for donkey's.

Some from both north and south of the border and they're fairly self-explanatory:

Lilian Gish, charter flight, corned beef, Berwick (upon Tweed), bran scone (I'll gie you a bran), apples and pears, haw maws, titfer (tit for tat), Barnet (Fair), plates of meat, Desmond Hacket, Kerry Packer(ed), loop-de-loop (soup), Donald (Ducked) etc, etc.
    Eartha Kitt, Tom Kite, Dukes (Duke of Argylls), J Arthur Rank, Jew's wish, Jimmy Riddle, Jumpin' Jack Flash.

(All related to the body)

'mon Lennon's Peacocks!

There was a wee family business contractor that did quite a bit of work with us. The boss was a great gut but he always talked round in circles. Any conversation with him would be full of pauses as you worked out what he was on about.

His nephew Des, the driver-labourer, was always referred to as either Tutu or the Transport Manager.

He once explained that the foundations for an extension were taking longer than expected as the ground was full of "big Johns". Big John = John Wayne = stane = stone.

There are loads more, but years of counselling have helped me forget them.

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Some of them are very contrived and others change with time. You'd have to be of a certain age to pick up the Manto reference but everyone knows Shereen.

As an aside, I used to work with a guy many years ago who didn't quite get the hang of rhyming slang and would always get the second word wrong, Septic Yank and Apple and Stairs. He never quite understood why folk laughed at him.
    I never got Shereen.... Thanks for helping out there, but I'm none the wiser who she is. I do get the meaning though.

STV presenter

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    First saw mantovani used in Hibs Monthly. Seem to recall it was in connection with Geebes who was allegedly chasing it..

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    First saw mantovani used in Hibs Monthly. Seem to recall it was in connection with Geebes who was allegedly chasing it..

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
    Irvine was a regular contributor to Hibs Monthly, under the name of Octopus.

@hibs.net private member hibbybob's Avatar
    Not "rhyming" slang but an old friend of mine used to often comment that "it's a bit Pearl Harbour today"
    I eventually bit and asked what it meant.
    It's chilly - "there's a nip in the air"

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybob View Post
    Not "rhyming" slang but an old friend of mine used to often comment that "it's a bit Pearl Harbour today"
    Years (and years) ago when I was but a naive lassie, I worked beside someone called Harry. When asked if he would be doing anything that evening after work, he would invariably respond, "Aye, I'm off tae the Battle Cruiser".

For years, I thought there was a pub somewhere in Edinburgh called the Battle Cruiser until one day enlightenment dawned.

@hibs.net private member hibbie02's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibbybob View Post
    Haha! When it's cold, I point to the sky and ask: "Is that a wee Japanese pilot?". Not sure how PC that is nowadays though...

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    A pedant says.With cockney slang you don’t use the rhyming word.

e.g.

He’s my china(plate). Mate

I’ll take a butchers (hook). Look.

I’m going up the apples(and pears). Stairs.

He’s a real berk(Berkeley Hunt). Nasty fellow.

More useless info supplied by demand.
    Might take you up on. First I need to get on the Dog and Bone and order a Ruby in time for the footie tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

Remember a friend always talking about going out at the weekend to get a bit of Shereen.

Haha! When it's cold, I point to the sky and ask: "Is that a wee Japanese pilot?". Not sure how PC that is nowadays though...
    Yeah it’s racist.

Cuff linky for chinese takeaway. Jews wish for urination. Tom Kite for defecation. Hamilton Accies, local shop, Colin Nish for not very good at something. Hee-haws, testicles, thruoenny bits, breasts, Donald ducked, worse for wear........

Some of these are no longer used in the Superfuury household.

Quote Originally Posted by PapillonVert View Post
    Believe that Cabbage 'n' Ribs is relatively recent.

Way back when used to be Pen Nibs (or, when we lost, Damp Squibs).
    Yup - remember that too. Wonder if the Cabbage and Ribs comes from the pub - not the other way round?

Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    Yup - remember that too. Wonder if the Cabbage and Ribs comes from the pub - not the other way round?
    Definitely the other way round.

I can remember folk shouting "come on the cabbage" well before the pub, and well before I knew wtf it meant.

Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    No, the pub was named after Hibs' nickname.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    In the same vein, were we called "The Cabbage" before and the C&R was an extension of it or was The Cabbage an abbreviation?

About 15(?) years ago, I remember a billboard ad on the Albion Road/Easter Road junction (I think for the Co-op) that said "The Second Best Place To Go And See The Cabbage" (or something like that). The best strategically located billposter EVER.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    In the same vein, were we called "The Cabbage" before and the C&R was an extension of it or was The Cabbage an abbreviation?

About 15(?) years ago, I remember a billboard ad on the Albion Road/Easter Road junction (I think for the Co-op) that said "The Second Best Place To Go And See The Cabbage" (or something like that). The best strategically located billposter EVER.
    My experience was that I first heard us called the cabbage(s) by Hearts supporting mates, though it was definitely an abbreviation of cabbage and ribs. The first time I heard " 'mon the cabbage" at ER was probably in the late 80s.