Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Or a Sweeney/Minder crossover.
    Life on Mars

Life in the in the west more like

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    No, just no. As my wee brother used to say, "Only bus drivers wear white socks."

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar

Just oot o Norton Park there I think.

never liked that stripey sleeve strip, but the one below is a thing of beauty, especially on Pat

Last edited by YehButNoBut; 22-11-2017 at 12:00 AM.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Tremendous photo.

The Tornadoes were awash with brilliant talent all over the team but Mickeys vision for passing was wonderful and something I hadn't witnessed before - and still haven't seen to that standard. What a player.!

He seemed to play on his toes and sort of bounced when running with the ball too.. Hope older fans know wtf I'm on about here..!
    Agree he was a fantastic player but his temperament let him down and certain opposing players knew that ie doddie McDonald who would work him up and he would respond in kind

Quote Originally Posted by The Pointer View Post
    No, just no. As my wee brother used to say, "Only bus drivers wear white socks."
    You obviously around in the eighties when this photo was taken. On occasions, white was cosidered the mild option when it came to socks and black ones were fir funerals.

My m8 in work had that programme .. sold it to a collector for £1k

When did Jamie Oliver play for Hibs??

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Earlydelivery View Post

I have that on my wall along with the1964 Summer Cup final programme, 1972,1991 and 2007 league cup winning programmes, Drybrough cup winning programmes 1972 and 1973 and of course the Holy grail winning programme
    Last edited by Ringothedog; 23-11-2017 at 12:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    I have that on my wall along with the1964 Summer Cup final programme, 1972,1991 and 2007 league cup winning programmes, Drybrough cup winning programmes 1972 and 1973 and of course the Holy grail winning programme

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    I started going to games the season after that. My father talked a lot about that match. As someone who saw the Famous 5 at the peak of their powers, it took a lot to impress him, but he always raved about Raymond Kopa. He said he was a small, slight guy but we just couldn't get the ball off him, he was the difference between the teams.

Real Madrid signed him after they beat Rheims in the final and he went on to be a "50s galactico" for them.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikeystewart View Post

What a Kit
    Tam McNiven,Stuart Turnbull,John Connolly,Jim McArthur,Gary Murray,Ally Macleod,John Lambie,Ralph Callachan,Willie Jamieson,Ally Donaldson,Craig Paterson,Ally Brazil,Pat Quinn,Arthur Duncan,Iain Hendry,Jackie McNamara,Bertie Auld,Alan Sneddon,Gordon Rae,Derek Rodier.... Tough times watching Hibs under wee bertie,never really shared pep's philosophy how fitba should be played,more akin to lexo

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    Yes - not a name I'm familiar with from that era if truth be told.
    I always felt Kenny Davidson was a much better player than people thought.

Re refs went a bit OTT with the 10 yards spray has he not?

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    I always felt Kenny Davidson was a much better player than people thought.
    Hiya Kenny, Hiya pal :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Eaststand View Post
    Hiya Kenny, Hiya pal :-)

Wish I was and had lived the dream

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by snooky View Post
    Wish I was and had lived the dream
    Yeah...I actually know Kenny and as well as being a decent player back in the day, he's a nice guy too

Magnificent

Quote Originally Posted by ValleyHibee View Post
    Tam McNiven,Stuart Turnbull,John Connolly,Jim McArthur,Gary Murray,Ally Macleod,John Lambie,Ralph Callachan,Willie Jamieson,Ally Donaldson,Craig Paterson,Ally Brazil,Pat Quinn,Arthur Duncan,Iain Hendry,Jackie McNamara,Bertie Auld,Alan Sneddon,Gordon Rae,Derek Rodier.... Tough times watching Hibs under wee bertie,never really shared pep's philosophy how fitba should be played,more akin to lexo
    Agree re Bertie, reckon his mantra was 36 games, 36 points.
    On another note, great pic, i will need to share this with my we mate Rodier. It was a few stones ago Derek. :)

Quote Originally Posted by Earlydelivery View Post
    Really? I just framed mine and stuck it on the cloakroom wall!!

Quote Originally Posted by rodhibs55 View Post
    Agree re Bertie, reckon his mantra was 36 games, 36 points.
    On another note, great pic, i will need to share this with my we mate Rodier. It was a few stones ago Derek. :)
    Second fastest player atER behind A D but proberley the brainiest when to Ed uni

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Second fastest player atER behind A D but proberley the brainiest when to Ed uni
    I know, and still a great guy.
    Dont know if he's still at fast at going to the bar though. :)

Does he still look like Leo Sayer

Parking the bus

It's remarkable how few goals actually get scored when you see there how much space there is to actually aim at!

Think I might once have had a version of this pic ripped out of a 'Shoot!' Magazine.

Turnbull looks up for it in the shorts department

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Eddie Gray didn't play. Possibly Frank?

The team was Shaw (Letheran); Reaney, Cherry; Bremner, Ellam, Yorath; Lorimer, Clarke, Jordan, Bates, F. Gray.

7th November 1973

Interesting piece from Peter Lorimer:-

Peter Lorimer claimed that Leeds “wanted out” of the competition and fielded a team of young, mainly Scottish players together with himself and Billy Bremner, who appreciated the trip back home to Scotland. Hibs were quoted at odds of 3-1 and the Leeds players had clubbed together to put £500 on the hosts. He said of the game, “Billy was playing sweeper, that’s how seriously Don was taking it, and he was back-heeling it here, messing about there and joking his way through the game. Unfortunately young John in goal was wanting to make a name for himself. He was not in on the scam and was flinging himself about left and right, making fabulous saves, until he got injured and had to go off. He was replaced by an even younger lad, a Welsh kid called Glan Letheran, and we thought ‘we are in here, Glan will be nervous’. Sure enough he was just as agile as John had been and, come what may, Hibs could not get the ball in the net until, with ten minutes to go, they broke clear down the right, the cross came over and their inside-forward headed home. We gave each other a knowing look, winked and whispered ‘thank God for that’. But the linesman had put his flag up and, despite our protestations that it was all right, the goal was disallowed. At full time, with the scores level, we had done our money. All bets are settled, of course, on ninety minutes. It went to penalties and Don’s view was that, having come so far, we might as well do our best now to win it. Damned right! We needed to win the match to collect the bonuses to cover the bet! And win it we did.”
    Yes. Leeds were famous for their sporting attitude and sense of fair play back then.

Revie was a twat.