Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quite a game in Adelaide! In the end Australia got home relatively comfortably though I thought England did well to steady the ship after an abysmal start and probably caused a few Aussie palpitations when it was their turn to bowl.

Woakes definitely the star of the show for England, but I thought Tom Curran made the most of his chance, at the expense of Liam Plunkett.

For Australia, the game highlighted the damage that two forensic and fast bowlers can do, with Hazlewood bowling exquisitely and Cummins producing his best bowling figures yet in ODIs.

I'm watching the India-SAF match at the moment on a Wanderers pitch that is still offering plenty to the fast bowlers well into day three. That makes for a salivating contest when the two sides meet, with their top-class pace attacks.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

In regards to the SA v Ind game, its really scary just how good a pace attack SA have. They have the sadly forever injured Steyn (legend) on the sidelines but have some phenomenal talent on display. Philander and Rabada have brilliant averages, M Morkel on his day can be unplayable and the new kid on the block Ngidi looks like he has a bright future. All the talk recently has been of Starc, Hazelwood and Cummings but in my opinion they are nowhere close to the SA attack. Australia do have a far better spinner in Lyon though. The up and coming test series in SA will be interesting viewing.

Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    In regards to the SA v Ind game, its really scary just how good a pace attack SA have. They have the sadly forever injured Steyn (legend) on the sidelines but have some phenomenal talent on display. Philander and Rabada have brilliant averages, M Morkel on his day can be unplayable and the new kid on the block Ngidi looks like he has a bright future. All the talk recently has been of Starc, Hazelwood and Cummings but in my opinion they are nowhere close to the SA attack. Australia do have a far better spinner in Lyon though. The up and coming test series in SA will be interesting viewing.
    Fair comment. The SAF quicks have looked frightening, especially on a borderline dangerous pitch like this but even on the unusually sticky Centurion.

I think you can also throw in Phelukwayo, another youngster who is being used sparingly this Test but still snagged Pujara and Pandya in the first innings. There's a bit of potential there.

For Australia, it will be interesting to see if James Pattinson will be fit in time. He would have been in the Ashes squad prior to his injury and it's curious as to whether he would have got in the XI ahead of one of the others. Cummins probably benefitted the most from his absence and certainly made the most of it. Pattinson is more than capable of bowling in the 90s, and that would give the Australians a genuinely strong four-pronged pace attack.

Lyon had a fantastic 2017 and I would agree, is better than anyone the South Africans can put forward. He's only got a handful of games across two tours there though and it's where he averages worst. Plus the South Africans don't have left-handers to the same extent as England. Only Dean Elgar and Quintin De Kock, and I think Elgar's fielding might be calling his place into question
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Watch cricket from time to time but not very knowledgable I see Ben Stokes has gone for 1.4m in the IPL who is it payed too?

Quote Originally Posted by patch1875 View Post
    Watch cricket from time to time but not very knowledgable I see Ben Stokes has gone for 1.4m in the IPL who is it payed too?
    It depends. The starting point is that it all goes to the player but it is based on them being available for all the games and often they will miss games due to international commitments, in which case it will be reduced on a pro rata basis. I think some of the national governing boards may also charge a relatively small percentage for allowing the player to play outwith their central contract, but I’m not sure how consistent that is across the various countries. Also, I think it may be slightly different yet again for Indian players as I believe the BCCI has its own approach to player contracts.

What a catch one handed on the boundary rope by Jordan to take NZ's third wicket, what a fielder that man is.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    What a catch one handed on the boundary rope by Jordan to take NZ's third wicket, what a fielder that man is.
    I love the tension of 20/20 cricket, but compared to test match cricket, it’s like a different game. Some of the shots the batsmen play are unrecognisable to the longer game. I can understand why some of the purists don’t like it. I really enjoy it.

United we stand here....

You're not wrong, England need to develop a plan b in some of these games, just sending everyone in to attack at every opportunity doesn't always work, good to watch when it does though.

I read today that Adil Rashid is giving up red-ball cricket with Yorkshire to focus solely on limited-overs. He's only 29. There seem to be speculation that Willey and Plunkett may follow suit which would appear to dramatically impact on YCCC's bowling strategy for Championship games.

Whether this is another blow to the longer game or whether it allows a new wave of bowlers who wish to specialise in the longer game to flourish will remain to be seen.

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I read today that Adil Rashid is giving up red-ball cricket with Yorkshire to focus solely on limited-overs. He's only 29. There seem to be speculation that Willey and Plunkett may follow suit which would appear to dramatically impact on YCCC's bowling strategy for Championship games.

Whether this is another blow to the longer game or whether it allows a new wave of bowlers who wish to specialise in the longer game to flourish will remain to be seen.
    I wonder how much things like the IPL and the big bash have on these decisions. England are starting a similar series soon as well I believe. The money in the IPL is life changing for these guys.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I wonder how much things like the IPL and the big bash have on these decisions. England are starting a similar series soon as well I believe. The money in the IPL is life changing for these guys.
    I think that's undoubtedly a contributing factor. Centrally-contracted players for England aren't on bad salaries and sponsorship and media deals all add on, but the value of a two-month contract in one of the T20 leagues can boost earnings exponentially.

Interestingly, Rashid knew he wasn't getting an IPL or Pakistani Super League contract. I think someone said previously, might have been you, that essentially Tests and limited-overs are two different sports now. Yes, it's 11v11 with bats, stumps and a ball, but the strategy, tactics and decision-making are so far removed from each other that it becomes pointless to compare.

To an extent that's becoming true about the difference between ODI and T20 now as well. It's no surprise that players are starting to opt for white ball only, just on those grounds, let alone for financial reasons, as trying to successfully adapt your play to three different approaches on a month-to-month or week-to-week basis must be supremely challenging.

There was a humorous article earlier today, in F365, that suggested football should emulate cricket with its Test - ODI - T20 approach of different degrees of instant thrills. The suggestion was football could have football, as we know it - futsal or fives - and what we used to call 'World Cup Willie', but also goes by the name of 'cuppies' or 'Wembley Doubles'. Someone goes in goal and then everyone else, either singly or in pairs has to try and score. Once you score you're in the next round. Last one (or two) standing gets eliminated, then you do it again and again until you have a victor.

If you had that featuring a player or a pair from say every Premiership or EPL team, then it could be quite entertaining. Sort of Brian Jacks' Superstars meets T20 but with a football and a set of goals.

I think that's undoubtedly a contributing factor. Centrally-contracted players for England aren't on bad salaries and sponsorship and media deals all add on, but the value of a two-month contract in one of the T20 leagues can boost earnings exponentially.

Interestingly, Rashid knew he wasn't getting an IPL or Pakistani Super League contract. I think someone said previously, might have been you, that essentially Tests and limited-overs are two different sports now. Yes, it's 11v11 with bats, stumps and a ball, but the strategy, tactics and decision-making are so far removed from each other that it becomes pointless to compare.

To an extent that's becoming true about the difference between ODI and T20 now as well. It's no surprise that players are starting to opt for white ball only, just on those grounds, let alone for financial reasons, as trying to successfully adapt your play to three different approaches on a month-to-month or week-to-week basis must be supremely challenging.

There was a humorous article earlier today, in F365, that suggested football should emulate cricket with its Test - ODI - T20 approach of different degrees of instant thrills. The suggestion was football could have football, as we know it - futsal or fives - and what we used to call 'World Cup Willie', but also goes by the name of 'cuppies' or 'Wembley Doubles'. Someone goes in goal and then everyone else, either singly or in pairs has to try and score. Once you score you're in the next round. Last one (or two) standing gets eliminated, then you do it again and again until you have a victor.

If you had that featuring a player or a pair from say every Premiership or EPL team, then it could be quite entertaining. Sort of Brian Jacks' Superstars meets T20 but with a football and a set of goals.
    Well it’s a theory
    In all seriousness I would really hope that the money generated from these T20 leagues would be invested into giving test players the financial security so that they don’t feel the need to look at the 20/20 leagues as a way of securing their financial security.

United we stand here....

The hotly-anticipated Test series between South Africa and Australia started a few days ago. I’m on holiday and haven’t been able to see any footage, just relying on news reports but it’s going to be an Australian victory barring a miracle that would go down in Test history - Australia need one wicket to win with a full day’s play tomorrow and SAF trailing by well over a hundred runs, on a pitch that started deteriorating from the outset, by the sounds of it.

Performance-wise, SAF seem to be emulating the Australian team of a couple of years ago, with collapses in both their innings and a lack of significant partnerships.

Australia seem to have addressed that issue, all their specialist batsmen bar Khawaja finding runs, but importantly also forming partnerships to some degree. In addition, the bowling quartet seem to guarantee 40-50 runs as a minimum, and often more, which makes for a critical contribution.

Bowling-wise, they seem to have found a great combo, with the aggression of Cummins and Starc, the precision of Hazlewood and the patience of Lyon. I suspect SAF will respond positively to defeat however and the Second Test should be a belter.

The hotly-anticipated Test series between South Africa and Australia started a few days ago. I’m on holiday and haven’t been able to see any footage, just relying on news reports but it’s going to be an Australian victory barring a miracle that would go down in Test history - Australia need one wicket to win with a full day’s play tomorrow and SAF trailing by well over a hundred runs, on a pitch that started deteriorating from the outset, by the sounds of it.

Performance-wise, SAF seem to be emulating the Australian team of a couple of years ago, with collapses in both their innings and a lack of significant partnerships.

Australia seem to have addressed that issue, all their specialist batsmen bar Khawaja finding runs, but importantly also forming partnerships to some degree. In addition, the bowling quartet seem to guarantee 40-50 runs as a minimum, and often more, which makes for a critical contribution.

Bowling-wise, they seem to have found a great combo, with the aggression of Cummins and Starc, the precision of Hazlewood and the patience of Lyon. I suspect SAF will respond positively to defeat however and the Second Test should be a belter.
    South Africa are bowling beautifully right now in the second test. Australia are 117/3, but I can see a few more wickets falling before the days out.

United we stand here....

South Africa are bowling beautifully right now in the second test. Australia are 117/3, but I can see a few more wickets falling before the days out.
    Australia made a good start, survived that tricky opening spell with a bit of moisture in the pitch and then started to put on the runs.

All credit to the South African attack though and what an absolutely exciting young pace pair are Rabada and Ngidi - eight between them at comfortably under 20 a wicket.

Philander deserves praise too, he bowled exceptionally tightly, giving away precious few runs and snagging the first two wickets.

It's a pitch that looks like it may offer something to the Australian bowlers tomorrow. They have already contributed though - their 35 runs will have played a big part should this match go in Australia's favour.

Cracking day's play on the second day of the 3rd Test at Cape Town.

I missed the first day's play but caught the highlights of the second, and where to start?

Dean Elgar makes a bit of history for himself, Morne Morkel reaches 300 wickets, and Australia fire up a tail end response again - though it was all Nathan Lyon, with the support of Tim Paine.

The best bit was the battle between Rabada and Warner - the former the shockingly fast and aggressive young bowler, the latter the more-seasoned but equally aggressive opening bat.

Rabada got battered for runs initially but eventually ripped out Warner's off stump. Classic cameo of the battle between two world-class players - one with the ball, one with the bat.

Cracking day's play on the second day of the 3rd Test at Cape Town.

I missed the first day's play but caught the highlights of the second, and where to start?

Dean Elgar makes a bit of history for himself, Morne Morkel reaches 300 wickets, and Australia fire up a tail end response again - though it was all Nathan Lyon, with the support of Tim Paine.

The best bit was the battle between Rabada and Warner - the former the shockingly fast and aggressive young bowler, the latter the more-seasoned but equally aggressive opening bat.

Rabada got battered for runs initially but eventually ripped out Warner's off stump. Classic cameo of the battle between two world-class players - one with the ball, one with the bat.
    I’ve also only seen the highlights, but it’s refreshing to see the South African bowlers bowling with real pace. I don’t know about you, but I think if they could do that on the road, we’re looking at the number one test side in the world right now.

United we stand here....

I’ve also only seen the highlights, but it’s refreshing to see the South African bowlers bowling with real pace. I don’t know about you, but I think if they could do that on the road, we’re looking at the number one test side in the world right now.
    I don't know what the reserves are like but they have two brilliant young talents in Ngidi and Rabada. The trick may be in ensuring they stay fit as they are so young and will be asked to do so much!

Backing that up, Morkel and Philander - you couldn't ask for much more, though they are obviously a bit older. Nevertheless that's a pace quartet for at least two or three years.

Batting-wise, there's strength there. I have real hopes for Quinton De Kock, the keeper/batsman - he started his career with a flourish, it's maybe settled down a bit now but he's at the age where he can push on and become a key player over the next decade for SAF.

I think you're right about touring - there will be some broadly comparable surfaces in Australia and the Winidies but not always. And there will be very different surfaces in the sub-continent and in England.

It's the beauty of Test cricket, it's always fluctuating. The matches in the next twelve months (basically until the conclusion of the Indian tour in Australia) might tell us something. Or just raise more questions

I don't know what the reserves are like but they have two brilliant young talents in Ngidi and Rabada. The trick may be in ensuring they stay fit as they are so young and will be asked to do so much!

Backing that up, Morkel and Philander - you couldn't ask for much more, though they are obviously a bit older. Nevertheless that's a pace quartet for at least two or three years.

Batting-wise, there's strength there. I have real hopes for Quinton De Kock, the keeper/batsman - he started his career with a flourish, it's maybe settled down a bit now but he's at the age where he can push on and become a key player over the next decade for SAF.

I think you're right about touring - there will be some broadly comparable surfaces in Australia and the Winidies but not always. And there will be very different surfaces in the sub-continent and in England.

It's the beauty of Test cricket, it's always fluctuating. The matches in the next twelve months (basically until the conclusion of the Indian tour in Australia) might tell us something. Or just raise more questions
    Undoubtedly it will raise more questions, but the fact that no one side is currently able to dominate leaves a team like South Africa in a strong position. While everyone concentrates on England, Australia and India the South Africans are creeping up on the rails. What always impresses me about a truly strong South African team is that there technically speaking isn’t really true South African conditions. Every other test side can rely on that advantage.

United we stand here....

Australia could be in real trouble with these ball tampering admissions. Fair play to Smith for not hanging Bancroft out to dry, but he’s basically admitted to cheating from the senior players.

United we stand here....

Australia could be in real trouble with these ball tampering admissions. Fair play to Smith for not hanging Bancroft out to dry, but he’s basically admitted to cheating from the senior players.
    I wouldn’t give Smith any credit whatsoever. The fact they used the newest player in the team to carry out the act speaks volumes in regards to how cowardly Smith and Warner have been here. Disgraceful situation and Stuart Broad has rightly questioned how often they got reverse swing going during the Ashes in conditions that you wouldn’t normally expect the ball to move as such.

I agree, I was just saying that he could easily have let Bancroft take the rap. I think that Smith and whoever else was involved should be banned for a long time.

United we stand here....

I agree, I was just saying that he could easily have let Bancroft take the rap. I think that Smith and whoever else was involved should be banned for a long time.
    Yeah, Smiths reputation is in tatters, as is Cricket Australias.

12 month ban apparently.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Lehman not guilty....well if it's true then his players were taking the pish.

I don't know much about cricket but the ex umpire they interviewed seemed to make the valid point that the Pakistan players got life and ten year bans for betting to make themselves rich in that Salman Butt case, while the Australians get a much more lenient punishment for cheating in order to affect the outcome of a match.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I don't know much about cricket but the ex umpire they interviewed seemed to make the valid point that the Pakistan players got life and ten year bans for betting to make themselves rich in that Salman Butt case, while the Australians get a much more lenient punishment for cheating in order to affect the outcome of a match.
    In the ICC Code of Conduct, ball tampering is only a level 2 offence. There are far greater sanctions for other offences. Whether that’s right or wrong is another debate. In part it maybe reflects that there are a variety of means to try and alter the ball. I think shining is the only legal one. Over the years players of all nations have tried a variety of illegal methods from using the zip on their trouser pockets to stitching sandpaper inside their pockets to keeping dirt in there, anything to try and rough up one side and conjure up the mystical reverse swing. Wiser captains might even put a spinner on with the instruction to offer up a couple of sixes - the wear and tear on the ball hitting a concrete stand from distance and height will be greater than the trousers shenanigans of Bancroft.

Smith’s press conference was painful to watch to say the least.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Very painful.
    https://twitter.com/cricketaus/statu...576624128?s=21

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    It was yes but was he sorry for doing it or for getting caught

Personally I think this kind of thing is going on all the time.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"