@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    https://www.scotsman.com/sport/footb...mpression=true
    Interesting read.

It was indeed. I was at school with his neighbour and it seemed strange that this 'superstar' lived in a semi in Logie Green.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Never really achieved his potential. Left ER too soon & got caught up in the swinging London hype.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Never really achieved his potential. Left ER too soon & got caught up in the swinging London hype.
    We played him at I pox with no. 9 on his back and Joe McBride no. 7. Peter ran them ragged and we won 3_1. By all accounts it should have been 6. Hibs in those days always sold our best players. Was crestfallen when he left but not in tears like I was when Colin Stein was sold.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    We played him at I pox with no. 9 on his back and Joe McBride no. 7. Peter ran them ragged and we won 3_1. By all accounts it should have been 6. Hibs in those days always sold our best players. Was crestfallen when he left but not in tears like I was when Colin Stein was sold.
    You and me both. I think the Colin Stein departure softened us up for the future departures. Never felt that bad again until Jimmy O’Rourke was sold to make too for the wee fat bloke

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    I bet he had his fair share of fun along the way though.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I bet he had his fair share of fun along the way though.
    Aye, a-la Bestie's quote re. wine, women & song and wasting the rest of it.

Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Aye, a-la Bestie's quote re. wine, women & song and wasting the rest of it.
    True, but he also had a paltry medal haul for a player of his ability.

Depends on priorities i suppose, but if i had the talent he had, id like to think my legacy would be what i did and won at fitba - not how i wasted my career, ****ged some women and abused a donated liver.

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SouthsideHarp_Bhoy View Post

Depends on priorities i suppose, but if i had the talent he had, id like to think my legacy would be what i did and won at fitba - not how i wasted my career, ****ged some women and abused a donated liver.
    The answers right there. Each to his own.

Quote Originally Posted by southsider View Post
    I was there that day. Brilliant day as well.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    I first seen him play when he featured in a Hibs Colts team which played in the East of Scotland League. Even in these very early days of his career it was obvious he was destined for great things.

I knew Willie Macfarlane and met him on the day Marinello was sold.He was jubilant and said he’d just taken Arsenal for £100000 and that Hibs had seen the best of him.Willie was a good manager and a good judge of players but wouldn’t kowtow t Tom Hart.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    I was there that day. Brilliant day as well.
    Was there to , we were superb that day especially marinello .

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    I knew Willie Macfarlane and met him on the day Marinello was sold.He was jubilant and said he’d just taken Arsenal for £100000 and that Hibs had seen the best of him.Willie was a good manager and a good judge of players but wouldn’t kowtow t Tom Hart.
    Trouble was with Peter, he couldn't cross a ball. Amazing dribbler though and my boyhood hero.

Played with Peter at junior level but was done, but a sound guy

He used to play three-and-in with his mates in the park on his days off. You would be unlikely to see such a thing now.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    He used to play three-and-in with his mates in the park on his days off. You would be unlikely to see such a thing now.
    Score 3 and you didn’t have to be golie?

He was dubbed the Scottish George Best when he left, but he never reached the true potential he should have.
    Still he was a great player to watch, and many a Scottish defender were glad to see him leave!!!

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    It was not unusual to see Gordon McQueen on his way back from visiting his parents, playing in a 20-a-side game at Kilbirnie public park with good suit jacket chucked on the ground, suitcase dumped before heading for the train back south.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbykk View Post
    It was not unusual to see Gordon McQueen on his way back from visiting his parents, playing in a 20-a-side game at Kilbirnie public park with good suit jacket chucked on the ground, suitcase dumped before heading for the train back south.
    I love stories like that. What was it Bill Shankly said? Natural enthusiasm - you're nothing without it!

Quote Originally Posted by SouthsideHarp_Bhoy View Post

Having read his book he's hard to like and it maybe all came too fast for him but proves talent alone isn't enough

Quote Originally Posted by pacorosssco View Post
    Having read his book he's hard to like and it maybe all came too fast for him but proves talent alone isn't enough
    Some great players with few medals also. Not always reflective of career. Shearer. Lineker .