Page 11 of 22 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ValleyHibee View Post
    Tam McNiven,Stuart Turnbull,John Connolly,Jim McArthur,Gary Murray,Ally Macleod,John Lambie,Ralph Callachan,Willie Jamieson,Ally Donaldson,Craig Paterson,Ally Brazil,Pat Quinn,Arthur Duncan,Iain Hendry,Jackie McNamara,Bertie Auld,Alan Sneddon,Gordon Rae,Derek Rodier.... Tough times watching Hibs under wee bertie,never really shared pep's philosophy how fitba should be played,more akin to lexo
    True what you say about Bert Auld’s style of football , but he got us out of Div 1 first time of asking, and mid table the next season.

I think we flirted with relegation the next 3 seasons after he was emptied.

Was at the game did Hibs not claim Revie was on the pitch during penelties

What a player

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Tremendous photo.

The Tornadoes were awash with brilliant talent all over the team but Mickeys vision for passing was wonderful and something I hadn't witnessed before - and still haven't seen to that standard. What a player.!

He seemed to play on his toes and sort of bounced when running with the ball too.. Hope older fans know wtf I'm on about here..!
    Was my favourite player then. Imagine what he would be worth in today's crazy transfer market.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    George Best made his debut on this day 1979

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post

That brings the memories flooding back, was at the game with a mate who was at Paisley college, ended up debating Bestie with a hun in the wee howf bar - ran to Gilmour street station and still missed the last train so our party of 5 ended up sleeping in a one room bedsit until the morning!

Sexiest coolest footballer ever wearing the sexiest coolest strip ever.

This is an image that has been stiched together to offer a more panoramic view. The guy who did it has also stitched together a great picture of Hampden back in the day, but Easter Road looks fantastic in this one.

Found these beauties on Facebook

First Team Breakthrough Conrad Gray's Avatar
    image.jpg

Answers on a postcard?....I'm hoping a printers error.

Attached Images Attached Images

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post

That painting is excellent. Any info?

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    That painting is excellent. Any info?

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
    The top one - http://www.stadiumportraits.com/the-...int-5189-p.asp

Second one - http://www.stadiumportraits.com/when...int-3924-p.asp

The artist is Yorkshire based Paul Town.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post

That is horrendous. There was an abundance of awful atrocities being flogged after the cup final: this was one of them.

Each one of the abominations remind me how much money Hibs/JustSport may have missed due to their/JustSport's lack of memorabilia in 2016.
    Shoddy sellers selling paint-by-numbers portraits and pieces of paper with players' names printed on them; dodgy t-shirts and photos of the game... It looked like thousands of items were being sold over such a short period.

An enormous opportunity missed and fans instead picking up pathetic pieces on Twitter, eBay, etc.

21/05/16

And Cormack's off!

That was after kicking Tommy Veitch on the ground.

A night on the Gorgie Road terracing never to be forgotten

Not the same derby, but gives younger fans some idea of the size of crowd we took to Tynecastle in the PATG days before away ST's, loyalty points and such. Opposite end to what we get now, and we also got a wing of main stand.

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    It's remarkable how few goals actually get scored when you see there how much space there is to actually aim at!

Think I might once have had a version of this pic ripped out of a 'Shoot!' Magazine.
    Is that GDLBGLSM's dad stood behind Jim McArthur there?

Spitting image of him if it is.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    Is that GDLBGLSM's dad stood behind Jim McArthur there?

Spitting image of him if it is.
    Certainly is.

@hibs.net private member Aubenas's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    2nd shot is a work of art.
    Fellah centre 3rd from bottom with the fag and leather is Mike McGinnie. What a pre-Begbie hard nut he was at St Tams. Sadly no longer with us as he was also a top bloke. His equally radge brother Stewart is next to him.
    Miggie was in my first ever form class as a teacher. Lovely lad. Had Sunshine on Leith played at his funeral. Taught Stewart too. Good lads.
    Last edited by Aubenas; 04-01-2018 at 12:46 PM.
    Philly McGuinness, Leitrim GAA, died playing in a club match for Mohill. He epitomised all that is best about sport, making a 6 hour round trip to training three times a week from his workplace in Mayo, and was never late. His motto was 'Give it all, or give nothing'. One for all sportsmen to consider.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    A night on the Gorgie Road terracing never to be forgotten

Not the same derby, but gives younger fans some idea of the size of crowd we took to Tynecastle in the PATG days before away ST's, loyalty points and such. Opposite end to what we get now, and we also got a wing of main stand.

Great photo and it only shows about half the Terrace. Regularly took 10k to Tynie, although we often never sold out the away, it was so big (and we had a dreadful record in the 80’s).

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Regularly took 10k to Tynie, although we often never sold out the away, it was so big (and we had a dreadful record in the 80’s).

still recall the crush sometimes getting through that tunnel in that old end at Tynie...

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    still recall the crush sometimes getting through that tunnel in that old end at Tynie...
    Yip, and folk think getting into the last Derby was scary!

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Yip, and folk think getting into the last Derby was scary!

hahaha. so true...

off topic...my scariest moment getting into a Hibs game was a crush outside Methil before a Scottish Cup replay with East Fife (that we lost). early 80s I guess....My feet left the ground for a minute or so..it was so packed getting into a handful of turnstiles..very scary...

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    hahaha. so true...

off topic...my scariest moment getting into a Hibs game was a crush outside Methil before a Scottish Cup replay with East Fife (that we lost). early 80s I guess....My feet left the ground for a minute or so..it was so packed getting into a handful of turnstiles..very scary...
    I was there that night. It was so chaotic that we ended up in the home end. Play was stopped at one point for treatment to a player and myself and my mates sprinted down the touchline, past a puzzled looking linesman) and jumped into the away end.