Page 6 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I've only ever worked in an office environment and I concur, If you wernae there nobody would bat an eyelid.
    Yet the Police and Fire Services and NHS workers have much higher sickness rates than office workers and seem to manage when people are absent.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Ach lighten up.
    Given the amount of people in their 30’s and 40’s who have consoles, I’m probably in the minority nowadays. The days of them being for nerds have gone and I can definitely see the appeal but it’s not for me and can’t play one for any more than five minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    This relatively recent trend of footballers , managers etc covering their mouth with their hands when they are talking during or after a game. What's that all about.
    That's about stopping lip readers finding out tactics or learning their insults 😁

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Folk whose default state is being a pain in the arse. What do they get out of that?
    Attention?

Some sort of feeling of power?

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    That's about stopping lip readers finding out tactics or learning their insults 😁
    First time I saw it was in American Baseball. Apparently, at one time a team had a lip reader watch the tv screen and somehow passed on the oppositions intentions to his team.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Attention?

Some sort of feeling of power?
    Probably/possibly. I wonder if they ever realise how much more attention and power you can get by not being a pain in the arse though.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    People who think that "dance music" is a recent phenomenon.

My head literally exploded whern I heard a programme a couple of years ago celebrating "20 years of dance music".

They've never listened to Robbie Shepherd/Gary Innes? Whit!

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    People who take their office job seriously.

I can understand a police officer, a fireman, doctor taking their job seriously, someone actually contributing to society, saving lives etc, even architects or engineers who actually accomplish things.

What I don't get are people in bog standard office jobs who wouldn't be missed taking their job that seriously you would think Wall Street going up or down depends on their every move.

I can only imagine how depressing life is for them outside of the office.

Fortunately these people enjoy the jobs I find utterly boring (and in the Council I don't know wtf most of them do, but anyhow...). It means I can get on with the stuff I like doing thereby presumably contributing to the amount of stuff they prefer doing.

"Things you don't get"

I don't get newspapers anymore. Nuff said.

Peoole who look for a negative in a postive story.

Example, Joe Bloggs donates £1m to sick childs fund.

"It means nothing to him, only doing it for publicity, he has loads of money blah blah blah

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    This could be a long list, but then, as a coffee-drinking, backpack wearing, video-game playing young adult, clearly I'm going to be wrong

Game of Thrones - I'm a big fantasy fan, and GoT is derivative garbage. It's written by a guy who continually writes himself into corners, leaving the only option to be killing off characters.

On trains or public transport - people who sit right beside you when there are plenty of available seats.

Indie, pop, RnB or dance music. Seriously, what's the appeal?

On the music theme, yobcasting - why are you playing it through your bloody phone speakers? Put some ****ing headphones in.

Vodka.

People who look for conspiracy everywhere.

People who like Christmas music.

People who like Abba.

Racing as a spectator sport - why do people pay exorbitant ticket prices to go to F1 and the like? You sit in the one spot and things occasionally whizz past you...you see much more of it on the tele.

Tech addicts, particularly those that worship at the altar of Apple. Who actually wants to queue in the cold overnight to spend £1k on a new phone, and why?!

People who live every aspect of their lives through social media - social media can be a force for good, but it's increasingly becoming a bothersome thing for me (especially Facebook). I use Twitter for professional purposes, and my 'network' is very good (and very much a bit of an echo chamber, as anyone who follows me will know). But Facebook is a God-awful outlet for many folk to post every aspect of their, or their families lives on. Especially the drama. Dear God, the drama...
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    This could be a long list, but then, as a coffee-drinking, backpack wearing, video-game playing young adult, clearly I'm going to be wrong
    Obviously there's going to be some idiosyncratic, personal choices on here that don't make sense to some, but I had to do a double take at the poster who said he didn't get 'backpacks' I mean, what's not to get? It's a bag you can carry that allows you to use your arms for doing other stuff! What's not to like?
    Last edited by hibsbollah; 11-01-2018 at 08:45 AM.

I'd also like to add, people who go for a walk in the country, clean up after their dogs, put it in a wee black bag and.... Hang it from a tree branch

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Peoole who look for a negative in a postive story.

Example, Joe Bloggs donates £1m to sick childs fund.

"It means nothing to him, only doing it for publicity, he has loads of money blah blah blah
    Yes, this is good.

If someone famous decides to use their fame to support, and publicise, a worthy cause, they're almost always criticised for doing so.

If Bob Geldof and Midge Ure hadn't got off their backsides and created Live Aid, it may never have been brought to the world's attention.

But , Geldof in particular, was slated for self interest.

That's probably more of a peeve than a "don't get", when I think about it, because I think the reason people criticise is guilt and jealousy.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Obviously there's going to be some idiosyncratic, personal choices on here that don't make sense to some, but I had to do a double take at the poster who said he didn't get 'backpacks' I mean, what's not to get? It's a bag you can carry that allows you to use your arms for doing other stuff! What's not to like?
    Its probably getting smacked on the back of the head by folk wearing a backpack that are seemingly oblivious to their surroundings (particularly whilst using public transport) that the poster doesnae get, he makes a valid point.

A huge backpack on public transport, granted

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I'd also like to add, people who go for a walk in the country, clean up after their dogs, put it in a wee black bag and.... Hang it from a tree branch
    Ah yes,, the toly tree. How we love to see them in blossom.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Perhaps I should have been clearer, I'm not talking about people travelling or hiking etc I was taking about people who have them every day. What do you need that requires a backpack all the time. Keys wallet, phone, maybe a packed lunch. Other than that I don't get! And yes the public transport backpack people are a pain.

You wouldn’t believe how many people who try and jump into the taxi with these massive backpacks still on. They duck their head down and move forward, but the backpack can’t duck and hits the top of the door, leaving them on their arse in the back of the taxi.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Perhaps I should have been clearer, I'm not talking about people travelling or hiking etc I was taking about people who have them every day. What do you need that requires a backpack all the time. Keys wallet, phone, maybe a packed lunch. Other than that I don't get! And yes the public transport backpack people are a pain.
    Some of them look as if they're going on a spacewalk.
    I wish

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Eyebrows that 90% of females seem to think look good now days.

Those god awful trainers that kids are kicking about it, hurrachas I think there called and any imitation of them.

Vegans.

Reality t.v shows like madei n chelsea, Geordie Shore etc.

Lip fillers, or whatever they are called. I am seeing more and more young girls with faces that look terrible due to plumped up lips.

The beard craze.

Man buns/Top Knots

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    Eyebrows that 90% of females seem to think look good now days.

Those god awful trainers that kids are kicking about it, hurrachas I think there called and any imitation of them.

Vegans.

Reality t.v shows like madei n chelsea, Geordie Shore etc.

Lip fillers, or whatever they are called. I am seeing more and more young girls with faces that look terrible due to plumped up lips.

The beard craze.

Man buns/Top Knots
    steady now mate.

United we stand here....

My laptop.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    steady now mate.
    yours is acceptable mate, im talking about those ZZ top efforts or ones a bird could made a nest in

Bodywarmers, gilets etc.

Why would you not want sleeves, it's just weird?

I use Twitter for professional purposes, and my 'network' is very good
    Mate you follow me, that's neither professional or good

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    yours is acceptable mate, im talking about those ZZ top efforts or ones a bird could made a nest in
    Good man .

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I have mine most work days - laptop, charger, notepads, work phone, lunch, sometimes sports clothes if I'm doing something after work.
    Mon the Hibs.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    Mate you follow me, that's neither professional or good
    You don't tweet enough to be a nuisance to me though
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

You don't tweet enough to be a nuisance to me though
    Sounds like a challenge!