Page 10 of 24 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Folk that don't like fish.
    Madame Peeve likes us to have a varied and balanced diet so I'll often eat fish and may sometimes even enjoy it, but I'll rarely choose it in a restaurant.

I generally avoid shellfish (especially things like oysters - that look like they may have come out of someones nose) but will eat the likes of langoustines where at least there's a decent lump of 'meat' to get your teeth around.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Generally? Or as food or pets or as main characters in a film?

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    Folk that don't like fish.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Cod or haddock I'm fine with but even the smell of just about everything else makes me feel sick.
    this.
    https://www.scientificamerican.com/a...-affect-taste/

Its no wonder green tomato ketchup didn't take off.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Cod or haddock I'm fine with but even the smell of just about everything else makes me feel sick.
    Me too. I can eat fish and chips, but anything else gives me the boak. I find it quite annoying as when I’m watching chefs on tv cooking it, I often thing it looks delicious.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    I don't like anything that's smoked.
    I gave up smoking years ago and can't stand it now so why should I eat stuff that reminds me of it?

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Me too. I can eat fish and chips, but anything else gives me the boak. I find it quite annoying as when I’m watching chefs on tv cooking it, I often thing it looks delicious.
    I was the same until recently. Tried quite a few and nowhere near as fishy as I feared!! Salmon is actually ne of the fishiest I found.

Try sole or seabass really quite nice.

Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    I was the same until recently. Tried quite a few and nowhere near as fishy as I feared!! Salmon is actually ne of the fishiest I found.

Try sole or seabass really quite nice.
    Farmed salmon is the pishiest - turns my stomach.

I don't get how it's called 'progress' to stop using a light bulb that lights up instantly to one that takes several minutes to light up.
    (and stuff this 'saving the environment' bollocks, btw)
    Last edited by snooky; 29-01-2018 at 08:58 PM.

I was the same years ago, but love all fish now.
    Try starting with swordfish as this isn't "fishy", at all. Taste and texture very like pork.
    Then move onto Marlin which again is more like pork or lamb. Then tuna steak,(not tinned) cooked with lemon grass in oven.
    Shark is like chicken, best from a restaurant as it needs prepared properly.
    Fresh ,as in harbour restaurant fresh, sea bass is very slightly fishy similar to chippy cod.
    If you still can't stand it by now then give up, or try calamari, which is like onion rings.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stick View Post
    If you still can't stand it by now then give up, or try calamari, which is like onion rings.
    No. They may look like onion rings but if you,'ve tasted calimari that taste like onion rings you were eating onion rings

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    No. They may look like onion rings but if you,'ve tasted calimari that taste like onion rings you were eating onion rings
    Yes your right. Was trying for a wee bit of humour to finish off with, should have added a smiley face.
    Love calimari and onion rings but not at the same time.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Had calimari in Naples, they'd wiped its bum, squirted some lemon juice on it and then grilled it for 3 seconds on each side before putting it on a plate and looking very similar to how it came out the sea. I had pizza the next evening.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Yes your right. Was trying for a wee bit of humour to finish off with, should have added a smiley face.
    Love calimari and onion rings but not at the same time.
    Not a huge fan after the time I thought they were onion rings... I love the idea of fish it's just that I often see it again later. Some of them I simply cannot tolerate

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

I was the same years ago, but love all fish now.
    Try starting with swordfish as this isn't "fishy", at all. Taste and texture very like pork.
    Then move onto Marlin which again is more like pork or lamb. Then tuna steak,(not tinned) cooked with lemon grass in oven.
    Shark is like chicken, best from a restaurant as it needs prepared properly.
    Fresh ,as in harbour restaurant fresh, sea bass is very slightly fishy similar to chippy cod.
    Funnily enough I have had swordfish. I tried it in Greece a few years ago. I’ve also had calamari.

United we stand here....

I still don't get it.

I love all fish, be it haddock, trout, prawns, mussels, octopus or squid etc etc.

I certainly prefer fish to steak, which is extremely hit or miss, in my experience.

I had sea bass last night. Pan fred skin side down in a little olive oil for 4 minutes, then turned and fried for a further 1 minute.

Simple, easy and delicious. I eat the crispy skin, but Mrs HR leaves hers so I get to pick on it.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Dunno how it's not been mentioned yet, but this unchecked fashion of wearing shoes with no socks!
    Like most fashions, these things are cyclical, I get wearing trainers without socks, sandals (obviously) and espadrilles but leather shoes & brogues?!?
    Unlike many fashions though it's not just the kids, grown men with hairy ankles, jeans a couple inches too short and a pair of Louboutin loafers,,,,I just don't get it!

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Dunno how it's not been mentioned yet, but this unchecked fashion of wearing shoes with no socks!
    Like most fashions, these things are cyclical, I get wearing trainers without socks, sandals (obviously) and espadrilles but leather shoes & brogues?!?
    Unlike many fashions though it's not just the kids, grown men with hairy ankles, jeans a couple inches too short and a pair of Louboutin loafers,,,,I just don't get it!
    Seconded. What's 'cool' these days is baffling at times. But then again 'poppers' were fashionable at one time too... and I got that.. at the time.

Another good mystery.

People who refuse to even try a bit of things to see if they like them or not.

Things that millions of people eat or drink every day, because they're enjoyable.

Try a bit gherkin. Oh no.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

What's the worst that could happen?

Another good mystery.

Things that millions of people eat or drink every day, because they're enjoyable.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

Olive might have you arrested for harassment?

Everyone apart from me seems to like their bacon well-done and crispy.

Much prefer my roll full of big soft bacon

Another good mystery.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

I have a policy of always giving something a try at least once. What’s handy is if someone orders something you’ve not tried before. You can have a taste and see if you like it.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post

I'm exactly the same. Crispy bacon is pish.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    I have a policy of always giving something a try at least once. What’s handy is if someone orders something you’ve not tried before. You can have a taste and see if you like it.
    I'm the same, however if it doesn't pass the sniff test then it's getting nowhere near my tongue.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I'm the same, however if it doesn't pass the sniff test then it's getting nowhere near my tongue.
    Thats a good policy to have for a few things! :-)

Another good mystery.

Olive? Oh no.

A mussel? Oh no.

Some crab meat? Oh no.

FFS!

That's what living with Mrs PB is like. She's a bloody nightmare. I do all the cooking in our house and it's like dealing with a 5 year old.

'I don't like that'
    Have you tried it'
    'No but it looks funny'

I have to hide things or pretend they are something else so she will eat it.

The only food I have refused to at least try as an adult is gooseberries. I had a gooseberry fool as a child and was sick not long after. It may or may not have been that but it put me off them, I tried a gooseberry crumble a few years later and it made me feel like I was about to throw up again. My tastes may have changed but it's pretty much a phobia now.

As a child brought up as a buthers son, I used to eat hearts, kidney and liver regularly and enjoy it. Now I can't stand liver or kidney, hate the taste and texture of liver and the taste of kidney makes me want to puke.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post

I'm with you there!

I don't get crispy bacon - it looses the good taste all while adding a worse texture.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    I'm with you there!

I don't get crispy bacon - it looses the good taste all while adding a worse texture.
    My bacon preferences are:

Crispy Streaky

Soft Back Bacon

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    My bacon preferences are:

Crispy Streaky

Soft Back Bacon
    I didn't consider different types actually - I very rarely have streaky... There's maybe a crispiness exemption in there though.
    Mon the Hibs.

That's what living with Mrs PB is like. She's a bloody nightmare. I do all the cooking in our house and it's like dealing with a 5 year old.

'I don't like that'
    Have you tried it'
    'No but it looks funny'

I have to hide things or pretend they are something else so she will eat it.

The only food I have refused to at least try as an adult is gooseberries. I had a gooseberry fool as a child and was sick not long after. It may or may not have been that but it put me off them, I tried a gooseberry crumble a few years later and it made me feel like I was about to throw up again. My tastes may have changed but it's pretty much a phobia now.

Must be a woman thing. Only difference is that im the cook so i have to hide food from myself. Which i actually do

I don't get how/why others don't get that I don't like, or indeed even want to sample, eating something just because they happen to like it.

You like eating mussels?

Fine. Just don't do it anywhere near me. You like eating bogeys? Same applies.

And if you like picking bits of sweet corn out your **** to recycle I will find you repulsive.

In the same way I despise the cretins on I'm a "Celebrity" being feted for eating bugs, eyeballs and testicles.

And YES I would eat a gooseberry - but I wouldn't bore you all with a TV show about it (or harass you if you didn't fancy eating one too).