Thread: 50 Years Ago

50 Years Ago

Xmas morning, 1967. First of many Xmas Hibs strips. No white sleeves but maybe MacKenzies in the Bridges only had these.?

Ross 039.jpg

Finally got round to getting the real thing 2 years later. Furniture had got better in the hoose as well.!

Ross Library 006.jpg

Merry Christmas fellow Hibees.

Great photos Roxy. What team is the white strip in the second picture ?

Quote Originally Posted by hibeg View Post
    Great photos Roxy. What team is the white strip in the second picture ?
    From the expression on the boy's face it must be the Jambos' away strip and it was derby day.

Brill photos Roxy, thanks for sharing them.

Ahh mackenzies. A treasure trove for a primary school boy.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    From the expression on the boy's face it must be the Jambos' away strip and it was derby day.

Great pic. As we had already beat Yams 4-1 at tiny & were about to do the double thanks to a Joe Davis/ Eric Stevenson penalty the wee guy probably was worried!

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post

😂😂 it was indeed the Yams away strip. We are still best mates - can't wait to show him comments. Cheers.

great photos those mate. That hearts kit was a right stinker though!

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Ahh mackenzies. A treasure trove for a primary school boy.
    Was fortunate enough to have my auntie working there!!

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TelaStella View Post
    great photos those mate. That hearts kit was a right stinker though!
    Way better than their battenburg effort from last season though tbf. Way better.

@hibs.net private member tamsonsbairn's Avatar

first hibs top

That very same strip was my first hibs strip as well, i mind greeting tae ma maw that hibs played with white sleeves and was told that was what the man in the shop gave her, if i remember right it was mcenzies as well. memories.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    What it tells us is that memories are priceless and some of us are lucky enough to have a treasure trove of them.

Hope you all make some more tonight and tomorrow.

Merry Christmas Chaps!

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Xmas morning, 1967. First of many Xmas Hibs strips. No white sleeves but maybe MacKenzies in the Bridges only had these.?

Ross 039.jpg

Finally got round to getting the real thing 2 years later. Furniture had got better in the hoose as well.!

Ross Library 006.jpg

Merry Christmas fellow Hibees.
    I was given that strip too and it was a Northern Ireland one.

Cracking picture

My granny got me an enscribed bible that year. I know its was 1967 as I got battered round the heid for writing Hibs for the cup 1967 on it in pen on Xmas day.

Still got it even though I'm not religious.

[QUOTE=Bostonhibby;5257129]Cracking picture

My granny got me an enscribed bible that year. I know its was 1967 as I got battered round the heid for writing Hibs for the cup 1967 on it in pen on Xmas day.

Still got it even though I'm not religious.

👍 Cheers.

😂 Brilliant.! Used to scroll that on everything too.

Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post
    Was fortunate enough to have my auntie working there!!
    My primary school was 3 mins walk from it, in the days when finding football gear wasn't as easy as it is now. Had our faces pressed to the windows admiring the gear regularly (the hearts fans used to lick the window of course)

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    My primary school was 3 mins walk from it, in the days when finding football gear wasn't as easy as it is now. Had our faces pressed to the windows admiring the gear regularly (the hearts fans used to lick the window of course)
    😂😂😂

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar
    Got a similar pic of myself in that strip , must try to find it, it was, I believe, the reserve team strip i have another pic taken a few minutes later with the white sleeve 1st team strip, happy Christmas memories

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    Great pic. As we had already beat Yams 4-1 at tiny & were about to do the double thanks to a Joe Davis/ Eric Stevenson penalty the wee guy probably was worried!
    My first Derby. Remember it well. Just started to snow when Joe tucked ball into corner of the net in front of the shed.

Obviously arsenal strips were hard to get and your wee sister had to make do with a home made one!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Obviously arsenal strips were hard to get and your wee sister had to make do with a home made one!!!!
    Hahaha. Never spotted that.! She's a big Hibby now as well..

Is that your brother or your butler

Epic wallpaper mate

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    I was given that strip too and it was a Northern Ireland one.
    I was given it too with long sleeves, was disappointed that sleeves wernt white

Quote Originally Posted by One Day View Post
    I was given it too with long sleeves, was disappointed that sleeves wernt white
    I got that one too. Think the ones with white sleeves were a half-crown dearer. (12 1/2p ?).

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Is that your brother or your butler
    😂😂😂 "get dubbin those boots Fontelroy-Jeeves, I'm going out for a game of shapes.."

50 years ago today

Check these results out.

https://m.facebook.com/100FootballOfficial/photos/a.1484705158267488.1073741829.1352386661499339/1782566355148032/?type=3&source=48

😂😂😂 "get dubbin those boots Fontelroy-Jeeves, I'm going out for a game of shapes.."
    Did he end up working at the Odean i'am sure i bought a kia ora and a rasberry mivi of him . On for older gent's on here