Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    The less said about this the better

More to the point ... I remember that from the time, like all Scots I like to see our sportspeople do well, even if they are representing a made up country I want to see dissolved ASAP. Imagine then having my unconditional support which even applies to folk I know are Yams or Currant Buns rammed down my throat by having one of them reference my worst day as a fitba fan ..... making her the only Scottish sportsperson in any sport at any time of my life I have actually taken pleasure in seeing get beaten.

Other candidates for their celebrity fans list are of course Edinburgh city council and the Edinburgh branch of the H&SE

Quote Originally Posted by Aldoo View Post
    I remember getting wound up by this, at the time she was meant to be representing the whole of Scotland and she pulled this crap.
    Not worth it, that wee gesture was probably actually a career highlight.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Dean Owens, singer. Only Jambo in Leith that I knew growing up in the 70's. Couldnae have been an easy life given how Tom Kite they were.

Ken Buchanan is 100% a jambo. Used to take his dad, a Hibby, to ER.

The jambo version of the proclaimers, the purloiners
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by southfieldhibby View Post

Yeah he's a Jambo unfortunately. A special fighter was Ken. Arguably the best boxing technician Britian has ever produced. He was a sublime boxer and as tough as nails.

Hertz celebrity fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Anti-hoofbaw View Post
    Yeah he's a Jambo unfortunately. A special fighter was Ken. Arguably the best boxing technician Britian has ever produced. He was a sublime boxer and as tough as nails.
    I’m too young, didn’t have the pleasure. I speak to him quite regularly, he’s quite engaging when sober, and totally boring when pished, like us all I suppose

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Colin Chisholm..... Hi Bee Hibernian Hero

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    I’m too young, didn’t have the pleasure. I speak to him quite regularly, he’s quite engaging when sober, and totally boring when pished, like us all I suppose
    I though Ken Buchanan was in care / hospitalised?

To be fair to her she had to be a Hertz ****. She looks so much like one.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    I’ve heard the Tam O Shanter called many things, but never a hospital!

He stays in the same sheltered accommodation as my mother in Leith. He is looking well just now.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    The Hastings bros
    Not both - Scott is a Hibee.

Quote Originally Posted by BurghHibby View Post
    Ken’s a Hibs fan, seen many a time at ER with his dad Tommy a season ticket holder
    Aye a real Leith ballot.

Used to run into him in Leith Walk a lot when he was drunk. Always asked me for a a fight. Always replied I don't want to spoil my no losses record against you. So no.

They can have whoever they like but they’ll never have the reputation, the place in popular culture and the stylishness that we have.

Maybe that’s why they’re so bitter.

Quote Originally Posted by Hillsidehibby View Post
    He stays in the same sheltered accommodation as my mother in Leith. He is looking well just now.
    Ah, understood. And that's good news. hope your mum is well too.
    I remember when I was very young, Hibs had KB on the pitch at half time with his belt. Might've been Falkirk in a League cup tie. He was very highly thought of by my old man and those around me. The Ken Buchanan Hotel on the Links was also a place of some repute.

@hibs.net private member allmodcons's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    More to the point ... I remember that from the time, like all Scots I like to see our sportspeople do well, even if they are representing a made up country I want to see dissolved ASAP. Imagine then having my unconditional support which even applies to folk I know are Yams or Currant Buns rammed down my throat by having one of them reference my worst day as a fitba fan ..... making her the only Scottish sportsperson in any sport at any time of my life I have actually taken pleasure in seeing get beaten.

Other candidates for their celebrity fans list are of course Edinburgh city council and the Edinburgh branch of the H&SE
    Same here. Still can't understand why she felt the need to do that when competing for her country.

Completely lacking in class.

Ken is boxing royalty. He's very highly regarded in the boxing world. A Hall of Famer. One of the greatest British boxers of all time. A master technician. Tremendous fighting spirit. Iron Jaw. Ridiculous stamina. The only thing he didn't possess was punching power, but he wasn't feather fisted either. Most Scots dont realise how good he was which is a shame. It even got Mike Tyson raging when he fought in Scotland. Mike couldn't believe most of the country didn't know who he was.

His old man worked the Reception at the Dental Hospital on Dalkeith Rd I think. Not that Ken Buchanan ever knocked my teeth oot. That honour belonged to someone far less capable.

Ken is boxing royalty. He's very highly regarded in the boxing world. A Hall of Famer. One of the greatest British boxers of all time. A master technician. Tremendous fighting spirit. Iron Jaw. Ridiculous stamina. The only thing he didn't possess was punching power, but he wasn't feather fisted either. Most Scots dont realise how good he was which is a shame. It even got Mike Tyson raging when he fought in Scotland. Mike couldn't believe most of the country didn't know who he was.
    Ken was a world class boxer, right at the top of a division that had plenty good fighters in it. I loved watching him. Top Scottish sportsman no doubt about it.

Ah, understood. And that's good news. hope your mum is well too.
    I remember when I was very young, Hibs had KB on the pitch at half time with his belt. Might've been Falkirk in a League cup tie. He was very highly thought of by my old man and those around me. The Ken Buchanan Hotel on the Links was also a place of some repute.
    The hotel was on ferry road, now called victoria park hotel

My Auntie Barbara beat him up for bullying her pal when they were young kids growing up in Portobello.

Jo Brand took Hearts as her Scottish team after going to see them while see was appearing at the festival.
    Last edited by BS44; 11-02-2018 at 02:25 PM.

She looks like she's got her face on inside out

I think they also 'adopted' that Greg from Masterchef, for some reason....

Quote Originally Posted by Sexton View Post
    She looks like she's got her face on inside out
    Christopher Lee perhaps?

He regularly drinks in the central bar. Seen him last night there.

Quote Originally Posted by BS44 View Post
    My Auntie Barbara beat him up for bullying her pal when they were young kids growing up in Portobello.
    I don't think they include that in his win loss record :)

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Ken was a world class boxer, right at the top of a division that had plenty good fighters in it. I loved watching him. Top Scottish sportsman no doubt about it.

Well said and spot on

If Ken was competing in this era of boxing he'd be worth an absolute fortune.

Ken the elusive master.