Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
    Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    I was spat upon by a big "bear" when I was 16, after we had beaten them. Lovely people they are.
    I got spat on by John McDonald as he was going up the tunnel after getting sent off at Easter Road. It's not just their fans that are vile.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I was gobbed on by one when I was about 15/16 as well. A right scrawny wee lad I was, and he was a "bear" in every sense.

To be honest, it looks like getting gobbed on by huns is part of our tradition and culture.

On a separate note, the night that Ivan Sproule scored his hat-trick at Ibrox I went to see Andrew Maxwell at the pleasance. He did his routine about being caught amongst Rangers fans after a game, and being gobbed on. It used to be on Youtube, but no longer is. No doubt he's had his windows panned and death threats for insulting the traditions of one of Scotland's finest establishments. One of my favourite ever bits of comedy though, he even brought his "Ireland" jacket out and put it on.
    I really like Andrew Maxwell and remember the bit he did about the Hibs Rangers match. Just tried to find it too but couldn't, think I've got an audio version of it somewhere. Did find a good 4 minute clip he does about Edinburgh/Leith Walk.

https://youtu.be/89nuVZEHVHE

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    not related to the spitting incident but does he have someone with him at each game?

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Now one of the is threatening him on Facebook and genuinely trying to pull the moral high ground about name calling. Really classy as always.

I was around 10 years old, and with a friend and we went to a Rangers game at Easter Road, having told our parents that we were going up town to buy records. We were set upon by a group of men in their 30’s and possibly even 40’s, who came off a Rangers supporters bus and saw our Hibs scarves. They spat, punched and kicked at us, calling us, predictiably, fienian *******s. Of course we had no knowledge of what this meant. The most disturbing thing was the attitude of the other Rangers supporters, who just laughed or egged on those strange, inadequate men whom I would now regard as cowards who were no better than paedophilles.

It took me a long time not to judge all Rangers supporters in the same way. The thing that I find really galling is that many of the sneering onlookers would probably normally be reasonable family men, who were poisoned by the bizarre and malignant culture of that club and the others who associate themselves with it.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    not related to the spitting incident but does he have someone with him at each game?
    Yeh he travels mainly himself but always has somone with him at the games.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    I really like Andrew Maxwell and remember the bit he did about the Hibs Rangers match. Just tried to find it too but couldn't, think I've got an audio version of it somewhere. Did find a good 4 minute clip he does about Edinburgh/Leith Walk.

https://youtu.be/89nuVZEHVHE
    I had been to Andrew Maxwell's show the week before Ivan's hat trick when he told that story about being caught amongst the Huns at ER. Seven days later, walking out of Ibrox at FT with the rest of the jubilant Hibbies I see the back of a green, white & gold 'Boston Fighting Irish' jacket right in front of me. Lo and behold, it was Andrew Maxwell. I tapped him on the shoulder and said "I see you've no learned yer lesson?". The boy's a radge.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibsEK View Post
    Yeh he travels mainly himself but always has somone with him at the games.
    ahh, at least he had someone with him, hate to think what would have happened had he been on his own

Blind Hibs Fan Spat On At Ibrox

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    I was around 10 years old, and with a friend and we went to a Rangers game at Easter Road, having told our parents that we were going up town to buy records. We were set upon by a group of men in their 30’s and possibly even 40’s, who came off a Rangers supporters bus and saw our Hibs scarves. They spat, punched and kicked at us, calling us, predictiably, fienian *******s. Of course we had no knowledge of what this meant. The most disturbing thing was the attitude of the other Rangers supporters, who just laughed or egged on those strange, inadequate men whom I would now regard as cowards who were no better than paedophilles.

It took me a long time not to judge all Rangers supporters in the same way. The thing that I find really galling is that many of the sneering onlookers would probably normally be reasonable family men, who were poisoned by the bizarre and malignant culture of that club and the others who associate themselves with it.
    I remember as a student standing outside ibrox with my hibs scarf waiting on a friend to arrive Was punched spat on and called a stupid catholic who couldn't count to ten
    I replied My Fathers a Mason and i be got a Degree but your wasting your time with that element of their support
    Another time me and my son and a friend were followed fora few miles by a group of Northern Irish speaking Rangers minded bigots They just kept saying We best you you Catholic *******s They even followed is in to a supermarket and made my son so nervous he dropped his bottle of drink and it smashed on the floor
    Am sure a lot of fans will have their own stories and in fifty years time it will still be going on
    I have no idea how you stamp this out But its never stopped me going to ibrox when i can get a ticket and thankfully i have seen many a win there

What amazes me is that they, at every opportunity, accuse other teams’ fans of victimisation and terrorising.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    What amazes me is that they, at every opportunity, accuse other teams’ fans of victimisation and terrorising.
    Delusional, in a bubble wrapped time warp
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    I remember as a student standing outside ibrox with my hibs scarf waiting on a friend to arrive Was punched spat on and called a stupid catholic who couldn't count to ten
    I replied My Fathers a Mason and i be got a Degree but your wasting your time with that element of their support
    Another time me and my son and a friend were followed fora few miles by a group of Northern Irish speaking Rangers minded bigots They just kept saying We best you you Catholic *******s They even followed is in to a supermarket and made my son so nervous he dropped his bottle of drink and it smashed on the floor
    Am sure a lot of fans will have their own stories and in fifty years time it will still be going on
    I have no idea how you stamp this out But its never stopped me going to ibrox when i can get a ticket and thankfully i have seen many a win there

It’s interesting to speculate how those guys (now old men) would see this incident now. I’m sure some would be unrepentant, thinking perhaps they had taught some kind of lesson to subhuman Catholic **** (both of whom were Christened CofS but allow them their delusions) while others have probably airbrushed this (and maybe other similar incidents) from their minds. I’m sure there must be a few, who is age and reflection, must feel regret and shame. But perhaps I’m doing them too much service. However, I believe that people are basically the same and become brutalized through their interactions and associations. I’ve watched a few folks, usually ETB era glory hunters who previously had no connection with Rangers, become ‘radicalized’ by sectarianism due to their involvement in ‘supporting’ this club.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    My first experience was when travelling with the St Giles branch back in the 70's. We'd stopped in a wee town on our way back from a game so to have a toilet break. All the young lads used the chance for a quick couple of pints and the bus was sat waiting for them with only a few women and old codgers left on the bus looking after us kids. 2 buses full of Huns pulled up next to us and then stormed the bus punching and spitting on everyone on board. They soon ****ed off though when the others returned to the bus. Absolute animals who have been conditioned to hate and despise everything that might be Catholic.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    It’s interesting to speculate how those guys (now old men) would see this incident now. I’m sure some would be unrepentant, thinking perhaps they had taught some kind of lesson to subhuman Catholic **** (both of whom were Christened CofS but allow them their delusions) while others have probably airbrushed this (and maybe other similar incidents) from their minds. I’m sure there must be a few, who is age and reflection, must feel regret and shame. But perhaps I’m doing them too much service. However, I believe that people are basically the same and become brutalized through their interactions and associations. I’ve watched a few folks, usually ETB era glory hunters who previously had no connection with Rangers, become ‘radicalized’ by sectarianism due to their involvement in ‘supporting’ this club.
    It happens a lot. It seems to be that for many people, when you choose that team you choose an entire outlook on life - you hate half of your country because of the church that they don't go to, you buy a set of political beliefs, you define everything you do through it.

To be fair, I've also known a few who have become totally turned off by it. I have a good mate who was an East coast Rangers fan who became a Rangers fan because he was given a Rangers top by a neighbour when he was a kid. He doesn't recognise the new club as being the same, and as a fairly left-leaning "Yes" voter found himself increasingly at odds with other Rangers fans over the past few years - he lost any real sense of belonging at Ibrox.

I don't think he's alone.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I got spat on by John McDonald as he was going up the tunnel after getting sent off at Easter Road. It's not just their fans that are vile.
    Vermin from top to bottom
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

When I was about 13, my friend and I were walking down ER before a game v them and as we passed Middletons, a charming, portly 'man' said to me "I would have sh***ed you but you're a fenian". Of course, I was absolutely devastated that by wearing a Hibs scarf, I had effectively ruled myself out of the experience of a lifetime with this cretin but I've had to live with the disappointment...

Of course, I am sure he would have seen the funny side of a comment like that if another vile creature had said that to his daughter/sister etc

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    When I was about 13, my friend and I were walking down ER before a game v them and as we passed Middletons, a charming, portly 'man' said to me "I would have sh***ed you but you're a fenian". Of course, I was absolutely devastated that by wearing a Hibs scarf, I had effectively ruled myself out of the experience of a lifetime with this cretin but I've had to live with the disappointment...

Of course, I am sure he would have seen the funny side of a comment like that if another vile creature had said that to his daughter/sister etc
    Don't be offended, Its nothing personal S, I heard one said the exact same thing to an Irish Setter.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Don't be offended, Its nothing personal S, I heard one said the exact same thing to an Irish Setter.

Nobody’s born a hateful sectarian bigot. These people are either indoctrinated from birth or they are cretins who happily adopt this hatred to make them feel part of the ‘loyalist/royalist’ community.
    Their enemy was chosen in the 17th Century but most of them can’t string two sentences together to explain why they hate cafflicks or for that matter, anything that’s coloured green! Shamefully, this bigotry enjoys a certain amount of support from the establishment. They need exposing and ridiculed at every opportunity. How much hate from within does it take to gob on a blind man? As a previous thread said... ‘**** of the earth!’

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    My first experience was when travelling with the St Giles branch back in the 70's. We'd stopped in a wee town on our way back from a game so to have a toilet break. All the young lads used the chance for a quick couple of pints and the bus was sat waiting for them with only a few women and old codgers left on the bus looking after us kids. 2 buses full of Huns pulled up next to us and then stormed the bus punching and spitting on everyone on board. They soon ****ed off though when the others returned to the bus. Absolute animals who have been conditioned to hate and despise everything that might be Catholic.
    Must've been out their minds taking any St Giles bus on.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    The Huns are a bit of an angry lot. I remember I came up for the Rangers game a few years ago. I got off the 26 at the top of London Road and there was a coach in front that the Huns were alighting from. I must have an unlikable appearance because when I walked past, some guy (who was about 5’2, clearly with a Napoleon complex) started going absolutely mental at me - spitting at (not on) me, calling me a fenian faggot (was wearing ripped skinny jeans to be fair), and doing that faux ‘I’m being held back’ attempt at getting to me. Was an absurd experience and I just had a laugh.

The fact that they have so many of this type of fan is what makes it such an immensely satisfying thing to **** them at Ibrox!

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post

The last time I was at Ibrox,and it will be the last time, a group of about five or six of them id guess in their 30s spent most of the game telling me what they were going to do to me after the game and laughing at each others comments.There was a policeman not five feet from me the whole time (he was covered in a cup of something that got thrown at their first goal) I asked him if i was going to get a police escort to my car and he just shrugged his shoulders. They didnt intimidate me,they were just ********s who made me want to vomit.

My first Ibrox visit was with the St. Giles branch bus too in '63. There were a few of us who had never been to Ibrox before and we were well warned by Bernie G. (bus convener) what to expect, but I was still shocked by the experience. As we stepped off the bus we were greeted by two guys, one of them pulled out a western-style Bowie knife with the invitation "Come on anybody, anybody." After the shock of that, we made made our way to the ground with our Hibs scarves pretty much hidden inside jackets. This was in the days before segregation and at h/t with the score at 5-0 in favour of the Huns, about 6 of us were standing in a wee huddle on the terracing, discussing how we were going to approach the 2nd half. I remember feeling someone tapping me on the back and heard the words "hey Jimmy!..." and when I turned around I was head butted in the face. Not a pleasant experience for a raw 16 year old which I've never forgotten.
    I did return to Ibrox after that but was always on guard and ready for anything. It's years now since I've gone to a game there, and at 70, it would need to be a crucial game to entice me back.

Quote Originally Posted by Mrs. S View Post
    The last time I was at Ibrox,and it will be the last time, a group of about five or six of them id guess in their 30s spent most of the game telling me what they were going to do to me after the game and laughing at each others comments.There was a policeman not five feet from me the whole time (he was covered in a cup of something that got thrown at their first goal) I asked him if i was going to get a police escort to my car and he just shrugged his shoulders. They didnt intimidate me,they were just ********s who made me want to vomit.
    Utter **** in a crowd. Not quite so brave one on one

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Many now saying it never happened on twitter. I’ve no idea myself, but apparently he was always posting some nasty stuff on his FB about The Rangers and made the story up! I’m sure if it did someone must have seen it and can back it up?

The Rangers fans are the lowest of the low and for me would do something like this, but seems he’s previous for lying.

Macar used to post on here, launched, if I remember correctly.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    Macar used to post on here, launched, if I remember correctly.
    The reason he was launched does him no favours either.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Many now saying it never happened on twitter. I’ve no idea myself, but apparently he was always posting some nasty stuff on his FB about The Rangers and made the story up! I’m sure if it did someone must have seen it and can back it up?

The Rangers fans are the lowest of the low and for me would do something like this, but seems he’s previous for lying.
    To summarise, its gone...

You spat on me. Aye They spat on him. No we didnae.

On social media, then in the evening news, then on social media again.

Forgive me if I lose interest now.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby

TC, TheRangers fans claiming something didn’t happen is hardly something new, as I’m witness to myself. I’m pretty sure immediately after the Rangers game there was a few posts on twitter from folk that actually witnessed this happening rather than just coming from Carl himself.

The rangers fans on twitter claiming it didn’t happen are also saying he clearly isn’t blind and that he’s just a bigot (only to then have to look back on a few of their own posts to see them talking about Tarriers, Taigs and Fenians

I wouldn't like to think he's made this up. I can fully believe that a number of Rangers fans are certainly capable of this behaviour.

Until I hear something that proves otherwise, I'll believe that this happened.