Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910
    Quote Originally Posted by SkintHibby View Post
    YES YES YES!

COULD HAVE SHOULD HAVE.

Glad to see a fellow Hibee who appreciates the olden days when we were taught proper English at schools.

What the eff happened to you younger lot ffs?
    Judging by what I see from my grand children's home work, spelling & grammar do not have the same focus that they had in the past. It's all about expression.

Six points this weeks, in tough games against Hearts and Motherwell, and with two clean sheets. That's an achievement

Quote Originally Posted by SkintHibby View Post
    YES YES YES!

COULD HAVE SHOULD HAVE.

Glad to see a fellow Hibee who appreciates the olden days when we were taught proper English at schools.

What the eff happened to you younger lot ffs?
    Surely that is question that us older lot have to answer for? Apart from that, I blame the internet and globalization.

Yes what ever happened to good old English grammar?
    The days of Slade and "Coz I Luv You" "Look Wot You Dun" " Take Me Bak Ome" Skweeze Me, Pleeze Me" and "Cum on Feel The Noize"?
    Sigh

Quote Originally Posted by Wee Effen Bee View Post
    Aaaaaaaargh! ‘Could’ve’ been or ‘Could have’ been, please!
    Have you ever even seen the phrase ‘could of’, or ‘should of’ written (professionally) in any journal, newspaper, magazine or book? Ever? I will be a happy gadgey if posters would refrain from making this annoying error. Do you know the substitution of ‘of’ for a contraction is in the top 20 grammatical mistakes of all time?
    Oh well, at least I get your drift: Aye, we could’ve been well out of sight (no pun intended) if we had taken our chances today Greenside but we have been guilty of dropping points and/or missing out on increasing our, ‘goals for’ tally regularly this season. Also agree we turned in another dominant performance -against an in-form team.
    Im away for a lie down now, the regular use of the ‘passive voice’ in many Hibs.net posts (including my own) is giving me headaches.
    And my personal favourite ....... 'yous' ........ As in 'yous were better than us in the first half'

Yous lot r loosing the plot.

Boyles been a great signing... How many goals has he scored now?

Wat r u oh on bout. No gonny daw that tae me as it dus ma sweed inn.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    And my personal favourite ....... 'yous' ........ As in 'yous were better than us in the first half'

What about Airline Steward(ess) Grammar, that's got to be the worst.

"We have a special offer today for yourselves..."

No you don't. It's just 'you'. Where on earth do you get 'yourselves' from?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    19 goals in just over 80 appearances. Not bad.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    Dunno but he should of scored more...

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Dunno but he should of scored more...