Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Not sure I would call him a poster - all he does is post those wee thingeys when Deeks or Leigh is mentioned........

Deeks is coming back?!

@hibs.net private member therealgavmac's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenLake View Post
    I was at the first tie in the 1986 FA Cup against Man Utd where it ended in a 1.1 draw. West Ham won 2 nil at Old Trafford in the replay.

I lived in Clerkenwell then and got on the tube at the Barbican to go to the games. We stood behind one of the goals with the main stand on our right.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...ke-header.html

You are a celebrity!
    Now if the tunnel side (West Side) was on your right, you were in the North Bank, however if the East Side (Chicken Run) was on your right, you were in the South Bank. The South Bank was the home of all the skinheads, and a pretty racist atmosphere in there!!

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Now you're talking. Flares n Slippers, I'm Not A Fool or Bad Man on the pre match PA would get the natives in a robust frame. Oi! Oi!
    "I wanna be famous like I was yesterday...were playing Ammersmith tonight..Iggy Pop(e) supporting" 😎😎😎

Odd thread this. I too have a soft spot for the Hammers (family are ST holders down there) - thought I was the only one given claret is almost the colour of sin.

Always felt we were very similar in that the big boys would come and cherry pick our great young talent coming through the youth system before they hit their peak - West Ham produced some great players at the tail end of the 90’s and who knows what they could have achieved had they been able to build on them but like us they’re left wondering.

@hibs.net private member Green Reaper's Avatar
    Followed the Hammers home and away during the Billy Bonds era, fans were fantastic with constant singing. Used to go South Bank at home. Mental in there by the segregation fence and remember opposition players being wary of not getting too close to the Chicken Run. Some of my best days watching fitba, besides Hibs obviously

I thought it was only myself, haymaker and cat23, good to see there are plenty others.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I thought it was only myself, haymaker and cat23, good to see there are plenty others.
    Yeah but I'm famous Hutchy.

Quote Originally Posted by El Gubbz View Post
    Odd thread this. I too have a soft spot for the Hammers (family are ST holders down there) - thought I was the only one given claret is almost the colour of sin.

Always felt we were very similar in that the big boys would come and cherry pick our great young talent coming through the youth system before they hit their peak - West Ham produced some great players at the tail end of the 90’s and who knows what they could have achieved had they been able to build on them but like us they’re left wondering.
    No way is claret close to the bloodied turd mixture that is maroon.

Always felt West Ham are similar to Hibs in that they have been on the verge of greatness but are never able to get over the line. Great moments in the cups but not able to sustain a league campaign.

ST at ER and Stratford Athletics Field.

Ive been to watch West ham. But come on, nothing compares to the cabbage.

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    I went to one game at the old Boleyn Ground. Good atmosphere.

West Ham have a lot in common with our Gorgie friends.

West Ham won the world cup.

Hearts won the First World War.

Neither given over to exaggeration.

Aye right!!!

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Famous Fiver View Post
    West Ham have a lot in common with our Gorgie friends.

West Ham won the world cup.

Hearts won the First World War.

Neither given over to exaggeration.

Aye right!!!
    Hibs won the World Championship... no exaggeration needed

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1887_W...hip_(football)

Quote Originally Posted by Cabbage East View Post
    There are bigger grounds, there are better grounds; I've been to a few. But see the feeling when you turn intae Albion Road and see the stands and floodlights begin to appear? Ye cannae whack it!

Promising Youngster Fambo Jannies's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Me too. Some good times at the old Upton Park when I lived in London. I always thought our supports were similar in passion and fatalism. Must be an east end thing. COYI!