First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar

Gordon 'Geebsie' Hunter Q and A

Gordon ‘Geebsie’ Hunter played more than 400 games for Hibs over a thirteen year period, helped win the Skol League Cup and appeared in two other finals.
    Gordon will be doing a Q and A at St. Patrick's Branch meeting on Thursday 15th February. If any .netter has a question that they would like to ask him I will do so.

http://www.stpats.club/category/news/

BIG G

Was the last 28 minutes of a certain game in 1994 as long for him as it was for me?

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Was the last 28 minutes of a certain game in 1994 as long for him as it was for me?
    Photo of Geebsie jumpin in the air in front o Hibs end in green & purple striped top as fans went mental was immense! Can I get a signed copy?

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Photo of Geebsie jumpin in the air in front o Hibs end in green & purple striped top as fans went mental was immense! Can I get a signed copy?
    Truly a magical moment, was behind the goals wi ma wee brother! Apparently in the tynecasle arms after the game which was heavin with hertz fans..........

the phone rings and the lassie behind the bar answered, not being football oriented.... Shouts the top of her voice..... "IS THERE A GORDON HUNTER IN THE BAR"..... Another magical moment 😀

He wisnae in a green and purple strip.
    Just the standard green and white.

Quote Originally Posted by vuefrom1875 View Post
    Truly a magical moment, was behind the goals wi ma wee brother! Apparently in the tynecasle arms after the game which was heavin with hertz fans..........

the phone rings and the lassie behind the bar answered, not being football oriented.... Shouts the top of her voice..... "IS THERE A GORDON HUNTER IN THE BAR"..... Another magical moment 😀
    Will mention that mate. Keep them coming folks.

BIG G

Hibs played in green & white the day he scored!

Will he marry my daughter?

Did he enjoy his time at Canberra Cosmos.....and does he still remember me!?

Will we get to hear or read the responses G? 1 or 2 of the nights that was not the case.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Very underrated player. Would have won a few caps if he played in Glasgow

How much did he enjoy playing right back?

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    He's one of my all-time favourite players. He was unlucky to be around when he was.

There was a good article the other day by Craig Paterson, who was talking about the players who were ahead of him in the pecking order for a Scotland cap when he played - the same could be said for Geebsie. Miller, McLeish, Hansen, Hegarty, Gough, Narey, Gillespie - we weren't exactly short of top centre-backs.

Gary Caldwell on the other hand has 55 caps.

I always thought we looked a different team when Hunter played. When he was fit he held the whole defensive structure (quite important under Alex Miller) together, when he was missing (which happened from time to time as he had a few injuries/ suspensions) we looked significantly weaker.

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    Good player personally didnt think he was anywhere near good enough for a cap though.

Does he still take well fired rolls and the Sunday Mail.

Quote Originally Posted by underscore View Post
    Does he still take well fired rolls and the Sunday Mail.
    Esso garage Cannonmills? Or what was Taylors
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    Esso garage Cannonmills? Or what was Taylors
    No i used to deliver his sunday rolls and papers when i was a boy and he still lived in Wallyford.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Good player personally didnt think he was anywhere near good enough for a cap though.
    Agree. Gordon was competitive ( to say the least) and always commited, but there was no way he had the skill on the ball to play internationally. He was up against some fine players, like McLeish, Gough, McLaren, the Giraffe necked one, Hendry, etc. Also, he wasn't the tallest, it probably helps being 6ft plus when playing centre half internationally ( unless you were particularly gifted).

I've got two questions:

Why were your parents so stingy with handing out sweets when we all went guising in Inchview as kids?

Any idea where Andy Bryson is these days? Not seen him since school.

Cheers, Keith.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Absolutely outstanding against the huns in the skol cup semi 1991.

Quote Originally Posted by Treadstone View Post
    Absolutely outstanding against the huns in the skol cup semi 1991.
    Him & Tam - what a performance!

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Could you ask him to pick a five a side team from his time playing with Hibs .
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Can he remember me nutmegging him after a stepover during a friendly between Wallyford and the Wimpeys in the early 80's?

Tell him to send my regards to his big sister Jeananne.

Regards

Paul U.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    I've got two questions:

Why were your parents so stingy with handing out sweets when we all went guising in Inchview as kids?

Any idea where Andy Bryson is these days? Not seen him since school.

Cheers, Keith.

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Hibs played in green & white the day he scored!
    Striped sleeves then? Stripes in my recollection for some reason.

I’ve pit photaes up already !

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    Will we get to hear or read the responses G? 1 or 2 of the nights that was not the case.
    Will do Viva. All questions from here and the Bounce are asked. Last two Q and A's were slightly different from past ones. No videos agreed, etc with Hibs as it was existing employees of theirs. Fair do's.

BIG G

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Can he remember me nutmegging him after a stepover during a friendly between Wallyford and the Wimpeys in the early 80's?

Tell him to send my regards to his big sister Jeananne.

Regards

Paul U.
    I stayed in the Wimpey's then. Delta Drive. Used to love the Sunday 40 a sides in the top park which lasted for hours.

BIG G

What did Alex Miller first say to you after busting the jinx?

Who did you most enjoy having and aerial joust against?

Skol cup Semi against that Rangers team the on to Dunfermline - were you and the players nervous. Iirc that stands were a little tense until we scored could the players sense that?