Jimmy O'Rourke's birthday 18September

It's the 18th over here, so we can't not celebrate Jimmy's birthday.

Those of us around when it was Jimmy's 19th birthday, all those years ago, certainly had cause to celebrate then too as he scored a double against Hertz in a 4-0 victory, before he jumped in his car and drove to Blackpool to join his pals for the September weekend!

A Hibs legend, and a wonderful ambassador over the years for Hibernian FC.

Happy birthday Jimmy

jimmy, jimmy o'rourke
    everyone knows his name

happy birthday jimmy

my favourite, after Pat. Only because Paddy's birthday was on the 13th, same as mine broke my heart in a way, when he went to saint johnstone and scored against us in his first game. A bit like Paddy going to Celtic! 2 absolute legends of Hibernian.

Lawrie, Pat and Jimmy are my three all time Hibs legends. All three lived the dream of going from the terracing to the pitch and playing virtually all their career with Hibs.
    Happy Birthday

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    It's the 18th over here, so we can't not celebrate Jimmy's birthday.

Those of us around when it was Jimmy's 19th birthday, all those years ago, certainly had cause to celebrate then too as he scored a double against Hertz in a 4-0 victory, before he jumped in his car and drove to Blackpool to join his pals for the September weekend!

A Hibs legend, and a wonderful ambassador over the years for Hibernian FC.

Happy birthday Jimmy
    To the Honourary president of St Giles happy birthday Jimmy from all at the thee branch in the association GGTTH.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    I'm hearing Jimmy is not keeping too well. Anybody substantiate this?

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Liam978 View Post
    To the Honourary president of St Giles happy birthday Jimmy from all at the thee branch in the association GGTTH.
    Happy Birthday Jimmy!

One of the best ever to wear the green.

If reports hat you are no keeping well are true Jimmy, there a may thousands of us Hibby's wishing you speedy recovery.

Jimmy, Jimmy O'Rourke EVERYONE knows his name

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    Pleased to say Jimmy's fine, I spoke with him last week. Happy Birthday Jimmy!

True Hibs legend. Simple as.

Loved watching him as a player - so positive and skilful and wore the jersey bursting with pride.

I was down near the front of the cave for the 6-1 Lisbon game and one of their defenders at 4 or
    5-1 tried to go in heavy on him around the touch line - he missed Jimmy who had overrun to the wall and the ball rolled over for a goal kick. On the way back to the pitch, Jimmy did a little mock shuffle dance pretend to side heel the defender on the back of the head who was still sprawled on the ground. Hilarious. Never forgot that.

Happy birthday Jimmy ORourke and thanks from me and my late dad for all the wonderful memories you gave us.

everyone knows his name.... Loved him as a player. Top top quality

Just the mention of his name and the smile's back on my face at the memory of meeting Jimmy in the Hibs-club one night and I asked him what it was like playing Hearts -

'Hertz ?? (in a really dismissive tone !) we beat them that often we had to stop it in case we got telt just to keep them' !!

Have a very, very Happy Birthday Jimmy and I hope you have many, many more !

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    my favourite, after Pat. Only because Paddy's birthday was on the 13th, same as mine broke my heart in a way, when he went to saint johnstone and scored against us in his first game. A bit like Paddy going to Celtic! 2 absolute legends of Hibernian.
    Same. I have Sauzee at #3

Happy Birthday JO'R

Happy birthday to one of the all time great Hibees!

Especially remember the European nights (always a Wednesday at 7:30) at a very different ER getting the bus down from Buckstone.

A very Hibby Birthday Jimmy, thanks for the many memories!

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    True Hibs legend. Simple as.

Loved watching him as a player - so positive and skilful and wore the jersey bursting with pride.

I was down near the front of the cave for the 6-1 Lisbon game and one of their defenders at 4 or
    5-1 tried to go in heavy on him around the touch line - he missed Jimmy who had overrun to the wall and the ball rolled over for a goal kick. On the way back to the pitch, Jimmy did a little mock shuffle dance pretend to side heel the defender on the back of the head who was still sprawled on the ground. Hilarious. Never forgot that.

Happy birthday Jimmy ORourke and thanks from me and my late dad for all the wonderful memories you gave us.
    My local bar owner in Portugal is a mad Sporting fan. I gave him a copy of the report from the 6-1 game along with a message from Jimmy. He says Jimmy is barred! However the local restaurateur, a Benfica fan, says Jimmy can eat for free next visit!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    My local bar owner in Portugal is a mad Sporting fan. I gave him a copy of the report from the 6-1 game along with a message from Jimmy. He says Jimmy is barred! However the local restaurateur, a Benfica fan, says Jimmy can eat for free next visit!
    Brilliant.! What a tribute to Jimmy. He was just such a buzzing player who you would hate to have as an opponent.

In the 0-7 game, you can see him still keeping the hassling pace high, wanting every tiny decision, even at 5 or 6-0, playing like it was 0-0 with 2 minutes to go.! Incredible winners attitude we don't see enough of today..

loved watching Jimmy O'Rourke when I starting watching Hibs cracking player amidst a talented.team ....happy birthday Jimmy

Quote Originally Posted by Lucius Apuleius View Post
    James is fine.
    Just some mobility issues.
    He cannae get in the 6 yard box as quick as he used to!!

Many players of his era suffer mobility problems now.
    Some bad practice with players injuries and treatment back then.

But then ....

Jimmy isnae twenty or Zorro anymore!

Still as grumpy,though !

May he have many more birthdays.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 18-09-2017 at 08:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    James is fine.
    Just some mobility issues.
    He cannae get in the 6 yard box as quick as he used to!!

Many players of his era suffer mobility problems now.
    Some bad practice with players injuries and treatment back then.

But then ....

Jimmy isnae twenty or Zorro anymore!

Still as grumpy,though !

May he have many more birthdays.
    I believe he's on the Lancashire Riviera today Mick! He'll have no mobility issues getting to the bar with those prices!

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I believe he's on the Lancashire Riviera today Mick! He'll have no mobility issues getting to the bar with those prices!
    As long as some one else is paying;-)

And i know a few Hibernians who are there for this September weekend.
    So if they have bumped into James, it will have been paper hats and trumpets !

Blackpool Ya Bass!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 19-09-2017 at 06:48 AM.

There was a cracking Jimmy story in the book that covered Hibs' North American tour. Apparently, given some time off in San Francisco a group of players went sightseeing and found themselves near Alcatraz. Just at that minute, a bus full of prisoners bound for the jail drove past. Jimmy stared intently at the windows and when asked why, he replied "Just seeing if there's anybody fae Clermiston on it"

Jimmy was always a big favourite of mine and I wish him well for his birthday
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    There was a cracking Jimmy story in the book that covered Hibs' North American tour. Apparently, given some time off in San Francisco a group of players went sightseeing and found themselves near Alcatraz. Just at that minute, a bus full of prisoners bound for the jail drove past. Jimmy stared intently at the windows and when asked why, he replied "Just seeing if there's anybody fae Clermiston on it"

Thats true
    He did say that!

He was, of course, talking about the Clermiston Intellects.

Alcatraz could not have contained us !!

Ye need tae ask about the day Jimmy and Pat were invited to a ranch(owned by a Scots ex pat) for dinner during that tour.
    Am saying nought !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 18-09-2017 at 08:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post

great little story - thanks for sharing

Thats true

He wiz talking about the Clermiston Intellects

Alcatraz could not have contained us !!

Ye need tae ask about the day Jimmy and Pat were invited to a ranch(owned by a Scots ex pat) for dinner (in the US tour)
    Am saying nought !!
    Aw c'mon - you HAVE to now ???

Quote Originally Posted by Deansy View Post
    Aw c'mon - you HAVE to now ???

Naw .....it will embarrass one of them
    It was a big Dallas type do
    All the family round the big table

A bit like the Waltons sunday dinner event.
    Some one....

i wont mention who, fell asleep with the heat and booze .. at the dinner table !!
    Started to fart and snore.

I will leave it there !

This is about Jimmy's Birthday after all;-)

And he will love this thread when he views it.
    Its great that Hibernians young and old have so much affection for the "wee man"

Glory !! Glory !!

I think jimmy is still the only player to score back to back hat tricks against two different teams in European football competitions.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    I think jimmy is still the only player to score back to back hat tricks against two different teams in European football competitions.
    That's a fantastic achievement. Wonder what he'd be worth in today's market

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Yes, i think you are correct ,Sporting Lisbon and FC Besa(Albania)

Brog on here is the man for the stats.
    He knows Jimmy's"legend" at ER better than most.
    And Forza Fred does too.
    They are old pals of Jimmy's going back centuries !!
    But i am sure they will agree with me that Jimmy scored a few hat tricks in that same season.

And had actually scored 28 or so goals before the 0-7 game in January.

Think on that stat nowadays?

And never got a Scotland cap !!!
    Disgrace !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 18-09-2017 at 09:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Liam978 View Post

Yes
    A good Grassmarket boy was James.
    I too went on the St Giles bus as a wee boy when it left from "The Market" for away games.

Jimmy McClory i remember from back then,also Bernie Glancy from the West Port was the bus convener .
    Bernie used to say to the boys in the back seats.

"Nae rebel songs,now -)

Alan Lugton will mind that !!

Dublin in the Green !!
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 18-09-2017 at 09:32 PM.

Yes, i think you are correct ,Sporting Lisbon and FC Besa(Albania)

Brog on here is the man for the stats.
    He knows Jimmy's"legend" at ER better than most.
    And Forza Fred does too.
    They are old pals of Jimmy's going back centuries !!
    But i am sure they will agree with me that Jimmy scored a few hat tricks in that same season.

And had actually scored 28 or so goals before the 0-7 game in January.

Think on that stat nowadays?

And never got a Scotland cap !!!
    Disgrace !
    Going back centuries!?

Only a slight exaggeration there....but remember well being at his debut game against Utrecht, all those years ago.

Interesting that when he scored that double on his birthday against Hertz in 1965he was off to Blackpool and yesterday he chose to be in Blackpool for this birthday...he obviously likes Blackpool!

And explains whynaebody was answering his home phone yesterday too!