Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Souness NHC

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jacomo View Post
    You'll be wanting a proper journalist for that.
    And good luck finding one of them in Scotland (that's affiliated or employed by a main stream media platform source)

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Just by those who get all excited by English football, latching onto whatever team happens to be going through a successful period. The amount of Man City fans in Scotland has went through the roof in Scotland these last 9 years. Previously it’s been Blackburn, Newcastle etc.
    Scottish football is thriving just now. Crowds per head of population are the highest in Europe. What we have not done effectively is monetise the passion of football fans in Scotland because of the ineptitude of the people running our game, who still want it to be all about Rangers and Celtic.

Yup, more Scots go to games than anywhere else in Europe - a semi-decent governing-authority could harness that popularity and strength and use it to constantly improve our game. Sadly, we have a governing-authority (staffed by' 'semis' !!) who are solely interested in 2 clubs and have no intention whatsoever of allowing that way to change !
    Last edited by Deansy; 25-10-2017 at 10:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Souness is a highly conceited, back covering dinasour contributing nothing to 21st century Scottish club football.

He and his corrupt, pocket lining, defensive, cohorts Walter Smith, Derek Johnstone, Alex MacDonald, John Brown and the rest, are a perma stain on real club football in this country and have played a huge part in the discreditation of the game here.

Rangers were liquidated. Fact.

Only the cowardly ineptitude of our 'authorities' allowed their bile to continue as a 'football club'. Fact

Club football and real fans have benefitted significantly since they have been weakened. Fact.

Souness couldn't give a flying fk about clubs in Scotland. Fact.

He is a half-brained, horrible twat who can shove his book up his Paco Rabanne douched a***hole. Fact.

Can't even get his facts straight. He talks about being lucky that the English clubs were rebuilding post-Hillsborough. Surely it was the post-Heysel European ban he 'benefited' from neh?

Promising Youngster
    Grade A bellied, horrible nasty footballer to boot.....

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

Promising Youngster
    **bellend

Sent from my Lenovo YT3-X50F using Tapatalk

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    A nasty thug on the pitch and a prize plum off it.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Good player, **** manager, welt of a man.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

First Team Breakthrough Neil4Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
    Can't even get his facts straight. He talks about being lucky that the English clubs were rebuilding post-Hillsborough. Surely it was the post-Heysel European ban he 'benefited' from neh?
    Correct. Also, Bryan Robson was the England Captain, I think Terry Butcher only stood in as captain 8 or 9 times, Peter Shilton was the vice-captain at the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
    He was talking about the rebuilding and change of design of English stadia following Hillsborough. But not sure how relevant it his to his story.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 26-10-2017 at 12:51 PM.

I find Souness quite entertaining. I'm too young to really remember him at Rangers, so don't have the pathological hatred of him which some do.

As far as that article goes though, he's talking generic nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by Souness
    "Scottish football needs a strong Rangers and a strong Celtic to create interest outside of Scotland,"
    Would there be greater interest in Old Firm games if Rangers and Celtc were on a similar level? Probably.

Does that translate to interests in Scottish football on a wider scale? Probably not.

Would it translate to a more lucrative TV deal? Probably.

Would that be to the ultimate benefit of Scottish football on a wider scale? Probably not.

"If that's not the case, Scottish football would die."
    We hear this type of quote quite regularly and I'm not sure what is meant by it. Depending on how you define "die" in this context, he may or may not be correct.

"So everyone who rejoiced at Rangers' problems, I hope they've had a rethink and they now see the consequences of that."
    This is the bit that riles me most. Is he suggesting a brand new club should have been automatically promoted to the top league because their branding would attract more interest in Scottish football?

It also totally ignores the "consequences" suffered by all the supporters of other clubs during the period Rangers were cheating.

This one is even better:

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...gers-1-4595217

So, Kris, want to talk us through exactly how the death of the Huns led to United's woes?

Scotland needs a league that isn't as cut throat as it is and that gives more opportunities for clubs to breed youngsters and get them first team experience. Or a quota for match day squads.

Adapt the "Development League" so that we can bridge the gap between youth and first team football.

Yes, we probably do need a strong rangers. but we also need a strong hibs/hearts/Aberdeen and Dundee United as well. We need to promote our game and develop youngsters for a stronger National side

Its typical of the attitude towards Scottish football tbh. All that matters is Rangers and Celtic

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    This one is even better:

So, Kris, want to talk us through exactly how the death of the Huns led to United's woes?
    ...he doesn't come across as the clearest of thinkers in that article, does he?

This one is even better:

WTF is he talking about?

Basically, asked to clarify his comments, he couldn't, Rambling muppet that he is. United cuffed a lower league Rangers in the cup semi-final didn't they? Weren't exactly in freefall at that point, but suffered from losing the final, whatever McNamara was up to, selling all their best players without replacing them, and Mixu.

Christ knows how he gets so much airtime, there's barely a coherent word that comes out of him. Utter tube.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RicheyWhite View Post
    Christ knows how he gets so much airtime.
    It's almost as if he once played for one of the former Old Firm.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Souness is a highly conceited, back covering dinasour contributing nothing to 21st century Scottish club football.

He and his corrupt, pocket lining, defensive, cohorts Walter Smith, Derek Johnstone, Alex MacDonald, John Brown and the rest, are a perma stain on real club football in this country and have played a huge part in the discreditation of the game here.

Rangers were liquidated. Fact.

Only the cowardly ineptitude of our 'authorities' allowed their bile to continue as a 'football club'. Fact

Club football and real fans have benefitted significantly since they have been weakened. Fact.

Souness couldn't give a flying fk about clubs in Scotland. Fact.

He is a half-brained, horrible twat who can shove his book up his Paco Rabanne douched a***hole. Fact.

What he said 👍

What a steaming pile of utter horse jobby. Souness has contributed nothing to Scottish football, he was a player in a Scotland team supposedly so much better than what we have now which did nothing of note and yet they think they have room to comment on todays players because they managed to underperform at tournaments instead of the qualifiers. He was also manager of a club which cheated all through his tenure and who allowed his players to sing sectarian songs in the dressing room.

His utterances since have echoed the rest of his exiled playmates who know little or nothing about recent events or trends in Scotland, but who endlessly get trotted out in the English media and rags like the Daily ****** for their rent a gob gibberish , none of whom could probably even name a single Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen player .... they probably think St Mirren still play at Love Street.

Souness is as much use to Scottish football and as relevant to it as sectarianism. The only blessing in the whole thing is that he wasn't brought up a Hibby.

This one is even better:

That's interesting Kris, what do you mean?
    Errm !

No I mean in what way did the demise of Rangers contribute to Utd's relegation?
    Errm !

Is it fair to say you are spouting utter pish in yet another cringe worthy attempt to crawl right up the ***** of the Sevco support you are clearly so desperate to ingratiate yourself with?

Errrrrrm ! ......................... yes.

Is it fair to say then that you are an utter prick who hasn't got a clue what he's talking about? Actually, let me answer that one for you, you are an utter prick who hasn't got a clue what he's talking about ... tool !

Souness talking about 1986 when he took over at the old huns "My luck was that, at the time, the English clubs were having to rebuild their stadiums post-Hillsborough.''

Hillsborough was 3 years later.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Boyd is a ***in terrible pundit. He is trying to be the Huns version of Sutton but he just lacks the intelligence. He doesn't even finish his sentences half the time, ***n awful to listen to him slavering on Sportsound.

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    Souness talking about 1986 when he took over at the old huns "My luck was that, at the time, the English clubs were having to rebuild their stadiums post-Hillsborough.''

Hillsborough was 3 years later.
    He seems to be getting confused with post Heysel and the ban on English clubs in Europe. It meant Rangers could offer European football when English clubs couldn't.

Bit of a gaffe for an ex Liverpool player and manager though.

Souness, well, say what you will about him, he's light years ahead of Kris Boyd.

Kris Boyd is out of his depth as a pundit as Stephen Hawking would be in central midfield for Barcelona.

Quote Originally Posted by Dashing Bob S View Post
    Souness, well, say what you will about him, he's light years ahead of Kris Boyd.

Kris Boyd is out of his depth as a pundit as Stephen Hawking would be in central midfield for Barcelona.

Quote Originally Posted by seanshow View Post
    Small bitter anglified tw*t talks mince about something he has no recent knowledge.........he would fit in well back in Scotland.
    He is without doubt a complete "DICK" and indeed a total - - - - (a word a seldom use,but in this case truly deserved)

In the case of any confusion ,I do not like the arse.

Nae surprise that he has been sniffing about Ibrox at the same time that they empty their manager.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Nae surprise that he has been sniffing about Ibrox at the same time that they empty their manager.
    Surely he isn't hoping for a comeback? He has a cushy life at Sky.

Nae idea, just an observation.

Souness in The Herald today talking up the wonders of Brexit. It's almost like he's looking for new ways for normal people to hate him.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    The reason he was able to sign Butcher and other England players was nothing to do with any attractive qualities in Rangers.

English clubs post Heysel were banned from European competition. The only way mercenaries like Botcher and the Crab were going to play in Europe was by signing for the Ugly Sisters. Without the European ban, they wouldn't have ever considered coming north.

Souness is paid by Sky and parrots Sky's party line - the only game worth watching in Scotland is the Hatefest.

He was an arrogant thug in his playing days, and he's still one.