Thread: Dingwall pubs

Dingwall pubs

I'm looking to go up to Dingwall early tomorrow and I was hoping to catch at least some of the early football somewhere in Dingwall before going to the main event.

Can anyone recommend a pub in Dingwall that will be showing either the Old Firm game or the West Ham-Tottenham game? I was looking at pubs online through the Sky Sports pub finder app and there was a pub called Oscars mentioned. Has anyone been there before, if so is it worth going there?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Hats off to the hardcore who are travelling up; hopefully you will be rewarded with the three points. How many Hibees are going?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Hats off to the hardcore who are travelling up; hopefully you will be rewarded with the three points. How many Hibees are going?
    No idea about numbers.

I'm making a weekend of it, I'm staying overnight tomorrow and then driving back down on Sunday. It's a bit much to drive there and back in one day.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    No idea about numbers.

I'm making a weekend of it, I'm staying overnight tomorrow and then driving back down on Sunday. It's a bit much to drive there and back in one day.
    A lot of time and money invested, mate. Have you the away ST?

I don't mate. I probably should have one right enough since I go to pretty much every single game!

I'm always ok for a ticket since I'm looking for a wheelchair ticket, these generally never sell out.

No idea about numbers.

Been there bought the tee-shirt, murder

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by stonewaller1875 View Post
    Been there bought the tee-shirt, murder

What's murder? The drive?

@hibs.net private member BurghHibby's Avatar
    Anybody oot in Inverness tonite?
    Boozers looking like Gorgie with the cast of Deliverance!

I'm looking to go up to Dingwall early tomorrow and I was hoping to catch at least some of the early football somewhere in Dingwall before going to the main event.

Can anyone recommend a pub in Dingwall that will be showing either the Old Firm game or the West Ham-Tottenham game? I was looking at pubs online through the Sky Sports pub finder app and there was a pub called Oscars mentioned. Has anyone been there before, if so is it worth going there?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
    There's a decent boozer just outside the train station, cannae recall the name though.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There's a decent boozer just outside the train station, cannae recall the name though.
    The Mallard I think

The Mallard is next to the stadium and has a late licence. Stayed over after the league cup game and it was interesting watching the local wildlife come out to play. All nice folk but.

There's a wee pub built into the stadium which is good for a drink pre-match.

What's murder? The drive?
    Yes, best to stay over night

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    The Mallard I think
    Quote Originally Posted by zlatan View Post
    The Mallard is next to the stadium and has a late licence. Stayed over after the league cup game and it was interesting watching the local wildlife come out to play. All nice folk but.

There's a wee pub built into the stadium which is good for a drink pre-match.
    Yeah I've just done a search on Google Maps, it appears to be The Mallard that's next to the train station.

Do they have Sky in the pub? If so it looks like it's just a short distance from the ground so I'm assuming there would be plenty parking nearby?

Quote Originally Posted by stonewaller1875 View Post
    Yes, best to stay over night

Yeah definitely.

I've done the round trip in one day before and it's not good. Much better to unwind tomorrow night and then just take my time coming back on Sunday.

Getting the 8.32 train up to Inverness in the morning. Looking forward to it.

Yeah I've just done a search on Google Maps, it appears to be The Mallard that's next to the train station.

Do they have Sky in the pub? If so it looks like it's just a short distance from the ground so I'm assuming there would be plenty parking nearby?
    It had SKY the last time I was there (Sproule scored first for them) a few years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    Getting the 8.32 train up to Inverness in the morning. Looking forward to it.

It had SKY the last time I was there (Sproule scored first for them) a few years ago.
    Cheers for the info, I'll check it out when I get up there.

Do you recall if they allow football colours in the pub?

Looking forward to it, travelling Saturday and returning Sunday. Hope the team turn up.

Quote Originally Posted by BurghHibby View Post
    Should get a catch then :) . Fresh fish

7.30 train to Aberdeen then 10.15 train from Aberdeen to Inverness.

Are most folk going to the Mallard then?

Quote Originally Posted by BurghHibby View Post
    Used to love pubs in Inverness when I stayed there. My mate worked at Gunsmiths so spent a lot of nights in there but a quick Google and it's shut down. 😥

Cheers for the info, I'll check it out when I get up there.

Do you recall if they allow football colours in the pub?
    It certainly wasn't a problem that night.

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    In Dingwall overnight and the Mallard is decent..good few Hibees walking about last night...watching the uglies in the Mallard at lunchtime...lovely sunny morning here 💚🍷⚽

Dingwall is a dreadful place! Inverness is like Las Vegas compared to it. Go to the match and leave town is my advice.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    How many loyalty points do we get for this?

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Dingwall is a dreadful place! Inverness is like Las Vegas compared to it. Go to the match and leave town is my advice.
    Tiny wee place of around five thousand people, though. It's an achievement to have a professional club for such a small town, let alone a Premier League team.

It also has the highest ratio of Attendance to Town/City Population of any team in Scotland.

First Team Regular NthCarolinaHibs's Avatar
    Lovely wee toon..people could not be freindlier..