Page 11 of 20 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    A million in the bank and keep him, result!
    Can’t see the rangers wanting him with a name like that!!
    Good point.

I actually think the GJP will be the next Sheep manager.

It's quite hard to assess where Sevco are at any given point.

The foaming-mouthed Celtic-minded bloggers would have you believe that they are on their last legs at any given point. What they write is basically porn for Tims who exist in a permanent state of near-ejaculation over the extinction of their greatest rivals.

Yet Rangers still manage to repeatedly avoid extinction and find funds to spend a lot more money than the rest of us (albeit nowhere near enough to challenge Celtic).

Footballers and managers are a confident lot. Most managers will fancy the challenge of managing a club the size of Sevco - they will look at it differently to us. We'll see the problems, the pitfalls, the challenges but managers will see the opportunities if they deal with those challenges.

Celtic are far ahead mainly because they currently have an excellent manager who has repeatedly got them in to the Champions League group stages, maintaining a significant financial advantage over the rest of us. The truth is though, they are only ever an appealing job down South becoming available away from losing that manager. If the next manager is a tattie, they might panic. The momentum could quickly shift towards Sevco and 10 in a row might not be as inevitable as it looks right now.

I could see why a manager might want to take a gamble on going to Ibrox, especially one who would have reason to believe that he's taken Aberdeen as far as he can.

I hope that doesn't make me a hun.

Quote Originally Posted by cleanyman View Post
    Bet accepted.
    Tell me to beat it if I'm being too forward, but what would you do with them?

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Hang them from my christmas tree.

Quote Originally Posted by IGRIGI View Post
    I'd bet both my bollocks on Celtic taking ten in a row.
    Bet accepted.
    That would really make everyone forget all about that "bath of beans" episode.

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    Most people in the West outwith Glasgow have their wee team (local club e.g. St Mirren) and their big team (one of the bigot brothers). Hence the reason why Chick sounds so enthusiastic about both St Mirren and The Rangers.
    I'm from just outside Glasgow and that's definitely not true for most, what you find is you have old firm fans who "follow" their local team but it's more of a patronising thing, usually an albion rovers of something similar, often it's a team with similar, let's say beliefs, as themselves.

I also know a few who have got bored of the old firm and the nonsense that comes with supporting them and drifted away towards more local clubs as they've got older and become parents but they're few and far between.

Well, that trumps the whole debate about angels vs. stars....

We said the same about Celtic in the 90s. Rangers were so far in front it was impossible to predict how many titles they would win but somehow blew ten in a row.

I don't see Celtic achieving ten in a row either. Things change very quickly.
    Celtic finished 40 points above Rangers last season. There was nowhere near that gap between them in the nineties. Currently on six in a row.. ten is an inevitability IMO.

A few of us will have said over the years that we'd give our right nut to see Hibs win the Scottish Cup.

Jenners could have had a really novel decoration scheme for their big tree last year if we'd all been held to it.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Same applies to every other club in the country, it’s a wonder that any of us have players or a manager at all really!

Any manager in Scotland would probably jump at the chance to manage them with the exception of Lennon or Rodgers.

We may not like Rangers but they’re still a huge club with a huge fan base. Can you really not see see attraction?
    I see their huge fan-base as a huge deterrent knowing what they're like and what their mentality is - I honestly can't see the 'attraction' of going to a place that attracts the lowest-of-the-low of football-supporters !. However McInnes, by all accounts, is a Hun so obviously moral-ethics doesn't come into it.

Quote Originally Posted by mcohibs View Post
    Celtic finished 40 points above Rangers last season. There was nowhere near that gap between them in the nineties. Currently on six in a row.. ten is an inevitability IMO.
    That's fair enough but I just don't see it.

They will make it seven in a row this season but after that I'm not too sure.

Quote Originally Posted by ian cruise View Post
    I'm from just outside Glasgow and that's definitely not true for most, what you find is you have old firm fans who "follow" their local team but it's more of a patronising thing, usually an albion rovers of something similar, often it's a team with similar, let's say beliefs, as themselves.

I also know a few who have got bored of the old firm and the nonsense that comes with supporting them and drifted away towards more local clubs as they've got older and become parents but they're few and far between.
    Having worked in Greenock for ten years I can tell you that 99% of Morton fans couldn't give 2 hoots about the old firm, many despise them and all that they stand for.
    However a fair portion of Celtic and Rangers fans look fondly upon the 'Ton and regard them as their wee second team but haven't visited Cappielow since they were about 14.
    I also married into a St.Mirren family and the situation is the exact same in Paisley.
    I now work in the east end of Glasgow and everyone is incredibly patronising towards me regards being a Hibby. I miss the Morton fans as we stuck together and knew where we were both coming from.

That's fair enough but I just don't see it.

They will make it seven in a row this season but after that I'm not too sure.
    To have a hope of stopping ten, the Rangers need (a) Rodgers to move on and be replaced by another Deila calibre of manager and/or (b) receive a massive cash injection.

How will the winnings be collected?

It's not like walking into ladbrokes with the winning slip held aloft.

I was only joking about the baws.

I don't actually want them.

Lets thing of something else. I like winegums.

I was only joking about the baws.

I don't actually want them.

Lets thing of something else. I like winegums.
    Tough ****. It's out there. The internet doesn't lie.

I forgot that Edinburgh folk are so tight they'd rather cut off their own baws than spend 99 pence on a bag of sweets

We said the same about Celtic in the 90s. Rangers were so far in front it was impossible to predict how many titles they would win but somehow blew ten in a row.

I don't see Celtic achieving ten in a row either. Things change very quickly.
    Right now Celtic enjoy massive structural advantages over Rangers that did not exist in reverse in the 90’s. Old Rangers were fuelled by massive debt incurred by Murray from an appallingly run Bank of Scotland. That was always going to end at some point.
    Celtic just now, even without champions league income have almost double the turnover of Sevco. Apart from having an extra 10,000 seats, they have a superior retail distribution operation, a scouting network built up over many years, zero debt and are about to add the income from a hotel. They also have zero debt.
    Champions league money will keep them well clear for a long time yet.

I forgot that Edinburgh folk are so tight they'd rather cut off their own baws than spend 99 pence on a bag of sweets
    Can we look inside this bag of sweeties first?

I'm thinking gobstoppers

Folk seriously thinking The Rangers will win a title in the next ten years? 😂😂

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Folk seriously thinking The Rangers will win a title in the next ten years? 😂😂
    Are you seriously thinking Celtic will something like 15 in a row?

No chance.

I'm going 8.

Really? You don’t see why any player would want to play there??

Aye ok, I must be a Rangers fan cause I think differently to you.
    I don't normally differentiate too much between the uglies, as far as I'm concerned they're pretty much 2 cheeks of the same ar*e. However I genuinely believe that Sevco are a unique club in that their attraction, in Scotland & associated areas is largely based on some historic, bigoted, ignorant perspective of their supposed status as defenders of a mythical protestant/establishment institution. I would suggest that the great majority of non UK signings have absolutely no idea about their supposed responsibility to defend the status quo, let alone Derry's walls, but are happy to be paid way in excess of what they could command in a higher quality environment. I know that I am probably being idealistic & naive in hoping that a Scottish manager will knock back The Rangers because of their baggage but I live in hope. As far as I'm concerned money is the only reason any one would want to play there & I would hope that integrity would triumph over profit.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I don't normally differentiate too much between the uglies, as far as I'm concerned they're pretty much 2 cheeks of the same ar*e. However I genuinely believe that Sevco are a unique club in that their attraction, in Scotland & associated areas is largely based on some historic, bigoted, ignorant perspective of their supposed status as defenders of a mythical protestant/establishment institution. I would suggest that the great majority of non UK signings have absolutely no idea about their supposed responsibility to defend the status quo, let alone Derry's walls, but are happy to be paid way in excess of what they could command in a higher quality environment. I know that I am probably being idealistic & naive in hoping that a Scottish manager will knock back The Rangers because of their baggage but I live in hope. As far as I'm concerned money is the only reason any one would want to play there & I would hope that integrity would triumph over profit.
    I mostly agree with what you say here.

If we think of the non uk signings I’d imagine that other than the money on offer, playing for Rangers would be seen as an opportunity to put yourself in the shop window for a move down south.

There’s also, normally, the chance to play in Europe and win medals. These things matter to players and as you say, they won’t have a clue about all the baggage you mention. Why should they care?

For all the crisis that they appear to be in, they’re 2nd in the league. This at a time when Aberdeen and ourselves are having our best spell in years / decades.

It wont take long before they’re back challenging Celtic for the title. It’s up to the rest of us to keep the pressure on and hopefully prevent the duopoly of the past.

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    You really are trying to win the The Rangers fan award aren't you. They're a foul, loathsome institution & there's really no excuse for anyone wanting to join that institution.
    Well apart from the fact they are a bigger club.
    Since when did hun lovin become cool? They are disgusting any way you look at it. Always! Sorry, you hun lovers, but they have blighted Scottish Football since forever. New, nae big honours bunch ae imposters who everyone outside of themselves dislike! Disgusting rangers old or new! Everyone who knows Scottish Football knows this. DISGUSTING.
    Last edited by majorhibs; 06-12-2017 at 08:47 PM.

No chance.

I'm going 8.
    Yes. I also think the Huns will fold within the next few years. Who is going to stop Celtic? They are now light years away it’s not like the 80’s the gap is massive. Only way Celtic won’t win the next ten is if they leave the league.

I mostly agree with what you say here.

If we think of the non uk signings I’d imagine that other than the money on offer, playing for Rangers would be seen as an opportunity to put yourself in the shop window for a move down south.

There’s also, normally, the chance to play in Europe and win medals. These things matter to players and as you say, they won’t have a clue about all the baggage you mention. Why should they care?

For all the crisis that they appear to be in, they’re 2nd in the league. This at a time when Aberdeen and ourselves are having our best spell in years / decades.

It wont take long before they’re back challenging Celtic for the title. It’s up to the rest of us to keep the pressure on and hopefully prevent the duopoly of the past.
    I also agree with much of what you say. My main hope is that education & knowledge will eventually triumph over ignorance & stupidity but I'm not holding my breath.

Well lets make it hard for Sevco and finish in a European spot, we have the players support and manager. Hopefully with Aberdeen filling the other spot.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

No chance.

I'm going 8.
    Does the rest of the family agree with that?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Is that you Colin Calderwood?