Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Donald Ford is Illegimate

Any older chaps recall that ditty? As a child I remember my solitary Hibs supporting uncle (I have fondness for him as he was the only one who never interfered with me - Jambo household) singing this loudly, a can of red McEwans Export in his hand.

Ring any bells? It questioned the parentage of the Linlithgiw chartered accountant turned wedding photographer who is by all accounts actually a decent sort.

He ain't got no birth certificate ...

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Any older chaps recall that ditty? As a child I remember my solitary Hibs supporting uncle (I have fondness for him as he was the only one who never interfered with me - Jambo household) singing this loudly, a can of red McEwans Export in his hand.

Ring any bells? It questioned the parentage of the Linlithgiw chartered accountant turned wedding photographer who is by all accounts actually a decent sort.

so many fond memories

sigh

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    A 70's classic
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    He ain't got no birth certificate ...
    in other words he's a .......

Football chants have gone down the drain.
    I liked the Colin Stein/Una McLean one personally.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Football chants have gone down the drain.
    I liked the Colin Stein/Una McLean one personally.
    Enlighten us?

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Enlighten us?
    A) Cos he is a *******!

B) A hundred thousand doon the drain
    Yer better of with Una McLean

Ford wasnae a bad player by the way......

Pettigrew w**k w**k w**K
    Pettigrew w**k w**k w**k

Was one I got a clip round the ear from my mother for as a 10 year old

Simple and effective,the song not the clip round the ear!

First Team Regular scm70nyd1973's Avatar
    In the early 80s does anyone remember the anti Huns songs - one beginning with "glory glory what a helluva way to die ... " and the other one " die , die , die , die ya Hun ... " - not the best of songs to sing but it was what it was and of course things were still a bitter after the 70s and especially the '79 cup final games.

And was the Donald Ford one:

Donald Ford is illegitimate
    DF is illegitimate
    Df is illegitimate
    Donald is a bar steward

( to the tune of Michael Finnigan)

Not brilliant lyrics but the message was lound and clear

Quote Originally Posted by rossevenil View Post
    Pettigrew w**k w**k w**K
    Pettigrew w**k w**k w**k

Was one I got a clip round the ear from my mother for as a 10 year old

Simple and effective,the song not the clip round the ear!
    There were a few names to that song. Due a comeback?

First Team Breakthrough EastThomasSTboy's Avatar

The Huns Song

The "Die, Die, Die. Die ya Hun" was a 60s Ditty, that we happily sang, based on the Mary Hopkin tune of that era,.."those were the days"

Used to sing many ditties based on the pop charts of the day.

My favourite based on the Deep Purple song' Na, Na, Na, Na,..... Na , na, na, na, nananana...Mental - Hiibees!!"

Happy Days.

"He's ugly, he's skinny, he's goin' to Barlinnie .. Ian Durant, Ian Durant"
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

First Team Breakthrough tigerted's Avatar
    The words actually we're:

He ain't got no birth certificate
    He ain't got no dad to prove it
    Donald is a b******!

Great player that he was though.

Quote Originally Posted by tigerted View Post

Donald is a b******!

Think that's how I recall it

Ford was a good player and a smart cookie, got out of Foundation of interest repayers just in time.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    More unusual for kids to be “legitimate” these days. The “Your going home in a ******* ambulance” to away fans was another 70’s classic.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by tigerted View Post

Donald is a b******!

Seem to remember a version similar (may not have been Donald Ford)

He's not got a birth certificate
    He's got VD and cant get rid of it.
    He's a f****** b******!

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scm70nyd1973 View Post
    In the early 80s does anyone remember the anti Huns songs - one beginning with "glory glory what a helluva way to die ... " and the other one " die , die , die , die ya Hun ... " - not the best of songs to sing but it was what it was and of course things were still a bitter after the 70s and especially the '79 cup final games.

DF is illegitimate
    Df is illegitimate
    Donald is a bar steward

King Billy had an army of 100, 000 men
    Repeat
    Repeat
    And the whole ***** lot got shot, bang bang
    Glory, glory what a helluva way to die
    Repeat
    Repeat
    To die an orange bassa

That’s how I remember it being sung😉

I don't think we do individual abuse as well as we used to. Some used to get it so tight from the East Terracing that they daren't come anywhere near that touchline. Particular recollections of mine from the 80s and 90s involve Souness, Gough, Peter Grant, Robbo, Galloway and Fulton where basically the entire terracing would join in a deafening chant of whatever abuse was being meted out. Things are more sanitised now. Having said that, much enjoyed the FF upper's rendition of the Tony Mowbray and Mark Venus retro chant aimed at Craig Levein on Tuesday night - lasted a good long time!

Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post
    Repeat
    Repeat
    Repeat
    Repeat
    To die an orange bassa

That’s how I remember it being sung😉
    Definitely remember that one

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    More unusual for kids to be “legitimate” these days. The “Your going home in a ******* ambulance” to away fans was another 70’s classic.
    The songs we sang in the 60's could get you a football banning order now.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Definitely remember that one
    Childhood memories!! Can remember belting out that ditty then getting a tap on the shoulder, it was my parish priest 😂😂 couldnae hide that one in confession 😂😂😂

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by scm70nyd1973 View Post

DF is illegitimate
    Df is illegitimate
    Donald is a bar steward

That would work with Harry Potter ...

"Harry Potter's illegitimate .... Potter is a b*****d."

Just a thought.

As a skinny early teen, surrounded by other skinny teens, I remember standing on our usual spot on the old (uncovered) East Terrace, level with the half-way line, singing along to "Come on have a go, with the Hi-bess, agg-gr-ro", to roughly 6-7,000 Old Firm Fans in the Dunbar End.

I dread to think what would have happened if they'd decided to take us up on our offer.

Quote Originally Posted by I'm_cabbaged View Post

Repeat
    Repeat
    Repeat
    Repeat
    To die an orange bassa

That’s how I remember it being sung��

Ah, memories. The tunes was "John Brown's Body", right?

Three or four choruses of that, followed by a spirited rendering of "For we're off to Dublin in the green ...."

And everyone was primed for a riot.

Happy sectarian days. But I really don't think I want them back, TBH.

I do miss "Go home ya Huns ..." though.

And the chant that used to start in the old Main Stand - "Gerrintaethum (clap,clap - clap,clap)" - louder and louder and louder. Scary.

So simple - and everybody joined in.

Another couple of ‘classics’ no longer chanted

When a player mucks up “Oh spot the loony “

When an opponent goes down injured “Dig a hole ‘n bury ‘I’m”

Can’t imagine why they’ve disappeared
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post

I know, John. These formed a significant part of our youth and football heritage.

And singing and chanting them did no damage - you and I grew up OK ....

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post

It was 'dig a hole 'n bury um!'' (but I'm sure it was just an auto-correct, JB ;-) )

And I'll have you know I gave a solo rendition of that old ditty at the Aberdeen game, much to the bemusement of the young folks around me.

Quote Originally Posted by Keekaboo View Post
    It was 'dig a hole 'n bury um!'' (but I'm sure it was just an auto-correct, JB ;-) )

And I'll have you know I gave a solo rendition of that old ditty at the Aberdeen game, much to the bemusement of the young folks around me.

It’ll catch on I tell ya 😂
    This is how it feels