Oli Shaw - Too sensible to be a Hibs striker?

I see Oli's banged home 2 already for the dev side and I've been very impressed with him so far this season after thinking he was a long way off back in the summer. He doesn't look the strongest but even his hold up play is surprisingly good.

Like most other strikers that have rode the conveyor belt of success from the youth teams he has that eye for goal.

What Shaw doesn't seem to have is that bit of eccentricity in him, a touch of the or the just waiting to .

Is this a prerequisite of Hibs developed strikers to be good? Fletcher is arguably the exception but he's not exactly lacked controversy over his career and I doubt he'd be many's first pick on University Challenge.

G'aun yersel Oli, either break the trend or show us yer glaikit side.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    his strength will come over time. I remember the likes of Brown, Hanlon Riordan etc coming through and they always look like kids to start of with, If he keeps a level head and works hard he could go far.

He’s been a class above in this game anyway.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Dan Sarf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    his strength will come over time. I remember the likes of Brown, Hanlon Riordan etc coming through and they always look like kids to start of with, If he keeps a level head and works hard he could go far.
    I remember Deek claimed that, to help build him up, the club had put him on a diet of "chicken and meat."

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Sarf View Post
    I remember Deek claimed that, to help build him up, the club had put him on a diet of "chicken and meat."
    Not the strangest of statements tbh, as a vegetarian I have been asked, "so you don't eat meat, but you'll take some chicken yeah?", I was also asked in a sandwich shop if I would like ham as it is not really meat is it

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by vince1973 View Post
    Not the strangest of statements tbh, as a vegetarian I have been asked, "so you don't eat meat, but you'll take some chicken yeah?", I was also asked in a sandwich shop if I would like ham as it is not really meat is it
    A pertinent question with a lot of ham that's offered for sale.

He reminds me of Tommy Coyne (a player I always rated and would have loved to have seen play for Hibs).

Excellent with his back to goal, good touch, intelligent with the positioning of his body to make up for not being the biggest or strongest. Quick enough, and a good finisher when the chances come along too.

Good young player.

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    A pertinent question with a lot of ham that's offered for sale.
    Yeah, I suspect the ham/cold meat with the teddy's face on it contains very little pig (I hope others have seen this product and it's not just my sensitivity towards animals making me hallucinate animal faces onto cold meat products )

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Yeah, I suspect the ham/cold meat with the teddy's face on it contains very little pig (I hope others have seen this product and it's not just my sensitivity towards animals making me hallucinate animal faces onto cold meat products )

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    It's called "pressed ham billy" lol

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    It's cut from the north end of the pig.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    I’m not buying the lack of strength angle. He had Berra on his erse quite robustly in the last Derby.

Alan Gordon reincarnated ....... or Oli Shaw original. Either way he has huge potential

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Alan Gordon reincarnated ....... or Oli Shaw original. Either way he has huge potential
    Aye but are his brains in his heid or his feet

Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    It's called "pressed ham billy" lol
    I've also seen it called 'Billy sausage' which, quite frankly, is something that no one would ever want to eat.