Average salaries

Posting by @sportingintelligence .

Is this 2017 Ozy

Rangers are spending HOW MUCH on that garbage group of players, yet are still spending on average less than half of what Celtic are, there will be riots in Govan now and they will start to pay out even more money they don't have just to try to keep up with the lot across the city.

And spending more than double what Aberdeen are and more that 3 times any of the rest of us! Shows that it's not how much you spend it;s what you do with it that matters

As ever, these things have to be treated with a great deal of scepticism.

The total spend on players is not available in the public domain. So assumptions have to be made, which makes the conclusions unreliable at best.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Really interesting seeing the difference between us and Aberdeen given how close we are to them in the league.

Not surprised at Rangers really as they haven't learned a thing and are still spending silly money on dross.

Comparing our average with the £50k in the English Premiership is frightening though.

When you look at that Motherwell, Hamilton and St Johnstone are going very well on their budgets. The Rangers are clearly being badly run on theirs.

I'm a wee bit surprised given the amount of experience we have in our team that our average wage isn't higher ... I would have thought it would be in excess of £2000 ... though I'm aware some players will be on far more than others .... Stokes, Ambrose and Whittaker will almost certainly be on far better money than S Murray, F Murray and Shaw.

The bottom line is when you look at what everybody is paying outside of Celtic and to a lesser extent the Huns you can see why its so very very difficult for our clubs to stop players sodding off to England ..... there are teams in EFL division two paying more than Hibs are.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    When you look at that Motherwell, Hamilton and St Johnstone are going very well on their budgets. The Rangers are clearly being badly run on theirs.

I'm a wee bit surprised given the amount of experience we have in our team that our average wage isn't higher ... I would have thought it would be in excess of £2000 ... though I'm aware some players will be on far more than others .... Stokes, Ambrose and Whittaker will almost certainly be on far better money than S Murray, F Murray and Shaw.

The bottom line is when you look at what everybody is paying outside of Celtic and to a lesser extent the Huns you can see why its so very very difficult for our clubs to stop players sodding off to England ..... there are teams in EFL division two paying more than Hibs are.
    I doubt very much if Ambrose, Whittaker and Stokes will be included in this.

It is likely to be from 2015/2016 season with a possibility of 2016/2017 season.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I doubt very much if Ambrose, Whittaker and Stokes will be included in this.

It is likely to be from 2015/2016 season with a possibility of 2016/2017 season.
    True .... I wrongly assumed it was current figures.

The proportions club to club may well be correct but the whole thing around players salaries is usually total guesswork, assumption and has no real bearing on what they actually earn. Some of the figures that get thrown about and then stated as fact after being repeated several times are unbelievable.

Who is the highest paid player in Scotland? my guess would be Scott Brown, as Celtic captain.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Who is the highest paid player in Scotland? my guess would be Scott Brown, as Celtic captain.
    If a post a month or so ago on here is to be believed it's Bruno Alves on about £38k I think it was. Then it was Scott Sinclair on just short of that. Think Brown was listed as about £32k but I've no idea where the figures came from.

Edit: Callum has just posted the post I'd seen below.
    Last edited by calumhibee1; 27-11-2017 at 03:44 PM.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    This was doing the rounds before. Again, no idea how accurate it is.

The 'nae pot tae pish in' Rangers are paying a 36 year old £38K per week, and Pena £33K? Is that accurate? I hope it is

Are employers NHI contributions capped for high earners?A costly addition even if they are.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Are employers NHI contributions capped for high earners?A costly addition even if they are.
    Nope. 13.8%

The 'nae pot tae pish in' Rangers are paying a 36 year old £38K per week, and Pena £33K? Is that accurate? I hope it is

Insane if true.

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post

Does this include the side letters?

About £4 million a year down the drain.

I hope it's true too.

Surely even they wouldn't be that stupid? As much as I want to believe it, if you look at the clubs Alves and Pena joined from there's no way they'd be on anything like the sums quoted.

I guess they are a very new club though and are probably struggling to balance their figures. No doubt their recent issues on the park will mean they take a long hard look at their finances and reign things in...

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by neil7908 View Post
    Surely even they wouldn't be that stupid? As much as I want to believe it, if you look at the clubs Alves and Pena joined from there's no way they'd be on anything like the sums quoted.

I guess they are a very new club though and are probably struggling to balance their figures. No doubt their recent issues on the park will mean they take a long hard look at their finances and reign things in...
    Rumour is that Alves was on just short of £60k at his last club. He stills plays for Portugal mind, I could very well believe he is on that.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...h_Premiership/

Motherwell & St Johnstone (nearly) half the amount of us!!!!

Players wages are not detailed in the Hibs accounts so where have these figures come from?

It's frustrating that there is no detail on how they arrive at these figures.

Looking at the accounts won't cut it, for reasons explained above.

Do they survey agents and players?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    It's frustrating that there is no detail on how they arrive at these figures.

Looking at the accounts won't cut it, for reasons explained above.

Do they survey agents and players?
    In a sport where how much a club pays in wages has such a direct effect on the performance of a club, it’s crazy that there is no transparency on what clubs are paying in wages.

I understand that many of the top players contracts at each club include a clause that says they must, at least equal, the best paid player at the club. This avoids those on longer contracts having to renegotiate when the next best thing comes along the following season!

For that reason alone I doubt Scott Brown isn't the best paid player at celtc.

As for sevco paying that money. I suspect the rates mentioned are no more than Level 5 'leaks' that massage the egos of the orcs when these players sign on. These are the guys that can't afford a manager! Or even a phone call on an all inclusive phone contract to ask anyone in for an interview!!!
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Have you not just posted the Herald covering the link you originally posted?

So, this isn't new or additional justification - it's just your first post being reposted somewhere else?

Regardless, I agree with a previous post - the figures might be dodgy but how they relate to each other feels more accurate, though it seems like The Rangers must have some players well in excess of the average (and hence, more below the average).

Re your point about publishing wages/salaries - I think it is relatively comon-place in the public sector, less so in the private sector but that may have improved?
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

How on Earth could Dundee, Ross County, Partick Thistle and Kilmarnock be close to our average weekly wages?
    Something doesn't smell right about these figures.
    We get crowds these clubs can only dream about and yet they are not far off us wage-wise??

In a sport where how much a club pays in wages has such a direct effect on the performance of a club, it’s crazy that there is no transparency on what clubs are paying in wages.

On the flip side, as recruiting the right talent is all important, clubs will do all they can to keep their wage structure private.

Does anyone have an idea what the top wage at Hibs is?