Thread: Jamie Maclaren

Jamie Maclaren

It takes a guid pair of George Bernard Shaws to volunteer to take a penalty at Ibrox to win us the gemme, so early in his career at Hibs when he hasn't scored yet. Misses that, and (unless we had gone on to win anyway) he has put himself under big pressure.

Quote Originally Posted by SideBurns View Post
    It takes a guid pair of George Bernard Shaws to volunteer to take a penalty at Ibrox to win us the gemme, so early in his career at Hibs when he hasn't scored yet. Misses that, and (unless we had gone on to win anyway) he has put himself under big pressure.
    Generally speaking Australian sports people are renowned for their 'have a go!" attitude and approach.

Whatever Jamie MacLaren may be found to be lacking, it certainly won't be courage!!

His best day in Europe though,has him in the history books as scoring the winner at Ibrox in front of 50,000 but still being 'the substitute who was substituted!",,,can see elements of that that being a trivia question in years to come!

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Generally speaking Australian sports people are renowned for their 'have a go!" attitude and approach.

Whatever Jamie MacLaren may be found to be lacking, it certainly won't be courage!!

His best day in Europe though,has him in the history books as scoring the winner at Ibrox in front of 50,000 but still being 'the substitute who was substituted!",,,can see elements of that that being a trivia question in years to come!
    I get it youve seen the guy more than the rest of us and don’t rate him but there is absolutely no need for this negative pish. I get there is a chance he could make you look silly and I for one hopes he does.

Watched on a dodgy link on my phone so not the best viewing.however I thought he looked good quick and good movement and obviously brave as well to take the pen.

His goal in the 1st half looked good to me why was it disallowed? Rangers tv didn't show any replays or mention it funnily enough.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs#1 View Post
    Watched on a dodgy link on my phone so not the best viewing.however I thought he looked good quick and good movement and obviously brave as well to take the pen.

His goal in the 1st half looked good to me why was it disallowed? Rangers tv didn't show any replays or mention it funnily enough.
    Haven’t seen it yet but heard it was for offside.

Bollocks.

Quote Originally Posted by Dibben View Post
    Only thing I could think but i looked good on 1st viewing.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Dibben View Post
    I thought he was just off . No bad debut tho :)
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Glad he's off the mark. Have high hopes for him.

Why would it be a trivia question in years to come ? Substituting a substitute is hardly a new tactic in football, hows about giving the lad a bit of support instead of putting him down 👍

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    He comes from the land down under
    The Hibs flow and we all wonder
    We can't hear, can't hear the Huns there?
    You better run, you better take cover, yeah

Ok needs a bit of work but it's a start....

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Why would it be a trivia question in years to come ? Substituting a substitute is hardly a new tactic in football, hows about giving the lad a bit of support instead of putting him down 👍
    Don’t think he’s putting him down

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    Seriously?

Thought he put in a great shift but was surprised he took the penalty. I would have thought we would have had a penalty taker chosen before the match and unless it was Barker who had been subbed I would have thought one of teh starters would have taken it. fair play to him though as he was in no doubt who was taking it and done all that was required. Not a bad choice for a first goal, a winner at Ibrox.

Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    Thought he put in a great shift but was surprised he took the penalty. I would have thought we would have had a penalty taker chosen before the match and unless it was Barker who had been subbed I would have thought one of teh starters would have taken it. fair play to him though as he was in no doubt who was taking it and done all that was required. Not a bad choice for a first goal, a winner at Ibrox.
    To be fair probably didn't bother picking one out pre match seeing as we were playing at ibrox 😉

I'll be happy to apologize if I am wrong but I think it was the same poster who claimed he had seen McLaren loads of times playing in the A league and had nothing good to say about him.

The second paragraph is a put down, not so sure about the last bit though.

Bit unfair, was knackered, and had been moved into midfield after Oli came on. I’m sure he doesn’t care anyway
    Jamie put in a helluva shift in the 1st half, and with a lack of game time, it caught up on him. Allowed us to use up a bit of time, in added on time, to allow Danny on

Was his first goal onside? No replays of it on rangers tv...surprise!

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Bit unfair, was knackered, and had been moved into midfield after Oli came on. I’m sure he doesn’t care anyway
    Jamie put in a helluva shift in the 1st half, and with a lack of game time, it caught up on him. Allowed us to use up a bit of time, in added on time, to allow Danny on
    Thought he looked very sharp today and some of his first half link up with cranberry was a joy. Clever player, intelligent movement.

Neither did I.

Quote Originally Posted by DexterStJock View Post
    Thought he looked very sharp today and some of his first half link up with cranberry was a joy. Clever player, intelligent movement.
    Who’s cranberry🤣

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Who’s cranberry🤣
    I think he means camembert. 😊
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby70 View Post
    He comes from the land down under
    The Hibs flow and we all wonder
    We can't hear, can't hear the Huns there?
    You better run, you better take cover, yeah

Ok needs a bit of work but it's a start....
    Down Under was one of my favourite songs..."he just scored which was about as welcome to Sevco as a **** sandwich"
    Last edited by Is It On....; 03-02-2018 at 08:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    Neither did I.
    That is three of us, also think it might be a decent trivia question what sub was subbed but whilst on the pitch he scored the winner at Greyskull? In a few years I can see that asked and in no way devalues his performance or contribution

Who’s cranberry🤣
    Kamberi - Cranberry.. just a wee joke..

First Team Regular Sproule Three's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    I'll be happy to apologize if I am wrong but I think it was the same poster who claimed he had seen McLaren loads of times playing in the A league and had nothing good to say about him.
    He’s not putting him down .
    Far from it .
    Not many guys who come on as sub and make contribution like that are subbed .
    Don’t know about ‘ claiming ‘to have seen a lot of him in the A league .
    We get every A league game shown live and Fred like me watches lots of football .Seen plenty of him on TV and in the flesh without having to claim to have seen him
    Like him I had a few concerns as to whether he could step up .
    The A-League is much easier to score in than SPL.
    Roy O Donovan is one of the most highly rated strikers her so that will give you an idea of the standard .
    MacLaren did really well yesterday after being thrown in at the deep end .
    Hopefully he will thrive playing with our midfield supplying him chances
    Last edited by Sproule Three; 03-02-2018 at 11:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by mentalhibee View Post
    Was his first goal onside? No replays of it on rangers tv...surprise!
    From the video on Hibs TV he definitely looked offside, about a yard.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I get it youve seen the guy more than the rest of us and don’t rate him but there is absolutely no need for this negative pish. I get there is a chance he could make you look silly and I for one hopes he does.
    Wasn’t putting anyone down.

Don’t see stating what is a quirky fact as ‘negative pish’ either.

As for the trivia question, a similar one you would take umbrage with then would have been prior to 21/5/16...’.Name the last Hibs player to score the winning goal in the Scottish Cup Final’

The answer of course was Arthur Duncan, who scored an o.g.to give Rangers victory.

No doubt you charge in to the defence of Arthur when someone asks that question too........

My comments were clearly to show the irony that can surround fitba, and the quirky outcomes it can throw up.

As for your other post regarding my previous comments on MacLaren....nowhere did I say I had ‘nothing good to say about him’ as you suggest.

My view then and still is that he is by no means crap, nor converseley, is he a superstar, which I think most would see as a balanced view.

Maybe I should run any future posts past you in future to see if you understand them, prior to me posting.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Again, don’t see anything that puts him down....see my previous post.