Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Attendances

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbob07 View Post
    Play summer football .Simple bigger crowds,bigger money from T.V when no EPL games scheduled

Except no evidence any of those things would happen. If they did, we'd all be crowded round the telly watching big crowds in the Irish league every summer.

19,551 at ER today - what's our average now?

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    The yams spell at Murrayfield keeping them above us for now.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by theonlywayisup View Post
    19,551 at ER today - what's our average now?
    18,005 average after 12 home games now.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Victor Park View Post
    To put that into some sort of context Im 54 next week (young 54 obviously) and 18000 represents the highest average attendance in my whole life. I believe currently the highest average since 57/58.

That looks good

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    Would the argument not be that the likes of Dundee United, Dunfermline, St. Mirren and Falkirk (all with decent averages in the Championship) would get bigger crowds due to matches with us, Hearts, Aberdeen, Celtic and Rangers? Even the likes of Morton would have bigger attendances, given the amount of Hun and Tic fans going to Cappielow when playing there, and we always take a good away support to Greenock. St.Johnstone continue to baffle, mind - decent city, and a team who have punched above their weight for years, but shan turnouts at home gemmes.
    As Stuart Cosgrove is always quick to point out, St Johnstone’s attendances as a percentage of the population of Perth are a lot better than most city teams in the country - Edinburgh included.

However, they are managing it, they are doing so without carrying any debt and living within their means - good luck to them, except when they play us

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Makes you wonder what these figures would do with respect to invites to join the whispered about Atlantic League. Top 5 Scottish teams would be amongst the best supported from the half dozen countries being mooted.
    Abslout Hibs Celts and Huns in Atlantic First Division, Hearts and Dons in 2nd

Fifth highest in the U.K yesterday according to Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Next season will be a good one for comparisons.

Both clubs will have settled teams and managers and there will be no excuses about pitches or stadiums or off field stuff.

A strong finish to the season and a couple of quality signings could see us beat their average next year.

It might kill them as a club?!
    I hope you are correct about Hibs having a settled team but I think we could be watching a completely different set of players after the summer transfers. Really hope I’m wrong .

Getting exited as to who has the biggest average attendance is very "yammish". I personally couldn't care less. The important thing is that we have proved that with a little success on the field the fan base is there. Hopefully we can sustain it.

Quote Originally Posted by Criswell View Post
    Getting exited as to who has the biggest average attendance is very "yammish". I personally couldn't care less. The important thing is that we have proved that with a little success on the field the fan base is there. Hopefully we can sustain it.
    Absolutely mate ...... It's looking like they are about to wish they had never started it

Quote Originally Posted by jimbob07 View Post
    Play summer football .Simple bigger crowds,bigger money from T.V when no EPL games scheduled
    Bigger crowds?

What about those who go on Holiday in June and/or July? I would certainly cancel my season ticket if the SPFL changed to a summer season.

Also the Christmas and New Year fixtures would be gone. Really smart move that!

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    Bigger crowds?

What about those who go on Holiday in June and/or July? I would certainly cancel my season ticket if the SPFL changed to a summer season.

Also the Christmas and New Year fixtures would be gone. Really smart move that!
    You've nae imagination mate ..... we change the new year derby to the 'summer solstice' derby .... kick off at 5am as the sun rises between the south and east gap with a couple of Druids blessing the ball like at Stonehenge .... as the crowd who have followed the new tradition of staying up all night getting pissed are whipped into a frenzy. I can see it working

attendances

Hibs are the only team outwith the ugly sisters to have had an average crowd of over 30000.It was in season 1951/52 when we averaged 30700.Hearts biggest average was 3 years earlier at 28195.

Quote Originally Posted by chinny baxter View Post
    Hibs are the only team outwith the ugly sisters to have had an average crowd of over 30000.It was in season 1951/52 when we averaged 30700.Hearts biggest average was 3 years earlier at 28195.
    You must be mistaken. We're the wee team don't forget it

They've had more away fans, we've had more home fans.

Screenshot_20180221-212512.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by Callyballybe View Post
    Another thing worthy of highlighting,

Since moving back to the PBS they've had three 'opportunities' to hit the 20,000 attendance mark with a home game against Celtic, and two home games against us - not one of those fixtures managed it.

We've had Celtic, Rangers and Hearts each at home once this season. All three games where over 20,000. More over, Celtic and Rangers were within one week of each other, that's impressive by anyone's standards in Scottish football (outside Old Firm.)
    Err Hearts had ZERO opportunities to hit 20,000 as their stadium doesn't hold that many.

Wee team, wee stadium.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    There’s an equivalent thread on jkb about this.

Apparently we only have decent crowds this season because.....

We give away thousands of free tickets to kids
    Loads of us buy concession tickets that we’re not entitled to
    We report tickets sold whereas they report bums on seats
    etc etc

They hate it. The amount of straw clutching is incredible. They literally just make things up, post them online and everyone else nods in agreement. It really is bizarre behaviour from them.

Of course if anyone dares suggest that our crowds are good they are accused, again, of being vermin ****.

Similarly, on another thread they claim that Farmer gets £500k every time we sell a player for a decent amount! Where do they get it from?

I think they’re seething.

There’s an equivalent thread on jkb about this.

Apparently we only have decent crowds this season because.....

We give away thousands of free tickets to kids
    Loads of us buy concession tickets that we’re not entitled to
    We report tickets sold whereas they report bums on seats
    etc etc

They hate it. The amount of straw clutching is incredible. They literally just make things up, post them online and everyone else nods in agreement. It really is bizarre behaviour from them.

Of course if anyone dares suggest that our crowds are good they are accused, again, of being vermin ****.

Similarly, on another thread they claim that Farmer gets £500k every time we sell a player for a decent amount! Where do they get it from?

I think they’re seething.

They will see the progression we have had as a club on and off the park in the last 3 years when it was looking very bleak to be honest whilst they scraped out of admin after years over spending. They will see how this has happened and they could have stopped it somewhat and completely bottled it. That must reallyREALLY hurt them.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    The yams spell at Murrayfield keeping them above us for now.

Latest now - all teams having had 14 home games:

57,634 Celtic
    49,184 The Rangers
    18,438 Anti Football
    18,150 Hibernian
    15,768 Aberdeen

Hertz have Partick Thisle and Aberdeen at home
    Hibs have Partick Thistle and Hamilton at home

Hibs would need to have a just over 4,000 more fans attending the two games compared to the Hertz for Hibs to have a higher average attendance, if my maths are correct. It could easily happen in the Hertz are struggling to get 15,000 for both games and if we get above 17,000 in our two games.

@hibs.net private member renato's Avatar

57,634 Celtic
    49,184 The Rangers
    18,438 Anti Football
    18,150 Hibernian
    15,768 Aberdeen

Hibs would need to have a just over 4,000 more fans attending the two games compared to the Hertz for Hibs to have a higher average attendance, if my maths are correct. It could easily happen in the Hertz are struggling to get 15,000 for both games and if we get above 17,000 in our two games.
    Take out the huge sheep and sevco away supports they had at Murrayfield and their average drops quite a bit.

57,634 Celtic
    49,184 The Rangers
    18,438 Anti Football
    18,150 Hibernian
    15,768 Aberdeen

What's their average since going back to Tynecastle?

@hibs.net private member Jack Hackett's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    What's their average since going back to Tynecastle?
    A lot less than their official figures would have us believe for sure. A lack of away support and walk ups when they end up in the bottom 6 will bring their figures way down

Even if they finish top 6 (and I think they will unfortunately) their attendances will suffer big time

Their season is over and the fans are disenfranchised

On the attendance front, Hamilton V Motherwell (cup semi finalists), a Lanarkshire Derby only has 4,000 at the game.
    How can they even survive on this, last week the Yams filled the away end with 4,500 and lost!!!!
    Scottish football needs to have a real good look at regionalising and maybe even amalgamating teams (Airdrie, Motherwell and Hamilton) as you can throw a blanket over how close they are to each other, plus they are far to near Glasgow!
    Its the same in the Falkirk area, Fife is the same, too many clubs for too little population?

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    On the attendance front, Hamilton V Motherwell (cup semi finalists), a Lanarkshire Derby only has 4,000 at the game.
    How can they even survive on this, last week the Yams filled the away end with 4,500 and lost!!!!
    Scottish football needs to have a real good look at regionalising and maybe even amalgamating teams (Airdrie, Motherwell and Hamilton) as you can throw a blanket over how close they are to each other, plus they are far to near Glasgow!
    Its the same in the Falkirk area, Fife is the same, too many clubs for too little population?
    So you are suggesting that we close down clubs and then start a new one with no history, no support and no stadium, all the clubs you mention punch well above their weight. They deserve our respect.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    It worked for ICT despite everyone at the time from the two previous clubs vowing not to support them.

It’s a sensible but sensitive option.

Maybe not Motherwell, but certainly E Fife, Stirling Albion Cowdenbeath etc.

Check out that chart that gave the average attendances. To be in the professional set up it should a min of 1000 or something.

It’s ridiculous that a club that averages 300 fans has any say whatsoever in the running of our professional game.

I know it’s not popular but it should at least be considered. These clubs offer nothing to the game and simply being called ‘’a good community club’ just doesn’t cut it.

What does that even mean? Somewhere to have a coffee morning now and again?!

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    What a ridiculous thing to say.

How would you feel as a fan of Hamilton or Motherwell, who goes every week to watch their team, only to be told that their team didn't attract enough supporters and they had to shut down and merge with other local teams? These teams have history going back well over 100 years and are important to the local communities that they come from. The fact that they don't have huge supports is unfortunate but that's not an argument to shut them down.

Even if you did shut them down and merge with other clubs, who's going to support the new club? You can bet your bottom dollar that the people who followed their own club for decades wouldn't give some amalgamated team the time of day.

Wallace Mercer would be proud of your suggestion.

It worked for ICT despite everyone at the time from the two previous clubs vowing not to support them.

It’s a sensible but sensitive option.

Maybe not Motherwell, but certainly E Fife, Stirling Albion Cowdenbeath etc.

Check out that chart that gave the average attendances. To be in the professional set up it should a min of 1000 or something.

It’s ridiculous that a club that averages 300 fans has any say whatsoever in the running of our professional game.

I know it’s not popular but it should at least be considered. These clubs offer nothing to the game and simply being called ‘’a good community club’ just doesn’t cut it.

What does that even mean? Somewhere to have a coffee morning now and again?!
    Why don’t we ‘amalgamate’ with hearts to try and break the Glasgow duopoly? ****ing ludicrous suggestion. Clubs with many years of history regardless of how many people follow them. Cowdenbeath joining with East fife won’t make our game any better than it is, apart from give us far less teams and chasing fans away.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by renato View Post
    Take out the huge sheep and sevco away supports they had at Murrayfield and their average drops quite a bit.
    They sold 14k and 7k respectively tickets to the Huns and the sheep. Even allowing for the maximum those teams could have had for Tynie being 7k it means an increase of 14k. Knock that off as an average it works out at 1k per game.