Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: World Cup Draw

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I wouldn't go that far, mate. Nobody would have wanted Belgium in their group, given the choice. They're better than England.
    Out of the top seeds Brazil Argentina France Germany Portugal Russia all scarier prospects IMO.

Left by mutual consent! IlDiavola's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I wouldn't go that far, mate. Nobody would have wanted Belgium in their group, given the choice. They're better than England.

Belgium are a very good side and England would not have chosen them if they'd had that chance.

England will make the quarters though.

Quote Originally Posted by IlDiavola View Post

Belgium are a very good side and England would not have chosen them if they'd had that chance.

England will make the quarters though
    Bloody doom merchant......

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Bloody doom merchant......

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Fixtures here......

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/...le/group-stage

I was looking forward to four games on Sat 16th June but it looks like only one of them is worth watching!
    Bet you watch them all when it comes to it though. I fancy a World Cup of shocks.

Hold the fort, the WC is starting on a THURSDAY?

Who made that bawnumentus decision? ***** game regardless but still.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Out of the top seeds Brazil Argentina France Germany Portugal Russia all scarier prospects IMO.
    Russia and Portugal are nowhere near Belgium.

I'm a Scot, through and through, but I will be rooting for England - our sole British representatives, to win the tournament.

Quote Originally Posted by Lennon's Lip View Post
    I'm a Scot, through and through, but I will be rooting for England - our sole British representatives, to win the tournament.
    My mother was English so I guess I have English blood in me but I can assure you I will not be rooting for them. I hope they get dismantled in every game they play.

With you on that

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Russia are brutal.

My mother was English so I guess I have English blood in me but I can assure you I will not be rooting for them. I hope they get dismantled in every game they play.
    I have both Scots and English in my immediate and extended family and see us all as British - a union of over 300 years of shared history, including wars in which we stood and fought, side by side, against Germany, Italy, France and Argentina. I for one could never bring myself to want any of these nations to beat England/Scotland in football or in any other sport.

Brave thing to say on a Hibs forum

Even though I'm half English, I have to be honest and say i wouldn't like them to win it. Imagine the conceit......

I used to want England to win. Now the EPL is so mixed regardless you don't have to relate to the players you watch on telly.

Egypt for me. France to win it.

Can’t say I’m particularly rooting for anyone but I hope to enjoy some good football.

I hope England do OK as it’ll make my wee boy happy and I’ll get behind them if they play decent football but on past evidence, that’s unlikely to happen.

PSN ID: pesus-ab
    Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Belgium topped their qualifying group by winning 9 of their 10 games, scoring 43 goals. They were the No 1 ranked FIFA side just recently and are also top seeds in this World Cup Group. Hardly an 'easy' opponent.
    As has been seen before, they come apart at tournament time though!

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Not something I'll be watching much of, but will watch the England games. Usually start by kind of hoping they progress, then enjoying their ultimate exit when it comes. I'd happily see them get to the final then losing in heartbreaking fashion.

I do love the official poster though - very stylish

Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Russia are brutal.
    But they will get through the group stage. They won't be allowed not to.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Good for you. I live in England, wife is English and my kids are half English.

I will be hoping for them to be papped out.

There will be a banana skin.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Is there any particular reason why a country the size of Belgium has produced so many World Class footballers?

Not saying they will win the tournament (as they don't seem to be able to pull it together as a team at the finals stage) but they surely have the most talented collection of individuals? It's not like they've got billions of people to choose from.
    Not sure why so many players have come through at the same time but their overall WC record isn't bad - over the last nine tournaments they failed to qualify twice, but they have also reached the semi-finals, the quarter-finals and made it out of the group stages another four times. And when they've gone out, it's always been to top-flight sides - Argentina, Brazil, the Germans etc.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

If your mother was English it's more than a guess that you have English blood in you. You're half English even if you don't feel it

I never understand why folk still worry that England might win these tournaments and become so wound up about seeing them lose. There is no chance they will win it. Simply not good enough.

I have both Scots and English in my immediate and extended family and see us all as British - a union of over 300 years of shared history, including wars in which we stood and fought, side by side, against Germany, Italy, France and Argentina. I for one could never bring myself to want any of these nations to beat England/Scotland in football or in any other sport.
    I'll be rooting for the French, as with, over 700 years of our Alliance, and having fought wars together...

Boak.

Same as every tournament, rooting for England, ripping the pish on here for Scotland not being there. Seeing England fail once again and taking banter on here as soon as England are out. Nowt changes.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    I'll be rooting for the French, as with, over 700 years of our Alliance, and having fought wars together...

But they invaded Leith!

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibby View Post
    Same as every tournament, rooting for England, ripping the pish on here for Scotland not being there. Seeing England fail once again and taking banter on here as soon as England are out. Nowt changes.
    And repeat every two years.

Just wish we were there as well.

Shame there’s no tricky Saturday night game. Had a great time with my Mates for the Italy game last World Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    But they invaded Leith!
    And brought with them the café kulcher

I am really glad that England qualify. No honestly! If not I probably wouldn't be that interested in the world cup, what with us just being mere viewers at the moment. I will be watching the first round wearing my Panama hat, eating merguez and washing it down with Stella. I always knew that I had a soft spot for Panama, Tunisia and of course Belgium as I've been there twice to watch Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    I can't wait tbh. I would rather there was other representation from the British Isles but if laughing at England's inevitable comedy failure is the closest I get to actual involvement then so be it. The 2014 thread was class. Here's to another next year

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post

France or Germany for me......