Page 4 of 22 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Strangely reminiscent of a similar edifice under construction in West Edinburgh.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I’ve got loads of pictures saved on my iPad, I can’t remember exactly where that one came from.

Quote Originally Posted by SuperAllyMcleod View Post
    And a couple of others.

The top picture,is that from Edinburgh Select v Newcastle with Ronnie Simpson!

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr White View Post
    Is that Iggy at one of the windows there
    Cheek.
    My window overlooked St Clair St and the Eastern Cemetry which was how I could see the top corner (and nowt else).
    Part of me wishes I could've seen it in 1948.....!

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Its a bit of a grainy original press photo but here's one from NYD 1950 Gordon Smith scoring the first goal with a header - posting to give an idea of the scale of the East way back then - official crowd was 50,000.

Apologies if quality not great.

Attachment 19659
    Brilliant photo, not seen that before, I'm sure all the tech-heads on here will be able to clean that up for you

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Strangely reminiscent of a similar edifice under construction in West Edinburgh.

7_0.JPG

BOBBY_KINLOCH_FOR_HIBS_3744.jpg Bobby Kinloch after scoring the penalty against Barcelona, the clam before the storm!

busby hibs.jpg Matt Busby playing for Hibs

fletch.jpg Fletch after scoring against Sevco

Hibs 1915.jpg 1915 Hibs team

More later.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by HIBERNIAN-0762; 11-11-2017 at 10:56 AM.

Brilliant photo, not seen that before, I'm sure all the tech-heads on here will be able to clean that up for you
    I'll get it out the frame later and see if I can get a better image. Technology, who'd have it?!

PSN ID: hibeeg

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post
    Neil Martin, Billy Ritchie, orange baw to please the huns, goal, finished 1-0?

Great thread. Love the old pics of Easter Road 👍

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Sounds like a crock as there no way on this earth they werent trying.
    The team was still full of established internationals and the youngsters like Jordan and Frank Gray were hardly plucked from obscurity. The only unknowns were the sub goalie and Ellam. Lorimer is bull****ting. Remember that night well. Hibs were awesome, just couldnae score.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by KingDomofFife84 View Post
    Great thread. Love the old pics of Easter Road 👍
    Yeah, really enjoying the old pics of Easter Road.
    Most of us auld yins will have pics at home which could be of interest to fellow Hibees, but (like me) lack the cyber skills, to show them off.

Quote Originally Posted by hughio View Post
    Maybe Cropley WG can confirm source?
    Presumably Lorimer's autobiography?

Incidentally great thread.

Keep these historic snaps coming folks.
    I'm enjoying explaining them all to my 9 year old mental hibby son.
    I once spoke with Allan Clarke (Paul Reaney was also there) about this game, when in the hospitality at Elland Road some years back. And whilst it wasn't as one sided as Lorimer paints it. They also mentioned it was a younger/less experienced side Revie put out. And he did say Revie's eye was on the league championship not Europe (or at least the UEFA Cup). The keepers were 3rd/4th choice I think with Harvey and Stewart just signed from Ayr Utd being 1st and 2nd that season.

There seems to be some truth in this as the team he fielded either side of this game for the league had Harvey, Madeley, Jones, Hunter & McQueen in all of which played 30+ league games that year. And 3 of these played in the first leg.
    Last edited by Wakeyhibee; 11-11-2017 at 12:41 AM.

7_0.JPG

BOBBY_KINLOCH_FOR_HIBS_3744.jpg Bobby Kinloch after scoring the penalty against Barcelona, the clam before the storm!

busby hibs.jpg Matt Busby playing for Hibs

fletch.jpg Fletch after scoring against the Poppy thieves.

Hibs 1915.jpg 1915 Hibs team

More later.
    Hate to be that guy but the Fletcher one was against the Huns!

Almost certainly the queue at the Waverly for the 1958 cup final v Clyde.Hibsfansqueue1959.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by My_Wife_Camille View Post
    Hate to be that guy but the Fletcher one was against the Huns!
    Cheers for that, wasn't sure but love a dig at the yams from me

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Neil Martin, Billy Ritchie, orange baw to please the huns, goal, finished 1-0?
    Think you're right, I was at that game behind goals at the now FF stand, what a player Neilly Martin was for us, brilliant especially in the air.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875

Sorry if that was overkill just some of my favourites

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post
    How much was 5/3? The football specials would be great nowadays given the busier roads and the unenjoyable experience driving can often be.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    How much was 5/3? The football specials would be great nowadays given the busier roads and the unenjoyable experience driving can often be.
    If I calculate correctly 5/3d equates to 26pence.

Hibernian images through the years

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by w pilton hibby View Post
    If I calculate correctly 5/3d equates to 26pence.
    I’m not old enough to remember but the site I seen the photo on said 26p too.

Shame these stations have all gone, they wouldn’t have needed to ruin Edinburgh and bankrupt it with the trams and the trains actually would have taken us somewhere useful.
    Last edited by hibee; 11-11-2017 at 01:16 PM.